We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Agoda.com
US$172
US$131
View deal
SAVE US$41
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Booking.comUS$159
PricelineUS$159
HurbUS$172
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,517)
Filter reviews
1,518 results
Traveller rating
1,136
275
70
27
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,136
275
70
27
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar art deco presidential suite pitt street beautiful hotel office building every staff member valet parking rooms are spacious the heart of the city five star hotel town hall station an upgrade buffet breakfast central location hyde park circular quay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,518 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service and staff were amazing. The rooms were big and clean. Amazing hotel will certainly return. The staff could not do enough for us and made up feel very welcome. Great atmosphere. Roof top bar was great for an afternoon drink and the hotel foyer and cocktail lounge was very relaxing.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank louisecaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay at the Primus so beautiful. From the second we arrived to the second we left we had a fantastic experience. We had the best weekend. We enjoyed the rooms, breakfast and the pool. Can’t wait to come back!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kellybP7792IG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell Morrow, Guest Services / Front Office at Primus Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kelly B,

I would like to express my sincere thank you for the kind remarks you have made regarding your experience here with us at The Primus Hotel Sydney. It makes be proud to know that our staff and the service they provided was integral to your fantastic stay. We will be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,
Mitchell Morrow
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel, wonderful service, fabulous Level 7 bar & pool. All requests were met, including having our three rooms positioned closely together. Great margaritas served at both the lobby and pool bars!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MMH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell Morrow, Guest Services / Front Office at Primus Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear MMH01,

I would like to express my delight in knowing that you had such a superb experience here with us at The Primus Hotel Sydney. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy all of the wonderful facilities that we offer, especially that fabulous Margaritas at our Lobby bar and Level 7 Bar. Thank you for your comments regarding our wonderful service, our team always does their best to go above and beyond whenever possible, particularly when it comes to honouring guests requests such as your room configurations.

We hope to welcome you back for your next stay here at the Primus very soon.

Warm regards,
Mitchell Morrow
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a Superior Suite for two nights on Hotel's eat,park, stay deal.

Staff were excellent, very helpful and courteous right from the valet parking and check-in to the concierge and breakfast staff.

Room was big with a living area seperate to the bedroom and oversized bathroom. Also had a second toilet. Room was very quiet with no noise heard either internally or from the outside even though there is construction going on next door. There was a wide choice of free to view movies and shows. Bed was very comfy.

Facilities were very good, with a restaurant and bar in the lobby. We had a breakfast there each morning and were happy with the choices available and the generous servings. The roof top pool area was great although the Pool bar was closed as we were there beginning of the week. Due to lack of guest numbers with Covid it's currently only open Fridays and Saturdays.

I had never heard of this Hotel before staying, but found it excellent and couldn't fault it. Would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark85Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell Morrow, Guest Services / Front Office at Primus Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mark85Sydney,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy all the facilities that we offer here at The Primus Hotel Sydney.

Our staff pride themselves on providing exemplary service to all of our guests. I will ensure to pass on your kind comments to them, as it is great motivation to know that we are achieving our goal of providing the best luxury service in Sydney.

I am glad that you enjoyed the suite and the features such as the complimentary movie selection, and the comfortable bed. Our Head Chef Jeremy and Director of Food and Beverage Min, will be thrilled to hear that you started the day with breakfast in the Wilmot each morning and were happy with the selection we have on offer. It is unfortunate that the Level 7 Bar was not open during your stay. However we are slowly increasing our days of operation please visit our website to view all updated timings. I hope that you will have the opportunity to spend the weekend here in the future to enjoy what Level 7 has to offer.

Again, thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Mitchell Morrow
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the outside you'd not think this is a hotel. Low rise amongst a sea of high riae buildings, and certainly a facade of a different era. The entry is a little shabby, and you are greeted with loud music at the lifts.

Reception is efficient and friendly - all interactions with staff were this way.

The lift has a slideshow of specials at the bar and restaurant - but they move so fast it is hard to read them. They also exclude some information, such as the $20 meal and drink at the lobby bar is only for lunch.

Out of the lift you are also subject to more loud music - as you are at the lobby bar and rooftop bar.

We had a room facing inwards, and it was the quietest room we've ever had in Sydney. The pillow menu is a salvation and the bed is comfy.

The bathroom is one of those where it has a frosted glass wall to the bedroom. Turn the light on at night and it lights up the bedroom. Fine if you are a cosy couple, but you may be less comfortable staying with friends or sharing with a work colleague.

The TV is very far from the bed - so far that if you have glasses you may have issues. You'll also have to have the volume up to hear.

The TV system is complex to navigate and crashed several times. But movies are free.

The lights are tricky. Small label descriptions and strange combinations - what does "feature" mean? We found it impossible to just turn on the beside reading lights. I accidentally turned on the "privacy" while trying to turn on the lights and our room did not get serviced as a result. But the efficient staff sorted this out later.

The pool is warm, but very small - more a lap pool.

Dinner at the lobby bar was great. Apart from loud music - and not even music in keeping with the era of an art deco building?

Overall a nice stay, but a few quirky things which need ironing out to make this a great place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tripping_Taylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell Morrow, Guest Services / Front Office at Primus Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Tripping_Taylors,

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to review your stay with us. I appreciate the areas that you have pointed out where improvements could be made.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the quiet room, comfortable bed and our pillow menu, I am also thrilled to receive feedback that all interactions you had with our staff were friendly and efficient as we pride ourselves on our ability to provide luxury five star service.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the style and volume of the music played throughout the hotel, we have since made appropriate amendments to suit the time of the day and ambiance we aspire to attain.

I apologise that you experienced a few issues with the features in the room. We do have a privacy blind located above the frosted glass to avoid any issues when sharing the room with others. However, during your next stay with us please don’t hesitate to contact the front desk at any time if you are having issues with the lights or the television, as our staff will be happy to assist you to ensure you have a seamless stay.

Once again, I would like to sincerely thank you for your feedback and I look forward to you staying with us at the Primus Hotel for you next Sydney CBD holiday.

Mitchell Morrow
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews