We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #10 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Overall a very nice hotel. Pricey but the service was excellent. It is great to be able to say that every single staff from the Doorman to the Concerige where extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great for anything you want to do in the City, transport links good and very frequent. The room was spacious and well appointed, with everything you would expect from a 5-star hotel. We did find it a bit noisey from the ac but I suppose this can not be helped.

Room Tip: If you want to see something outside the window, except the other side of the building, do not book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra_j_leong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,155 - 4,159 of 4,936 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We found a great deal on this hotel and decided to try our first Radisson on our Australian trip. We arrived early in the morning, but we had corresponded via email with the hotel and requested (if possible) early check-in. When we arrived we were checked in immediately because our rood was ready.

The staff here is exeptional, very helpful, friendly and courteous (something we did not always find in Sydney). We had done too much shopping so we decided to ship some of it back on the last day via FedEx (it was the christmas holiday so all the Australian Post offices were closed for an extended period of time). We filled all the paperwork, packed out items and left them in the capable hands of the concierge, who arranged for the pickup after we left and we received them at home a couple of days after our arrival.

One night we took out two bottles of beer out of the fridge minibar and placed them in the other non refrigerated section of the minibar in order to have room for our bottle of water for the next day. Next evening we noticed the beers were entirely gone from the room and did not think anything of it. Upon checkout there was a hefty charge for two beers, so we explained what happened and the charges were taken out.

We ordered room service one very late night, which was speedy and fairly tasty.

We had breakfast every morning at the hotel. You had a choice of a-la-carte, continental breakfast or the full buffet breakfast. We switched back and forth between the three choices on different mornings. The staff here was touch and go. Some mornings they were super friendly and efficient, and other mornings a different shift was rude, slow and made mistakes.
One particular morning we waited about 40 minutes for our sunny side up eggs, and when they came the toast was cold and basically not even toasted. we asked then to toast it again, and with a roll of the eye they took it away and brough it back 5 minutes later a little more brown. Some of the staff here definitely needs re-training!

The rooms was large, had a balcony (however no view) and was very clean. The location is pretty central and we walked everywhere from our hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrobeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We arrived early at 8.30am to be greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. We were not expecting our room to be ready but to our delight it was. Our room was very spacious with everything you would need from tea/coffee to an ironing board. Bathroom was also very large. The location is perfect, only a 10 minute walk to the Opera House & Bridge. No problems sleeping as it was quiet & very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJKendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Apparently a bit of money has been spent upgrading this place over the years. It is hard to say this shows in the rooms and decor.

Had the misfortune to stay on level one, with small window and 'view' of dark and fairly industrial looking space. The room itself was extremely small and furniture recycled and does nit fit current alignment. Eg tv cabinet half across bathroom door and disturbingly open back to fridge and wiring which is a safety risk with proximity to wet area. Other annoyances were standing height desk built in underneath and midget size chair to fit. Completely useless for the business traveller.

The breakfast was standard fair, not particularly well done. Large bottle of water in room (complimentary at others of this rating) was eight bucks.

Staff were generally good although more often than not you felt like you were interupting a conversation to their annoyance.

Gym and pool are small but nicely finished given the space.

Great location to business district and Harbour.

Room Tip: Lower levels are dark and dreary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mlear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radiss0nBluH0tel, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Mlear 11,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney.

I note your comments regarding the appearance of the rooms and the décor. The Hotel’s lobby and restaurant underwent a refurbishment in 2010, however we do have a program in place that ensures that our highly used rooms are in perfect condition.

I was also concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction regarding your room allocation. As the Hotel is a heritage listed building, the size and layout of rooms varies. I have however asked the Front Office Manager to ensure his staff are re-confirming room preferences upon arrival with our guests. In relation to our desks and chairs, the chairs are adjustable so that it can suit all our guests.

Further to this I was disappointed to learn that some of our staff members were not attentive and welcoming. Be assured I have discussed your comments with the Front Office Manager and have asked that he reiterate to his team the importance of displaying a friendly and helpful 'Yes I Can' attitude at all times. As comments regarding our staff are highly regarded, this area will continue to be monitored closely to make certain this is not an issue going forward. I apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

On behalf of the team I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel when you next travel to Sydney.

Sincerely,

Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed for 4 nights after getting a special offer through Wotif that reduced the rate to $260 per night. Fantastic.
The location really is excellent and is close to the train to the airport, Circular Quay, shopping precincts, Exhibition centre and Darling harbour etc.
The room was functional and comfortable and really not worthy of special mention.
The bathroom was on the other hand one of the best I've seen. The layout, attention to detail and use of space was excellent.
Definitely a place to consider when staying in Sydney.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 180 in Sydney
2,064 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#29 of 180 in Sydney
4,547 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $227 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing