We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2010

You really can't fault the Westin Hotel in Sydney. It is the 3rd time I have visited and the staff are exceptional, the hotel is spotless, the food is delicious and the location is superb.

Parking at AUD49 a night seems a bit pricey but suppose that is the price you pay for the middle of the city.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,879 - 2,883 of 3,293 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2010

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year. It was expensive (but so is everywhere at New Year in Sydney) but we got a decent deal on Expedia. The room was good, great bed and decent bathroom, overlooking the clock and the Xmas tree.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. Internet access is an additional cost in the room but free WiFi is available in the lobby.

We can recommend spending New Years Eve on a boat. We were on the James Craig - we had a fabulous time and wonderful view of the fireworks.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

I recently stayed at the Westin Sydney with my partner, over New Years Eve 2009, and we enjoyed every minute of it.
As a SPG Platinum guest I received an email shortly before the stay apologizing that they would not be able to upgrade me this time due to high demand over New Years Eve, but that I would receive all other amenities as usual - understandably and fair.

The Tower room was nice, clean and spacious. Very nice touch to have a large glass-wall between the bathroom and the bedroom with a view. We have seen one of the suites and I am happy we did not get upgraded, the rooms are so much nicer.

The executive lounge was very nice, though constantly overrun during this busy time (it was just too small to deal with the amount of people that stayed at the hotel this time of year). The staff was wonderful, very attentive and remembered what we drank after the first day. Every day they served some delicious little appetizers and offered a cheese buffet in the evening and a complete breakfast in the morning.

We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night and very much enjoyed the food, especially the fish dishes. The service could have been a bit more attentive, but overall it was a nice experience.

The gym is not your typical hotel gym as it is run by an outside company and accessible for hotel guests. It comes fully equipped with all the machines one needs and a lap pool - great!

Overall, we enjoyed our five nights at the Westin and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFLeonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

I stayed here for a night on business in January - had Room 326 which was in the GPO building I think. Room was nicely appointed ... very understated. Bathroom was nice, bed was a king - very comfortable, TV - 42 inch plasma so no complaints. Only downside was room felt a little big and sparse ... at times it felt a bit empty.

Lobby is great and the service was immaculate ... no complaints at all. The gym on Level 3 is part of 1 Martin Place but Westin guests get access and it is a killer gym. Loads of cardio equipment and all brand new. Big factor for me as I like to exercise when travelling to feel human after days of meetings.

Location is good for a tourist or business traveller.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shepherdieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Can't really fault this place. We got a good price using SPG points, excellent location, very nice rooms and fantastic service. Free use of the gym and the internet is another plus. Only really lost a mark as it's a chain and as such doesn't have much of a soul...

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenDoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 179 in Sydney
4,599 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
2,042 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $220 - $822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing