We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back....fantastic”

Original Dave's Low & Slow BBQ
Ranked #872 of 5,008 Restaurants in Brisbane
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We visited tonight after reading an article on Urban List....we were not disappointed. We ordered the chicken wings and then the Family BBQ feast for 5 adults. We had a choice of sauces for the wings and choose the blueberry chipotle smokey sauce....delicious!!!! The feast platter was more than ample to feed us with some leftovers to enjoy tomorrow. Topped it off with pecan pie & apple pie all homemade of course. The staff were friendly and happy and the service was quick. Great to meet the owner Dave and have a chat....great place to get your fix of smokeyness heaven. Thanks for a great meal and value for money ...approx $40pp

Thank Tehnae F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalDaves, Owner at Original Dave's Low & Slow BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Tehnae,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. The family BBQ is a popular choice as you get to sample everything. The chicken wings with the Blueberry sauce (off menu sauce made in house) is also wildly popular.

We try to give value for money and glad you appreciate it. Hope to see you again!

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017

Desperate for some good barbecue, so headed to Original Dave's (accept NO imitations!!!) There were only three other people seated when we arrived, so we figured that the food would come quickly...
We order a G&T and an Asahi beer...and waited...and waited. Then we were advised the "beer man hadn't been today" so no Asahi. Say what???? How do you run out of beer?
So I reordered and then waited for our Frickles entree. And waited.... And waited....
When they did arrive it was big enough for both of us and very tasty.
So then we waited for our main...and, lo, it arrived!
We ordered the 'Threes a Crowd' and I think you could easily feed two adults and two kids, or three adults - there was more than enough food!
The brisket was very tasty, if a tad dry, but the puller pork was superb - we also substituted our Alabama white sauce for Dave's Almost Famous bbq sauce, and it too was delicious. All the sides were great, although the 5 alarm chilli was probably closer to a 2 alarm affair. Having said that, the Cowboy caviar was a revelation, in a good way.
Would we go back? Yes. Was the service too slow? es, particularly given it was so empty when we arrived. is it acceptable to have run out of a popular beer at 6:00pm on a Sunday night? Not really. Things need to tighten up at Original Dave's - the food is great and the service is friendly, but it needs to be more efficient.
We will be going back, to see if things have improved, because the food is sooooo good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalDaves, Owner at Original Dave's Low & Slow BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Hi Alistair,

Sorry to hear you were kept waiting. So I can look into this more can you let me know what day and time you visited? You indicated Sunday but we are not open Sunday.

Also, We ran out of Asahi because I made a decision to no longer carry it. It wasn't selling. Server may not have known this. My apologies.

We are very happy you enjoyed your food and would love to see you again. We are a new business anbd have tightened up dramatically this is why I am curious what day and time you came so I can look into staffing levels etc.

Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Menu looked good. Chose chicken wings appetizer. Ordered half giant ribs for $26.
Ribs (actually rib) arrived and I thought I must have ordered a children's meal.
Seriously !! One rib bone with one piece of meat. $26 ???
Very poor value.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hughie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalDaves, Owner at Original Dave's Low & Slow BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. We wish you had the opportunity to speak with us before you leave as we seek feedback from every table as a new restaurant we are constantly looking to improve. To address your comments on here, although we are sorry to hear you thought the portion was small, each rib weighs between 250 to 300 grams and is competitively priced compared to what you would pay at other BBQ restaurants with 2 side dishes. The menu also clearly states that it is a 1 rib dinner so we are not sure from your comments if you were surprised to receive a 1 rib dinner? For $6 more you could have had an extra rib which is usually more than enough for even the biggest appetite. We hope you will give us another chance to impress you in the future. The feedback we receive is overwhelmingly positive but we want every customer to be happy with our food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Visited for the second time last night with friends and tried the chicken wings, baby back ribs, halloumi skewers & fixens of fries, mac cheese, slaw and chilli.

The food was very tasty, in particular, the ribs were fall off the bone and delicious.

The owner seems really decent and took on our feedback from our first visit, to add a few veggie options. He also comes to check on your experience and seems to genuinely appreciate feedback.

If you are considering visiting - go for it - the food is really good, but (as with any fresh BBQ eatery) the food does take a while to arrive. We are cool with that as the food was delicious. Just be patient and enjoy the drinks whilst waiting :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ivyleague10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalDaves, Owner at Original Dave's Low & Slow BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you have decided to visit us again. We are continually looking to add more vegetarian options and are playing around with Jackfruit at the moment although we are having difficulty getting it right so not sure if or when it will make an appearance. We are always looking for suggestions and ideas and our smoked vegetable pasta sauce is a hit.
Look forward to seeing you again and thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Decided to try this place as my partner loves American BBQ. Certainly didn't disappoint. We decided on the "Three's a crowd' so that we could sample the brisket, pulled pork, ribs, chicken, sausage etc. Lots of flavour depth and soooo tasty. The meat was all delicious and the 'fixens' pretty damn good too. Of course there was WAY too much food - we could have shared with another couple and still had leftovers. The 'frickles' were an experience and not too bad either. We'll be back for more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OriginalDaves, Owner at Original Dave's Low & Slow BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

The 3's a crowd platter is a popular choice and great value. Very rarely does it come back completely finished. We are glad you enjoyed and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Dave's Low & Slow BBQ also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Original Dave's Low & Slow BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing