We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, great value hotel...super comfy beds!”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #64 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed at the Park 8 during the super busy and super expensive Mardi Gras weekend. The room was booked a few months in advance for $145/night which is a great rate for that weekend.

On walking through the front door you're struck by the very small size of the reception area - there really are no facilities at the hotel - just the in house coffee shop - it's all about the rooms.

The room and bathroom were both very large and nicely decorated. The bed was fantastic - very, very comfortable. Our 4th floor room overlooked the busy Park St but I didn't find noise an issue at all. There was a bar fridge in the room and if asked I believe the hotel will stock it with minibar items. We bought some beers then realised there was no bottle opener provided - so bring your own! It would be nice for the hotel to include even a cheap, throwaway one in the event guests decide to take it home! The hotel can also order in from local eateries and deliver to the room which is a nice service.

There is plenty going on around the hotel...it's very close to the Westfield Sydney shopping centre, takeaway food options and a couple of gyms - the hotel gives out complimentary passes to the Fitness First Park Street.

Special mention to the front desk staff who were really expectional throughout - very willing to help out with info on local amenities and just generally helpful & fun!

Would definitely look to stay at the Park 8 next time!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 671 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

My family and I recent stayed at the Park8 Hotel on Castlereagh Street. I cannot rave enough about the location. Just a few metres up the road is the Westfield Shopping Plaza which comes out at Pitt Street Mall. We stayed in a standard room and unfortunately I think we had the worst room in the hotel (Room 508). Tucked away in the corner of the hotel this room was small, dark and needs renovating to bring it back up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. Other family members stayed in standard rooms on alternate floors and had beautiful rooms which I would have expected from this hotel. Overall, the staff were friendly and helpful. A great little coffee shop located in the foyer of the hotel for coffee lovers. I did have an issue where I was charged a different room rate upon check-out from what I had confirmed, however this was sorted once brought to their attention. I would recommend this hotel, however make sure you dont stay in 'Room 508'!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 508
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was my second trip to Australia and chose to stay at the Park8 primarily because of its location near Hyde Park. The rooms were pretty darn good. I was traveling with a friend so we got a two twin room. The rooms were good sized, the bathroom was pretty big and overall it was extremely comfortable. Noise was never a problem, but it never is for me. The check-in was smooth. The manager and staff were very customer friendly. The coffee shop in the lobby whips up delicious Mocha's (no need to go to the starbucks across the street). The location of the hotel is awesome. Close to all the major sites in Sydney. I enjoyed my stay so much, I have booked it again for the overnight stay before I go home. The only complaint....well the lift moves real slow :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yeshwant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Yesh,

We are so proud to read your kind review. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Ah our little lift - in its defense, it used to be much slower before we upgraded it when we opened our hotel! It may not be the quickest out there, but it carries lots of our valued guests and lots of heavy luggage for us, so we love it anyway.
Plus, it means we get to interact more on the occasions that people have to wait a minute or two in reception!

We are really looking forward to having you both back with us very soon, and we hope you have enjoyed your travels in the interim (we want to hear all about your journey!).

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My Wife and I read good things about this hotel when we searched for a hotel in Sydney, After our stay, we agree with the reviews. This boutique hotel is very good. The hotel location is excellent. It is close to the train stations. The city tourist attractions are all within walking distance. Also there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, pubs, grocery stores and fast food chains close by. And the Westfield shopping mall is nearby if you fancy a bit of shopping.

The Room is very comfortable. The hotel upgraded our room as we stayed for 5 days. The room is clean, spacious and has all the amenities. And there is free WiFi in our room.

The Staff is very friendly and helpful. It is our 1st time in Sydney, and the staff is more than happy to help us with finding our way in the city. During checkout the lift was broken, the staff without a complain carried our 30kg luggage down the stairs. Truly impressed with the service.

We really enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CnD0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear CnD0523,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you agree with all of the lovely reviews our previous guests have taken the time to leave on TripAdvisor!

Oh dear; we remember the morning that the lift was out of order very well! It is certainly not a common occurrence, but we are very lucky to have great guests who understand that these things can happen from time-to-time and remain very patient. For our part, we always work quickly to get any issues rectified as soon as possible and do whatever we can to make life easy for our guests in the interim, such as carrying luggage!

We hope that the rest of your travels were safe and enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park8 Hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had one of the deluxe rooms, and were lucky enough to get one of the corner rooms, so this review is about that type of room. Because it's on the corner, you can see some of Hyde Park, as well as having windows on two sides overlooking Castlereagh and Park streets. The bathroom also had its own window, which I would imagine probably doesn't happen with the regular deluxe rooms. The rooms are large, light and bright and I love a bathroom with natural light in a hotel (there's a venetian blind there, so privacy isn't a problem). I liked the sofa and the space, and the bed was very comfortable. The decor is pleasant and modern; a little wear and tear, but nothing out of the ordinary. The shower is excellent although do be careful not to leave your clothes on the floor as the water pressure is high, the drainage small, and it's easy to accidently flood the floor! There's a drainage hole in the floor and the floor dries quickly, but your clothes might take longer. There was also a lovely bath in the bathroom - we didn't try it on this trip.

The location is brilliant - walking distance to everything. Sydney is a good walking city and this is an excellent location. We walked to Oxford St and the Paddington Markets (admittedly, this is a reasonable walk), to the Botanic Gardens, to Chinatown (and that was just the first day). Easy walk to Circular Quay - we did use the free Sydney shuttle on the way back which cut out the hill. Also handy to Darling Harbour, VERY handy to the shops etc, and a short amble to the Italian restaurants across the park in Stanley Street. Also close to the Museum, St James and Town Hall train stations - Museum is great for coming in from the airport. About 30 seconds walk to the lovely Hyde Park.

Finally, the staff were great - friendly, helpful, they made it a really good experience - and a good coffee and breakfast as well. We can recommend the banana bread and the raisin toast!

It isn't the quietest location and you may notice some street noise. I got woken up once by sirens but otherwise it was a good night's sleep - very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngeNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear AngeNz,

It was our pleasure to have you and it makes our day to read such a great review. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback; you have provided some really valuable information for future guests.

It seems you really used our convenient location to the fullest and we love that! We also love the little mention about our yummy coffee and light breakfast options; our Cafe8 coffee and food really is excellent and we fear that people just think we are being biased when we tell them that, so your comments are much appreciated!

We look forward to having you back one day! Take care until that time.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#104 of 179 in Sydney
696 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#93 of 179 in Sydney
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vulcan Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
415 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#49 of 179 in Sydney
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $408 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing