We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel with room to grow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Ranked #76 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Short stay in a newly renovated suite with a sizeable bathroom with bath, lounage/sitting room and large balcony. The bedroom had a large floor to ceiling window with a view of Darling Harbour while the lounge room had the same with a sliding door. With Regency Club Access, we enjoyed a light morning breakfast on level 11 which features a modern decor with incredible views.

Cons:
- Regency Club Lounge staff are immature and scared of guests. It makes the atmosphere incredibly awkward.
- Following checkout and settlement of the bill, another folio was sent with unspecified "minibar food" charges which were never incurred. Was informed by the property that it was to be refunded but it has not occurred to date.
- No chairs or table to enjoy the incredible balcony.
- Bathroom way too dark.
- No Hotel book explaining the facilities of the property, surrounding area or anything.
- Rude bell staff/valet staff

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SydRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Zancanaro, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear SydRev,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay with us at Hyatt Regency Sydney. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our comfortable rooms.

Once again, thank you for giving us your feedback and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back as our guest soon.

Kind Regards,
Malcolm Zancanaro
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,044 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank garyscottz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M_Zancanaro, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2017

We came to see a show and decided to stay a night. I have stayed in a few hotels around the Sydney CBD, but would have to rate this hotel highly. The hotel was clean, near to lots of entertainment and restaurants. The food was of a great standard as was the soaps etc in the bathroom (not that I ate the soap). The bed was so damn comforatble I'd be happy having one as my bed at home. I think most important of all was the staff were pleasant, friendly and interested in where we were from and why (without being nosy). Staff appeared to enjoy working here. This will be my chosen hotel when I come to Sydney again!

Room Tip: I personally am happy with a room that is clean and comfortable. We were lucky to have the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Zancanaro, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Nancy U,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Hyatt Regency Sydney.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our comfortable rooms. In particular, it’s great to hear our location was perfect for your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.

Kind Regards,
Malcolm Zancanaro
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our four day stay with the hotel. Our room was very comfortable, clean and the bed was great. Being able to utilise the Regency Room was fantastic. The food was good and the staff were exceptional....each staff member in the Regency Room made us feel very welcome. The express checkout from the Regency Room was also an added bonus....no stress no worries. Just one thing to bring to your attention the checkin staff all look very stressed...regardless of the time we walked past.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Topbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Zancanaro, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Topbabe,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Hyatt Regency Sydney.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. In particular, it’s great to hear your positive feedback regarding our friendly colleagues and excellent service. We will be sure to note your feedback for further improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.

Kind Regards,
Malcolm Zancanaro
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Oh man, if you read my reviews I have never written a positive review about a Hyatt and I'm always in a position where it's a last choice. It seems that Hyatt has a global way of giving me poor service. Yes, it must be me!! So, I get to the Hyatt in Sydney for a short weekend. The Asian lady at check in could hardly manage to speak English. I'm sorry but she couldn't. I did ask if I can check out early as I had an urgent need to get back to Melbourne in the morning but no luck with this lady. So, made it up to the room I paid extra for to find a shoebox of a space. They must have used a wide angle camera when advertising the room. Anyway, I did call downstairs and someone else managed to cancel my reservation for the next day and the United Hotel app I used also managed to cancel it. Low and behold this outdated hotel charges for local calls. I had my mobile phone but was using the calendar when making three local calls. $1.75 or something like that for a call. Holy cow! This hotel clearly caters for the Asian community as it's a high volume tourist source for many businesses in Australia. It was disappointing that the staff overall were not helpful and the room was less than great. The view from the balcony was good of Darling Harbour but I was happy to check out as early as possible. Someone remind me not to book another Hyatt (please!)

Room Tip: Avoid Avoid Avoid. Plenty of options around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 860rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Zancanaro, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear 860rd,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your stay with us at Hyatt Regency Sydney. However I was disappointed to hear you were less than satisfied with your experience, we sincerely apologise for this. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we will be sure to note your comments for further review.

Once again, we apologise the service was not the standard we try to achieve and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest.

Kind Regards,
Malcolm Zancanaro
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#42 of 186 in Sydney
4,742 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#21 of 186 in Sydney
2,194 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#37 of 186 in Sydney
3,393 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sydney

Address: 161 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $245 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 892
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to travel the way you like. Located adjacent to Darling Harbour in Sydney's Central Business District (CBD), our hotel is a haven of relaxation for the business or leisure traveler. As Sydney's largest premium hotel, Hyatt Regency Sydney boasts 892 guestrooms, three dining experiences, and 3,700 square metres of flexible meeting and event space. We invite you to enjoy an unparalleled Australian getaway. Hyatt Regency Sydney has the facilities to cater for all your needs including complimentary Wi-Fi, tour services, laundry services, 24-hour room service, 24-hour front desk, limousine service, car rentals, valet parking (for a fee) and babysitting services - We can help you with all of that! Plus our guests have complimentary access to a 24-hour fitness centre. Hungry? Enjoy a relaxed dining experience with harbour side views at Sailmaker. Zephyr, Sydney's most unique and luxurious open-air sky bar, offers guests unparalleled views of Darling Harbour. The Lobby Bar is located in the lobby and serves coffee, tea, snacks and alcoholic beverages, while the Regency Club Lounge offers Regency Club guests a daily continental breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening canapes, with panoramic views of Darling Harbour and boardroom facilities. Our guest rooms and suites feature comfortable beds, large flat screen TVs, cable television, movies on-demand, an over-sized work desk, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room safe, air conditioning, alarm clock, wake-up service, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities and a complimentary newspaper (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton
Sydney Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing