We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
Ranked #282 of 6,363 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Surry Hills
Description: A quintessentially Australian take on Asian food, the trademark Chin Chin taste is a carefully blended mix of freshness, spice, heat, exotic herbs and an obsessive need to perfectly balance all of these elements. Chin Chin lives by the philosophy that eating and drinking should be fun and relaxing much like our way of life.
Reviewed 12 December 2020

Terrible experience for a large group. Music was like a night club and being in a large booth you can’t speak to anyone. Split our group up in to two yet still charged a service fee. $88pp for the banquet where the chicken was incredibly dry, dumplings below average and sides that came out 30 minutes before the main. Service was terrible. Also waited 30 mins for cocktails as the order had not been put through and told they would be on the house (did not happen). I was so hoping to love this restaurant and it certainly was a disappointment.

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank SAND92200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2020

Whatever you do, do not book as a group>6. Feed me menu a ripoff at $69 pp for 6 share dishes. We were a group of 10 seated at two tables. Atmosphere okay but music so loud you can only talk to people either side of you. Service was lumpy with one table getting "their" dishes and ours later, resulting in every other table on a Tuesday lunch being served & cleaned up before all our food was served. Curry came without rice and we ate while we waited for it to arrive resulting in bowls of uneaten rice left at the end. Fixed menu came with desserts we did not want! $60 on water - total bill over $1,000 and we had the bulk-billed wine on offer. Total joke and not worth the $$.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KristinJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2020 via mobile

Lauren was amazing, food was amazing. Always love going to chin chin!!!! Always consistently amazing!

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank sophiet135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2020

Our visit started off with promise when we were shown to our table right away, front desk girls were pleasant and our waiter introduced himself and explained the menu. Drinks were served and the rest of our party of 8 arrived . We ordered a lot of food and yes the food is tasty. Yes the music is loud and the booths are hard to get in and out of if anyone wants to visit the toilet, but we had wine and we were happy to be with friends.
The place was full and things were humming along nicely. We were all settled in by 1.30pm , but after food was served it was like we suddenly became invisible.
We did not want much, just our table cleared and a few more bottles of wine so we could chat. Is that too much to ask for, in a restaurant that is open for lunch ALL day?
There were no staff to be found.
Our waiter had disappeared.
Might have been nice if he had said "just wanted to let you know my shift is over but blah blah will be looking after you now" like they do in the GOOD restaurants.
We resorted to flagging down passers by, ( hard to identify staff when they aren't wearing any type of uniform and avoid eye contact). Wine we ordered never turned up until we grabbed another startled passer by to ask where it was. No one offered dessert or coffee. The lack of service was appalling .Our bill was $1200 and as they apparently charge an enforced 10% service charge for groups of 8 or over it is pretty poor form when you actually don't get any service to speak of.
A shame that a good atmosphere and nice food was overshadowed by a lack of care from staff. No apology offered and I wont be rushing back. My money is better spent at Nomad.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 0707mlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

My mouth has been blessed with the exceptional flavours of Chin Chin!!!
We attended with a group of 6 and could not fault anything.. service outstanding, food AMAZING, vibe so cool!!
We all did the banquet for $88 each. The kingfish and chicken were my personal favourites.
Thank you so much for our cocktails. Would definitely recommend and will 100% be back

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank EMT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.