We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School trip”
Review of Woolbrokers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woolbrokers Hotel
Ranked #129 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I am writing this review from the view of a school group of seventeen 9 to 12 year olds accompanied by a teacher and 7 parents. Well all I can say is thankyou Woolbrokers for making our stay a stress free and well supported one.

Our group was on the top floor (of which we had the whole floor to ourselves) this meant that we had the 3rd floor foyer to meet in and prepare the children for the days/evening events. The bathrooms were shared, but clean and plentiful and the rooms were large. Our hosts at Woollbrokers kept the children happily fed and even arranged packed lunches for each of the days we were there. This included catering for some quite tricky allergies. Only complaint with the food, was that the bigger eating dads accompanying the children left the dinner table a bit hungry due to the small (child size) serving of food.

Our room was a double room and was a little noisy, but we were in the centre of town (only a 2 minute walk to Darling Harbour) so that made up for it. The rooms could do with a bit of a spring clean and a good paint job, but remember we are talking budget accommodation here.

Would highly recommend this motel for a small school group due to location, room orientation and staff support.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denhamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

I am in year 6 and came from near Coffs Harbour. I stay in motels very reguarly with my family. After reading reviews here I was worried about sharing a bathroom with the floor. It turned out to be alright. It was relitively clean and comfortable furniture. Negative was the road noise, one time I woke up at 3:30am due to a loud truck. The other members of my room woke up from that aswell. There did seem to be a draft from the window as they were wooden and weren't fit to be practical, just from the olden days when things used to be better. Taking bags up stairs didn't help either, having packed for 1 week, carrying heavy bags up stairs really hurts especially when there is so many stairs in sydney. Food was acceptable but you didn't get to choose dinner, maybe that was because I was with a school group but for breakfast, you had to toast your own bread, no yoghurt, canned pineapple and peach and cearal. Only orange juice. The staff was helpful and friendly. Didnt have any pool or anything to do at the hotel except sleep and eat.
I wouldn't stay for as long as a week probably 1 night because when you get a little amount of sleep and it is a holiday as such it kind of ruins it when you are tired. Dining room was small, broken chairs and tables put together to cater for a room of kids. Floor creaks whenever you walk and the upstairs is very loud. Needs soundproofing. Toilets were alright. I was on the floor above ground and there were 3 shower and toilets and 2 toilets I am pretty sure and didn;t have to wait. But when there is public people they might not be as considerate. Doors were heavy and made noise when they shut because they didnt fit properly. TV was old with few channels but coloured so that was fine. Bunks were noisy but singles were excellent :)

Would only recommend for a school group not for a family looking for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on level 1 as no lifts and be careful about the noise on the floor above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I arrived during a heavy storm and got to my room and was pleasantly surprised by the good constant hot shower pressure, warm room and the general comfortable feel of the place. It was an extremely short walk to the monorail station, town hall train station and is right next door to Darling Harbour. The receptionist was great tryng to explain how the parking discount worked and next time I come back to Sydney I will be staying here again. Cannot fault it for price or its fantastic location and for the traveller looking to save a bit of money whilst staying at a decent place, I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Go the $7.50 breakfast in the morning. Good value and its as much as you can eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank homebake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

I would expect to pay half of what I did for this place. We had to carry our bags up three flights of stairs. Toilette and shower are shared for the floor - and i had to hold the shower head up. The water pipes made freaky noises throughout the night and the bunk beds we're even worse!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WazJTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have stayed at Woolbrokers B&B Hotel in May 2012 for a couple of days. I was looking for a single room for a rather low rate, which I had found.

From the airport Sydney it is accessible via Metro and then Tram, works well.
The staff was friendly. The Hotel has`t been refurbished since ages. Not even the simplest investments to make it more comfortable have been made.

The room was veeery dark, no sunlight coming in, I couldnt even tell if the sun was shining or if it was cloudy outside. There would have been another room with a lot more sun light but also more noise from the road. And the queen sized bed mattress had two deep pits/dents from the last decades of people molding them. Veeery old mattress.
The room in the first floor where I stayed had a queen sized bed (mattress was soft but o.k.) and a shared shower and a shared toilet on the floor.
The room smelled old and musty, letting fresh air in helped only for minutes. The room`s window went to the narrow gap between two buildings, in this gap the hotel`s old fridges were running all night, very noisy.
The worst was the shower curtain. It was covered with black mold and was sticking together. One was watching out not to touch it more than necessary. The cleaning personell avoided that obviously as well. Shower itself and the small sink were clean.
A good thing was the laundra room, where one can wash cloths for 3 dollars and iron them as well. My shirts didnt`get really clean however, but that might have been the wrong machine setting or cheap washing solvent.
I have no idea if there are better places for this rate in Sydney. I hope so. However, I can`t really recommend Woolbrokers unless someone is in a hurry to find something last minute and that`s the only one to find, like in my case.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
523 reviews
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#132 of 181 in Sydney
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#110 of 181 in Sydney
2,014 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#74 of 181 in Sydney
325 reviews
DeVere Hotel
#154 of 181 in Sydney
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolbrokers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolbrokers Hotel

Address: 22 Allen St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > City West
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $79 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Woolbrokers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in the heart of Darling Harbour on the western fringe of the Sydney CBD. Close to cafes, restaurants, bars, tourist attractions, shops, and public transport. A selection of rooms from singles to family-sized, either with ensuite or shared facility. All rooms with TV, fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, and serviced daily. Breakfast available, plus guest laundry, internet terminal, secure parking, and luggage storage. Reception 7am-10pm only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woolbrokers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolbrokers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing