We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent affordable hotel in the middle”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #63 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2016

We didn't know it was going to be smack dabbed in the middle of downtown sydney. It was only a couple blocks away from QVB and it is near the Town Hall metro station. We also were surprised to find the bathroom was ultra spacious and the bedroom was comfortable, packed with amenities for business travelers, such as iron and ironing board. Don't be fooled by the tiny lobby!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParadisiaC4L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear ParadisiaC4L,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are delighted to read that our location, and facilities met your expectations on your recent trip to Sydney. We would love to welcome you back next time you are in beautiful Sydney. Until then, safe travels.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Farr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 119 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2016

The location is quite convenient, a short walk from Museum or St James stations. It's also conveniently located a block away from Woolworth's (for breakfasts, Tim Tams and other needs) and many attractions in Central Sydney are within walking distance.

The ground floor reception is really tiny, but cheerful. It doesn't look like they have the space, but the staff were helpful to let us leave our luggage until our room was ready. There isn't a restroom on the ground floor, you will be redirected to the McDonalds around the corner if you've not yet access to the rooms. There seems to be only one person manning reception at one go, a queue may build at times. Minor requests were acceded too (ours were extra pillows) but required a reminder. Otherwise, they were really helpful with directions and other needs.

The rooms are clean and basic. If you face the main road, there will be some noise, but not too much. The curtains are nice blackout ones, and sleeping in won't be a problem. My bugbear may be the lighting, the bathroom ones are stark white and just looks clinical. The room remains dark despite turning everything on. A minor adjustment there will add a lot to making the room look and feel more welcoming and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank junara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear Junara,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that overall your experience at Park8 was an enjoyable one and you enjoyed the location, friendly team and clean rooms.
Thank you for your feedback - we love to exceed expectations and these simple things will certainly be taken on board so we can do just that.
We would love to welcome you back and hope to see you in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Farr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We returned to the CBD for our last night in Sydney and Australia at the end of our trip before returning to London.

Location was not far from our first hotel, just around the corner from Metro on Pitt.
Closer to the Park with the same cafes and convenience stores close by.

Close the Hyde Park station and bus stops to take you to Circular Quay or Central. Short walk to Sydney Tower and the shops/ malls around there.

Reception area was quite small with a very small doorway/ entrance for a hotel.

Staff were very friendly and courteous.

The room we booked was very spacious with a kitchenette. All the usual amenities, comfy bed and moody lighting. As other guests have mentioned, you could hear the hum of traffic from the street but this didn't bother us as we were so exhausted from our trip.

We have a good night rest, woke up refreshed and ready for our long journey home the following day.

Nice spacious room, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m3i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

We are so pleased to receive such as positive review M3i - it was our pleasure to have you stay with us for your final night in Sydney before flying back to London.
We are thrilled that overall your experience was an enjoyable one and we can wait to have the opportunity should you return to Sydney to be our guest once again. Safe travels home.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Farr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Very comfortable bed and great bathroom with excellent bathroom products and the nice addition of a vvariety of T2 products. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed an early check in and late check out!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank judithh165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Thanks for your review Judithh165,
It is so pleasing to read that your time with us at Park8 was excellent and your bed was comfy and our T2 variety was a nice addition. We can't wait to welcome you back next time you are in Sydney. Until then, safe travels.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Farr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Food/room service was a terrible experience. TV wasn't working in my room. Lighting of the room was way off!
Pictures on their web site are heavily shopped. I also couldn't recognise the place.
I wouldn't stay here again based on my overall experience.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park8Hotel, General Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Nina B,
Firstly thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read that you felt your time with us at Park8 fell short of your expectations. Our team are certainly available 24/7 to assist, should we have been aware of your concerns during your stay, rather than post stay we would have ensured we turned around your experience to a positive one.
Rest assured, our room photos are certainly not "heavily shopped" we feel we are very transparent with our unique offering. Thank you for your candid feedback regarding our room service offering (as we do not have a full service restaurant on site - I would love to hear some more feedback from you in relation to this so we may ascertain how to resolve any concerns our guests may have with our offsite affiliates providers). Please feel free to contact us via private message.
Once again we do apologise and hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Farr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#93 of 179 in Sydney
448 reviews
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#104 of 179 in Sydney
697 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vulcan Hotel
#84 of 179 in Sydney
416 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#50 of 179 in Sydney
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $405 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing