We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
US$59
View deal
Booking.comUS$73
Expedia.comUS$73
PricelineUS$69
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
85
157
107
44
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
157
107
44
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town todd mall central location location is excellent room was large rooms are clean secure parking stayed for nights red centre great place to stay tavern uncle stumps motel alice supermarket nats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2021

Due to the unexpected illness of my wife I stayed at The Diplomat for just over a month. The hotel delivers what it promises - Comfortable, clean accommodation in the centre of town.
The attached cafe and tavern provide good value meals and the tavern a range of drinks to go with the meals. True Friday night karaoke can be a bit noisy but that is the only issue.
What set the Diplomat apart for me was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff from the reception to the housekeeping staff they were all great. I certainly would stay again.

Room tip: If you are staying Friday try to get a room at the back of the hotel.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JH044
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2021

Stayed at the Diplomat three times in four different rooms in the course of coming and going from Alice over a period of close to a month. I thought the service provided including standard of accommodation was excellent, especially given the very reasonable room rates. While the rooms were standard country-town motel style rooms, nothing opulent about them, they were spacious including the bathrooms (most of which had been recently renovated). Beds comfortable and wifi signal consistently strong. Location is excellent, right in the centre of town, and there was no problem with parking on the premises. We had no issues with security, as other guests had commented. Each time we stayed also received free coffee vouchers for the cafe downstairs and beverage vouchers for the bar. Would gladly return.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

The rooms were lovely, very spacious and clean. Nice comfortable beds and great pillows!
The general motel grounds were well kept, clean & tidy.
Staff at reception were lovely and helpful.
The location was good, in the center of town so easy to het to things.
Only downside was our room was located directly abovr the attached pub/tavern & it was Friday late night karaoke. So next time, I would request a quieter room. Apart from that though, love our stay there

Room tip: If on a weekend & you don’t like noise- request a room away from Uncle’s Tavern
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank BrookeBarwick26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2021 via mobile

Stay two nights either side of tour of area.

Basically in centre of town. A minutes walk to local Coles, woolworths and mall and a few minutes to river side.

Onsite cafe bar come breakfast area.

Separate pub/tavern on site with full food service.

24 hr reception.

Some rooms facing main street are over the pub area which can get noisy when the pub patrons get rowdy later in the evening.

I upgraded to rear quite area for 2nd night, it cost an additional $20.

Rooms are decent size with all expected amenities.

Whole property and rooms generally well maintained and clean.

Rooms generally well maintained and clean, though, I room I had the curtains needed a good clean which was only issue.

The other room was fine, but one small section of skirting board looks like it was overlooked in the last paint job.

Recommended for reasonably priced centrally located stay with close access to all facilities

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2021 via mobile

Stayed there for three nights and it was just so convenient for us. Located right in the city centre and close to supermarkets and restaurants. Spacious accommodation. Housekeepers work really hard that I really appreciated.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sukitsang188
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews