We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great easy meal and good place to watch the footy”
Review of Gillen Club

Gillen Club
Ranked #28 of 104 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We came here twice during our stay in Alice Springs. Great place to watch the State of Origin and perfect if you have kids as there is a huge play area out the back for them. Food is great value and the club is generally pretty busy. Locals are all friendly and happy to have a chat.

1  Thank Mjs181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Love eating here. Relaxed atmosphere, good customer service and seating and lighting is food. Reasonably priced menu and good selection. Pokies and tab available. Worth a visit.

1  Thank gina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Hi Gina, Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. It is encouraging to receive your feedback and we hope to see you again soon at the Gillen Club.

Kyle Pearson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

A very busy family friendly club in suburb of Alice. I had a great calamari salad albeit we had to stand in line for about 30min and then 40min for the meal. The other 3 meals for family were a little heavy on meat and were not really salad bar suitable - but veggies were not an option.

Thank auriel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Hi Auriel B,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review of the Gillen Club.

We do indeed get busy at times & wait times are experienced. We strive to improve on this continually however sometimes it is unavoidable.

We thank you for your patience on this occasion & hope to see you again soon at the Gillen Club

Warm Regards,

Kyle Pearson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

I went to the Gillen Club with family and friends - we had children with us aged from 1 - 14. The indoor and outdoor play areas kept the children amused before and after dinner. The meals were reasonably priced and took long enough for the adults to be able to have a chat before they were ready but not do long that we were wondering if they were catching the fish or plucking the chook. The meals were quite large and no one was left starving and they were very tasty. The children were also provided with a kids pack that had a free icecream and colouring activities.

You can become a member if you live locally (I have) or if you are a visitor you show your licence on entry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 198paulinev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi PaulineV,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Gillen Club. It's great to hear you have had a positive experience.
We look forward to seeing you agin soon.

Regards,

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

I visited the Gillen Club on Saturday for the steak sandwich and drink special. The steak sandwich was excellent and came relatively quickly. It came with a side of chips. Excellent value.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grantbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi Grantbut,

Thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience.

We hope to see you again soon at the Gillen Club.

Regards,

Kyle Pearson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gillen Club also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Gillen Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing