We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$104
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreamsUS$104
Trip.comUS$105
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,623)
Filter reviews
2,625 results
Traveller rating
475
905
680
355
210
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
475
905
680
355
210
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa room desert moon outback bbq sunset viewing petrol station remote location viewing area short drive red centre dining options central australia breakfast was included stayed two nights thirsty dingo bar rim bistro platform
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 2,625 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

This is my 2nd visit to kings canyon and staying at the kings canyon resort. Accomodation is comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and ample. The pool is a welcome relief to cool off after the canyon rim walk.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sallyh358
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle Ikin, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

thank you Sallyh358
we are happy you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us in the magnificent Watarrka National Park
regards
Michelle Ikin
General Manager
Kings Canyon Resort & Holiday Park
E: mikin@delwarenorth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

We were upgraded to a deluxe room with an indoor tub so the room was bigger than a standard room, which was very nice. We appreciate it. This place is the only place to stay if you are doing the Kings Canyon Rim walk or other hikes. Carmichael is the only food option or breakfast and dinner so it gets old. We only stayed 2 nights so it wasn’t bad.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Inlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle Ikin, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Thank you for your review of your 2 night stay with us in the heart of the Red Centre's Watarrka National Park
Regards
Michelle Ikin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020

I’ll start with all the good stuff. The array of accommodation at the isolated region of Kings Canyon isn’t huge, so this is a good quality choice. The complex is set out in a square, one side of which has no road in front of it, which makes it nice and quiet. You leave your car in the car park on the corner and walk along a boardwalk to your lodge room.

The rooms are a good size, with a nice little balcony overlooking bushland. Reasonably clean (don’t look too carefully in the corners).

The swimming pool is really lovely, and during our stay in early February just cool enough to be refreshing. An extremely large lizard lives in the grass and shrubs nearby and we spent a happy hour watching him stalk around, hunting insects, and being attacked by alarmed magpies. Very entertaining.

My main criticism would be “first impressions”. The reception area is spacious and cool and everything seemed to be fine. We were told we could park outside our room “if there was space”” ... but soon found that we couldn’t, as there was no road along that side of the complex.

We tried to book dinner for 8pm, after the much anticipated sunset, but were told by the receptionist that this wasn’t possible as there was a large group booked in at that time. So we opted for 7.45pm. Hence we cut short our time on the very nice sunset viewing platform and hurried back ... Called in at reception to ask if we could drive to Carmichael’s, to save a few minutes, where we had our booking. No, we are told, because it’s a one-way system round the complex. But how can that be, says I, if one side of the square has no road. Yes, there’s a road, I’m told, at which point I begin to question my sanity.

So we go back to the car park, race along the boardwalk, and arrive panting at the restaurant, apologising for our lateness, and hoping we can still get our order in before the large group arrived. “What large group?” says the restaurant manager. “No group bookings tonight”.

At this point I’m getting really angry!

A little research reveals that there is a one-way system around the reception building, but not around the complex and yes, we could easily have driven down to the restaurant.

All in all, our first evening was ruined by this receptionist, who didn’t appear to have ever actually walked or driven round the hotel. It was all dead weird. Like walking into the Twilight Zone!!

Anyway, my other gripe would be that half the facilities were shut for the off-season, including the Thirsty Dingo Bar, the Dining Under the Desert Moon and the BBQ. This was really disappointing, especially as there was no mention of this on the website. Carruthers though did open extremely early for those heading out of the rim walk, which is absolutely fabulous. And the salads were extremely good, considering the remoteness of the region. Wines were excellent too.

NB the Happy Hour selection is extremely narrow, so check before you buy as most drinks remain at full price.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janthefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle Ikin, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Thank you Janthefan for your detailed comments about your recent stay with us .
I am sorry that incorrect information was given to you by our new staff. I am happy to discuss your stay with you if your prefer , please feel free to contact me personally at any time .
Regards
Michelle Ikin
08 8956 7442
E: mikin@delawarenorth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Campground at kings Canyon
We were lucky it was was so hot there wasn't many people around and pretty much had the place to ourselves. I especially loved having the en-suite next to our camper. I didn't get the name of the person at reception but he was very welcoming and friendly. It was a really nice place to visit but you are remote so don't expect to get WIFI. Not that you really need it it was such a lovely place to be.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisTaylerNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle I, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Thanks ChrisTaylerNT for your review of your recent stay in our Campground . Lovely to read you enjoyed the en suite site and our staff were welcoming and friendly
Kind regards
Michelle Ikin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

Stayed here for 1 night on our road trip, great friendly check in, we were upgraded from a budget room to a standard which was ok, it was surprisingly quiet so that made sense for the upgrade.Nice little pool area, towels supplied so a good saving on taking your own.Room had a smell,soon learnt it was the shower drain, don't check your mattress,got a shock at the state of ours, threadbare,but too exhausted to complain,anyway where would they find a new one!!! Restaurant I felt a bit restricted & overpriced,but not a lot of choice in the area, lovely staff though, great size of room, just needs freshening up, C'mon guy's stop sitting on your laurel's!!!

Room tip: Be brave and check the bed first!!
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle I, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Thank you Marie M for your review of your upgraded stay with us . We are undergoing our refurbishments very soon and appreciate your feedback . Please feel free to contact me personally for any comments .
Regards
Michelle Ikin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews