We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra on Kent
Nearby Hotels
US$272
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$197
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,647)
Filter reviews
1,647 results
Traveller rating
573
685
274
76
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
685
274
76
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdarling harbourgreat locationone bedroom apartmentwashing machinetown hall stationqueen victoria buildinglaundry facilitiesfull kitchenwould stay againnice roomreception staffroom servicegood sizebuffet breakfastbed was very comfortablecentral locationshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 1,647 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We stayed in a 1 bedroom studio, with a small kitchen area which had a stove and cooktop and a small bar fridge. Location to Darling Harbour was nice and close but well away from traffic noise. While the bed was very comfortable and the lounge area roomy and a television bigger than most hotels, unfortunately that is the best thing I can say about our experience. The room itself was very grubby, the fridge was filthy and still had a half eaten container of ice cream in the freezer, the mould in the bathroom was pretty bad and there was long dark hairs all over the wall (not mine). But worse of all was the shower. We got in late so didn't use it until the next morning there was a split in the hose which meant the water didn't even get to the shower head and was spurting out of the hose instead. NO chance of washing my hair and a very difficult job to even wash. We did advise reception on check out and of course they were apologetic but that was it. Breakfast was included in our booking but sadly this too was disappointing. Plenty to choose from with regard to cereals, toast & cakes but the cooked foods were all over cooked and cold. I probably wouldn't go back again as I am sure there are much better hotels to chose from, however do keep in mind that you get what you paid for, however a clean room is a no brainer

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 February 2017

Dear Debby K,

My sincere apologies for the issues that you encountered during your stay. While we try our best to do it right the first time, we always want a great experience for our guests. This standard is not acceptable and we pride ourselves on the level of cleanliness we provide. We take on board all comments provided to continually work on providing a better experience for our guest. I hope we do get a chance to make it up to you in the near future.

Regards
Kerrin Chalmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Great value for money - large apartment rooms, handy walking distance to darling harbor and convenience of parking station right next door. This is our 2nd stay at Mantra on Kent and it is our first preference for accommodation in Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmasoutter, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear Angie P
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay!
Regards Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Great location!! We were able to walk to everything. Right next to QVB and Darling Harbor. Love the hotel and the staff. Always there to help and super friendly. There was 6 of us who stayed and we all had a great visit with Mantra on Kent. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donnay533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmasoutter, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear donnay533
Thank you for staying at Mantra on Kent and taking the time to pass on your compliments about the staff, I will let them know.
Regards Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Great location, easy walking distance to Darling Harbour, Town Hall station and the city centre.
We stayed in an Executive Studio room and found it to be spacious and clean (plenty big enough for 2 adults and 1 child).
The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome.
We will definitely stay here again when we next visit Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tastrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmasoutter, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear tastrout
Thank you for staying at Mantra on Kent we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, I will pass on your comments about the staff!
Regards Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This was a clean, well presented property. It is in a fantastic position and very roomy. I would have no hesitations in staying there again. Also recommending this property to both work colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 381serinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmasoutter, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear 381serinat,
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review, we love the location as well !
Regards Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews