We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$130
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$198
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$85
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Veriu Central(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
971 results
Traveller rating
768
167
25
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
768
167
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensdrawing roomdormer roomchallis avenuecloud roomopera housekings crossbed and breakfastquiet neighborhoodcircular quayboiled eggssmall hotelhome from homeboutique hotelwithin walking distancerestaurants and shopsart gallery
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 971 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

This is a charming hotel/B&B in the Potts Point area of Sydney. The room was nice with a private bath. I found the beds to be very comfortable, giving a good night's sleep. There is free WIFI and breakfast which was very good. The staff were quite helpful. The hotel is only a short walk from a Hop On/Hop Off bus line. You can walk to the Botanic Gardens and then to the harbor area if so inclined. There were restaurants and pubs in the neighborhood of the hotel. Being in a historic house, the one drawback to the hotel was a lack of an elevator. The downside of walking places from the hotel is that Potts Point sits on a hill and it is a fairly steep climb up to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sgaliette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thankyou for your kind words !

Yes, Potts Point is a great neighbourhood, and an easy stroll into the City, or along the harbourfront and through the Royal Botanic Gardens to the Opera House. But yes, on the return journey there are the infamous McElhone Steps to negotiate back up to Potts Point.

I have counted 116, but as one guest "corrected" me, there are really only 68, provided you do them two at a time, as she told me she did !

Otherwise, there is the regular 311 bus service into and back to the City, or the Kings Cross train station is only a few minutes walk along Victoria Street. Taxis frequently pass by, or we can book one for you.

Yes, we have three-floors; mid-size and family-rooms on the Gound-floor, larger King-bed rooms up one flight of stairs to our First-floor, and our smaller Queen-bed Dormers (quaint, "attic-style rooms) on the Second-floor. Usually, we are there to help with luggage.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Cheers Keith and the "Simpson" team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here for four nights and leaving tomorrow. I must say that this hotel is one I will never forget and will be my #1 recommendation for a stay in Sydney. The owners and staff have been very accommodating and extremely helpful, the rooms are beautiful, beds are so comfortable, etc. Thank you Keith and Ree—we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Vickie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Well Vickie !

What a marvellous Review. Thankyou.

Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do try to make our guests feel comfortable and at home, and appreciate your very kind words. Thankyou for taking the time to review us.

Cheers Keith and the "Simpsons" team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, and were glad we’d chosen this venue, (a) for its position in Sydney, surrounded by good eateries, in walking distance of the centre and on a good bus route, (b) for the ambience and comfort of the place, and (c) because the service from the staff was so good, and they all made us feel so welcome, and helped us in numerous ways.
Simpson’s is an historic residence, and all the recent renovation work has ensured it maintains that feel - our room had original features such as stained glass windows and the bathroom had been sensitively created in harmony with this yet fully functioning. The drawing room is welcoming and SO atmospheric - great to sit in and sip a complimentary sherry before going out for the evening, and generous continental breakfasts (with delicious coffee!) are served in the light and airy breakfast room, where the staff go out of their way to meet your needs and assist you with your sightseeing plans. We felt as though we were among friends, and would certainly use this hotel again when we return to Sydney.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hello Jonathan !

Well, what a thoughtful Review.

You raise all the points, in a complimentary manner, that we ourselves feel encapsulates the aura that makes "Simpsons" and great place to stay.

Our dear old mansion house, and ourselves, are not perfect, but if you overlook the odd paint chip or squeaky door, then I think that you will enjoy the ambience that "Simpsons" has to offer. And the Potts Point area is certainly THE place to stay in Sydney if you enjoy a friendly neighbourhood, with great restaurants, boutiques and cafes, yet only 20-mins stroll into the heart of the City.

Thanks again for your complimentary Review.

Cheers Keith and the Simpsons team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

What is exceptional about this hotel is the warmth of the welcome and the personal attention that the whole team pay. Incredibly they remember your name, and take a friendly interest in what you are doing. The breakfast is fantastic and the rooms (at least mine) spacious and well furnished. The location in Potts Point is perfect - just off the main drag, and with fantastic restaurants very close by. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonjack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hello London Jack !

What a kind Review. We do try to make our guests feel welcome, and fro them to treat our dear old house as their own home, whilst they explore our wonderful city.

Potts Point is a great neighbourhood, yet only 10-15 mins. stroll into the City, along the Harbour's edge, and a great choice of local restaurants, cafes and bars, as well as interesting little boutique shops.

As Conde Nast said all those years ago, Potts Point is the place to stay when you to be in the City, but don'f want to stay in the City.

Thanks again Jack !

Keith and the "Simpsons" team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here over New Years for 2 nights and was beautiful. Welcomed on arrival by Ree which was the beginning of a warming stay. Breakfast included was lovely. Very close to many restaurants. Arrived on motorcycle and parking was very secure. Watched fireworks on New Years Eve from end of hotel street. Would definitely recommend and will definitely stay here again

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thankyou for your kind review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your N.Y.E. sat with us. It was a really special night, wan't it?

I hope that you enjoyed your further motor-cycle trip up north, and beyond.

Thanks again for taking the time to review us!

Cheers keith and the "Simpsons" team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews