We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Japanese at its Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sake Restaurant & Bar

Sake Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with
Sake Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 5,779 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$31
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: The Rocks
Description: Set within an impressive designer space in the historic Argyle Precinct at The Rocks, Saké Restaurant & Bar serves up contemporary Japanese fare created by sushi master Shimpei Hatanaka, who draws on authentic Japanese training to present an outstanding mix of new-style sushi and classic dishes.Shimpei's menu changes with the seasons and is perfectly matched to a premium range of imported sakes, allowing guests to gain greater insight into the age-old Japanese tradition of delicately balancing flavours. Awarded with a coveted Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide Chef's Hat each year since opening, Saké is sure to exceed your expectations. Call in for cocktails, pull up a seat at the sushi bar or settle in with friends for the evening and savour the experience!
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Japanese at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Nothing to dislike...Fantastic sushi, variety of other Japanese dishes...great ambience,service great too.
We sat at the counter, a very different experience to a previous visit and probably enjoyed the experience more beacuse of the interaction/recommendations by the chef.
Great for special occasions.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank shats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    316
    112
    46
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sake - fun atmosphere with serious food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I think Sake could be a terrific bar, with the best food bar food in Sydney.

It's warm and homely, despite the traditional and stark interior and ordering the food in tapas style and allowing them to pace the delivery is a great idea.

We receieved an amuse-bouche on arrival, with a small sake tasting, Stand-out dishes were the hiramasa kingfish (not spicy at all), karaage, sashimi tacos and scampi miso.

Lovely drinks menu and approachable staff.

Will return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank conciergecollection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We enjoyed our meal at the chef's table in this Japanese- Australian fusion restaurant. The staff were friendly, the decor is cool, and the food tasty. The serving sizes are teeny tiny though- chef would do well to add a few soba noodle trays to the menu for those of us with middle aged proportions. We bailed for desert and filled up on gelato at the Quay!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyonHolidays_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First attempt eating Japanese - not too bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We found this little Japanese place whilst walking around looking for dinner.
The place was pretty empty so we had no trouble getting a table, the service was okay. We were given menu's and attended to quite quickly.
We didn't see the waiting staff again for the rest of the night.
Meals were delivered quickly - with 2 main and some entree the meal was under $50.00 which for central Sydney is not that bad.
The meal sizes were generous and filling. As a first attempt at eating Japanese quisine I was quite surprised.
At the end of the day if you like Japanese you could eat, if you want somewhere flash, don't go.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cado_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great food & even the mains are done as shared plates. Good variety of dishes and good atmosphere. Fun to get a separate room & fits about 8 people comfortably. Looking forward to going back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aussietravellers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sake Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sake Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing