We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,619)
Filter reviews
5,619 results
Traveller rating
3,081
1,621
555
200
162
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,081
1,621
555
200
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge opera house circular quay botanical gardens top floor seafood buffet a harbour view room high tea five star hotel rooftop bar an upgrade valet parking late checkout fantastic location four seasons concierge ihg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,848 - 2,853 of 5,619 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Fantastic 5-star hotel, housed in a historic building that retains its charm of the era and located a short walk to Circular Quay and beyond that to the Opera House and The Rocks on the opposite side of quay. Service in all areas is generally outstanding - efficient, welcoming and pre-emptive. Everything we requested was fulfilled in a timely manner. Rooms are large and very comfortable with great amenities. This is our preferred hotel when visiting Sydney as we are assured of a wonderful stay each time. Thanks especially to Jessica on Front Desk on this visit who was so lovely and helped allocate us an amazing room!

Room tip: All views are good, but a higher floor will elevate you above city buildings, or an eastern-side room will provide uninterrupted panoramic views over Sydney Harbour.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianmR246MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Ian M,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at InterContinental Sydney.

We highly appreciate our guests' comments as they help us to improve our service, ensuring that we deliver an experience in line with out guests' expectations. The team will be thrilled to hear that they were able to make your stay a welcoming and personalised one.

It was also great to read that Jessica at the Reception desk was of great assistance to you and could assist to ensure your accommodation room was suited to your needs and comfortable for your stay with us. We'll certainly be sharing your comments with her and no doubt she will take delight in reading your review.

Once again Ian M, thank you for such a wonderful review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Sydney for another memorable visit in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015

My wife and I have stayed here three times in the past eighteen months and have never been disappointed.
Whilst the location is a huge advantage, with the Quay precinct, Botanical Gardens, museums and the Sydney CBD all within short walking distances, we have been more than impressed with the service and the amenities that the Intercontinental offers.
On our visits here, we have had, from our rooms, views of the Botanical Gardens, which have been excellent.
On our latest visit we could have had an upgrade to a room with harbour views but at an extra $50 a night, we declined. If you want to see the magnificent harbour from the hotel's vantage point take the lift to the 31st level (indoor swimming pool). The views are spectacular.
We have had breakfasts here - excellent, but not dinner.
Throughout our stays the staff have been very professional, courteous and helpful - whether it be reception, room service or valet parking. Valet parking is $45.
WiFi for IHG members is free, non-members - $25.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Phillip8789,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued loyalty and choosing to stay at InterContinental Sydney once again.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the overall service as well as the amenities we provide. Thank you especially for commending our Reception, Room Service and Valet Car Parking teams who I know will be thrilled that the service they provided make a huge difference to your stay.

We trust that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

The Sydney Intercontinental Hotel is a good 4* hotel in a fantastic location in downtown Sydney, a few minutes' walk from Circular Quay (with its rail connections to Sydney airport) and some of the city's iconic sights. It's not at the high luxury end by any means, but it will provide you with a very good standard of accommodation at a reasonable price. We stayed in April 2015 during the busy Easter period. As we were visitors from the UK, we wanted a room with a view, and chose a king deluxe harbour view room. Our room on the 19th floor certainly did not disappoint. We didn't have to stand on tip toes and contort our bodies to get the view we paid for... a large picture window, with a comfortable, long window seat provided that. The room was spacious, nicely appointed, and spotlessly clean. The room had all the amenities we require: security safe, a decent iron, and a strong and fast wifi connection. Check-in was welcoming and efficient. The modern high rise hotel is incorporated into an older historic sandstone building. The central atrium thus had a grand, historic feel, and the restaurant and bars it contains had a warm and relaxing ambience. The hotel is well worth consideration if location and price are your major considerations! It is on our 'to return to' list.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank 997briant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Brian T,

As a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor, thank you for sharing your experience at InterContinental Sydney in April.

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and review of our property and for highlighting your welcoming check in experience and comfort of your guestroom.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

I stayed here for a business trip in June and was impressed with all facets of the operation.
The room was superb, exceptionally clean with all the finer touches.
Service in the lounge was excellent - with the staff remembering the particular coffee you have every morning!
Location is central to everything in Sydney and contained within the hotel are all the facilities one could need and want.
Room service menu has something to cater to everyone tastes and is exquisitely served.
Will certainly return on the next trip.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear CYPLodgeManager,

Thank you for posting an appreciation of your recent stay on business at InterContinental Sydney.

It was a pleasure to have you choose to stay with us and also to know that your time was most enjoyable. May I particularly note your complimentary comments on the service you received which is very pleasing to hear. Our Culinary team will also be delighted to read that you enjoyed the variety of food on our in room dining menu - we do try and ensure we cater to a very global variety of tastes!

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back for that next stay when your travels bring you to Sydney.

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

One of the nice hotels i have stayed in sydney. The location is close to the opera house and the museums. A short walk to the shopping district and the rocks. I admit that the service is excellent, the rooms are large and clean and the breakfast is very good. I have booked the harbour bridge view room. I guess its important for me to have a nice view if i am staying in a 5 star hotel. Dont be tight on your selves for 20 or 30 bucks extra for the view. It is totally worth it.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Ahmed A,

Thank you very much for telling us how much you enjoyed your recent experience at InterContinental Sydney - it is wonderful that we met your expectations!

I was very happy to hear you enjoyed the service provided by our team of colleagues, as well as the cleanliness of our rooms and the delicious breakfast options that we have available.

We hope to welcome you on a future occasion where you can again enjoy the wonderful views from your room in Sydney.

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews