We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, location and view. Very disappointing service.”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Splendid location, great views (get a room on a high floor !). Good rooms - Westin-like. We didn't go to the restaurants, so can't comment about the food. Very disappointing service. Booking in took forever, the rate we had found online was suddenly not available and we had to argue to get it. The concierge directed us to a parking for the night, but omitted to tell us that we had to validate the ticket before leaving, resulting in toing and froing between parking and hotel in teh early morning when we were on a schedule... would have expected more.

Room Tip: High floors get a good cityscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan D, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Etienne P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear our accommodation room was to your liking as well as our convenient CBD location. We regret to learn of your experiences regarding your check-in and parking. We are sorry to hear you were misinformed and would like to further investigate the matter. Please contact westin.sydney@westin.com. Thank you again and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney in the future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 3,300 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We had another excellent stay at the Westin. Can't fault the service and the location of the hotel. It is one of the easier hotels in the CBD to access by car, although the parking rates are exorbitant. The breakfast option offer is always welcome as breakfast options are brilliant.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 64Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The hotel is very smart and style of the rooms very modern. At first I had a room on the 31 floor which had a bit of a strange view, with an office block to the side and a back of a wall on the other, but something was visible far away though this canyon. The worst thing about this room was the noise from some machinery (probably on the roof) which went on all day and night although at night it changed tone a little and made me wonder what it would be like to sleep inside a washing machine going through various cycles.
The room had the worst power socket arrangement I have ever seen (and the room looked very modern) with no power sockets next to the bed at all, in fact the whole side of the room with the bed had no power sockets and several in the room were special "lights only" sockets with a different pin arrangement to the normal Australian design. I had to get housekeeping to loan me a 2m extension cable. Compared to Meridien the week before in KL this was pitiful since there they had sockets on both sides of the bed and USB charging sockets also, so no need for a charger.
I moved eventually to a lower floor with view of the clock tower (which is happily silent between 9pm and 9am) and that did have power sockets next to the bed, so only some rooms have the power problem.
I had access to the lounge and could have breakfast there although it got busy on some of the days. One day it was so busy that people were turned away and told to have breakfast downstairs, this happened to one German couple who had found a table, gone to get food and come back with their plates to find the table given to somebody else. The plates of food were taken out of their hands and they were told to go downstairs instead.
The lounge staff seemed unable to remember that I had lounge access and several times asked for my room number. This was quite a contrast with the Meridien in KL where the staff greeted me by name every day and quite amazingly remembered my name from my visit six months before! In Sydney the staff could not recognize my face from one day to the next.
The location was nice and lower floors and atrium very impressive although always very busy.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan D, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear R1138,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback following your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy the style of our accommodation rooms. We are currently in the process of adding power sockets and USB ports to the bedside tables in our accommodation rooms. We regret to learn of your experience in the Executive Club lounge and trust you have received our prior email regarding this. Thank you again for providing your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney in the future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We arrived in Sydney for the last night of our Honeymoon before flying back to States. This Hotel was centrally located and you could walk everywhere! Jose at the front desk was able to upgrade us from the 8th floor to the 20th floor for no additional charge, which made my husband elated. Josh at the Concierge was able to get us into a Seafood restaurant in the Rocks that ended up being the best meal of the honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful not only in the lobby but the guestrooms as well. With a shower and a tub and the great view of the city, we couldn't have asked for a better 24 hours in Sydney.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I stay here for my work conference annually. This year, each room had free water bottles for guests. As a Starwood member, I was presented with an arrival plate of nuts/chocs. Had a nice room overlooking the city north, over 25th floor. Always recommend this hotel. Close to Westfield shopping, across the road, about 2 min walk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank melons118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4,605 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
2,045 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $203 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing