We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty depressing”
Review of Crocodylus Park

Crocodylus Park
Ranked #34 of 135 things to do in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

I've got to say, the poor animals kept in tiny squallored conditions here really made me depressed. It just stinks of ammonia to the point your nostrils burn.

Guess I shouldn't really care seeming I get to leave after half an hour or so but because I'm a natural caring human being it does get me down knowing these animals won't ever know anything else

I've experienced better in third World Countries and I think that's saying something

1  Thank Someholidayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame W, Owner at Crocodylus Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Well ... sorry we obviously did not meet your expectations. Suspect the "ammonia" smell you are referring to is due to the thousands of waterbirds that use Crocodylus Park as a dry season refuge. Many people get pleasure out of being surrounded with wild birds, but there is a "olfactory" cost to pay. Such is nature. By comparison, the crocodiles are "clean". You should also remember that part of our education package is about the role of crocodile farming as against a single show animal in an exhibit. Farming plays a critical role in conservation, but the linakage is not well understood by the general public. Thanks for letting us know anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"croc feeding"
in 54 reviews
"big cats"
in 23 reviews
"crocodile meat"
in 19 reviews
"boat tour"
in 30 reviews
"exotic animals"
in 10 reviews
"admission price"
in 10 reviews
"natural habitat"
in 9 reviews
"feeding times"
in 10 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 10 reviews
"on display"
in 12 reviews
"wet season"
in 10 reviews
"visiting darwin"
in 8 reviews
"adelaide river"
in 9 reviews
"monkeys"
in 86 reviews
"zoo"
in 124 reviews
"creatures"
in 34 reviews
"handlers"
in 13 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Decided to do the tourist thing and go to Crocodylus Park before leaving Darwin. The park wasn’t too bad - definitely enjoyed the crocodile enclosure and feeding time, in addition to holding a baby croc - was well worth it. Unfortunately the rest of the park, looks tired and run down and despite the positives, the entrance fee is definitely over inflated.

Thank Optimistic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame W, Owner at Crocodylus Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thanks for letting us know and glad you enjoyed the crocodile experience! Cyclone Marcus created havoc with everything and insurance only now being received and put back into much needed repairs. We are all hoping tourism in the Top End will pick up, after an 11 year decline, so we can invest more in upgrading some of the exhibits, to the standard of the great ew new lion exhibit and waterfall. Thanks for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

What a great place this was to visit !
The animals are clean and cared for which is always my first priority.
And the park itself is so clean and cared for too.
It’s easy to see the animals are happy and loved. Even the crocodiles responded to our fantastic tour operator Danni when she called them by name. If I hadn’t seen it myself I probably would have found it hard to believe. Thanks again Danni !!!
She was so informative, fun and friendly.
It was great to listen to someone who clearly knew what she was talking about and answered every question we asked.
The boat ride and crocodile jumping was really amazing.
We enjoyed every second.
To be honest we have been to another crocodile park in another state and enjoyed ourselves but this park has it all.
It’s not a massive place but it’s big enough to easily spend a few hours.
We went on to see the crocs in their breeding pens. Such a great set up !
You actually walk above these guys and can look down on them it’s such a great way to observe them.
The park has all sorts of creatures great and small.
From tiny baby turtles to huge magnificent lions, gorgeous curious meerkats and cheeky monkey families.
It truly does offer something for everyone young and old.
I was quite literally astounded by the love and care and consideration shown to the welfare of each and every animal.
Ian was just as informative with the lions and other animals as Danni was with her crocs.
He spoke with passion and knowledge and was wonderful to listen to and learn from.
Thanks so much Ian !!
I highly recommend visiting this park if you are in Darwin. Myself and my partner and our 16 year old son weren’t disappointed in the least.
And not only that it’s affordable !!!
Good on you all for running such an amazing zoo
We will be back again next year and we will definitely be returning to Crocodylus Park !!

Thank CherieandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame W, Owner at Crocodylus Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind and complementary words. The tour guides simply do a remarkable job and strive so hard to both impart knowledge and entertain - it truly is a challenge. The zookeepers, landscaping staff, construction staff and crocodile management staff all work together to ensure the animals are cared for and the Park itself, which is always growing, is maintained in a good state. A family company with and staff all sharing our vision. Thanks so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit - it is important to us all .... we look forward to your next visit!o

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

This is a nice clean tidy small zoo/crocodile farm. Saw plenty of crocs and other zoo animals. The zoo has a few hands on animal encounters and several animal feeding sessions. If you get a chance pay the extra and take the crocodile cruise. It doesn't cost that much extra but is worth the trip.

1  Thank SHOOTERGAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame W, Owner at Crocodylus Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thanks for the "heads up". In a remote location like Darwin, with a small population size, there are limits to what we can invest (everything we can!) to ensure Darwin kids and visitors can have a true zoo experience, and do not have to fly thousands of kilometres to see a monkey, lion or tiger. Then of curse, of course, the crocodiles. A truly iconic species in the "Top End", where we have contributed more than most to the science involved in every aspect of their "secret lives". We are indeed proud of what we have achieved, and always glad to know we've helped you have a memorable experience. Thanks for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

This is a great location to visit to see crocodiles and other animals.

Adult Entry Price - $40

You could be one of the lucky ones to feed the crocodiles during their feeding times.

The handlers were great and explained things about the animals.

There are feedings for lions, monkeys and crocodiles.

There is a separate boat tour with a tour guide twice a day in a lagoon to see crocodiles in their natural habitat. There is a limit to seats in the boat so I suggest booking a time as part of your entry. This cost for Adults was $15

You have the ability to sit with Meercats and feed them in their enclosure ( I believe there was a limit of 2 people at a time and is $65 for 1 or $100 for 2 people)

They also have a free museum to look through and have a cafe and souvenir shop.

You can spend as little or as much time exploring the park and viewing the animals.

The handlers do bring out baby crocodiles and snakes which you are able to hold and have family pictures taken.

We thoughly enjoyed the day and experience of interacting with the animals and believe it is a must see if you come to Darwin.

The park is approx 15-20mins drive from the CBD in Darwin and approx 5mins drive from Berrimah.

Thank ozguyinqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame W, Owner at Crocodylus Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thanks so much for letting others and ourselves know about Crocodylus. There is really a lot to do there, and to experience and learn about. So glad you enjoyed it. makes all our efforts worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crocodylus Park also viewed

 

Been to Crocodylus Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing