We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great location”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #29 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
409 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great location”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

First off, the location is fantastic for shopping. Just a short walk to the mall and café's and right across the road from the gardens.
The staff were excellent, as soon as I arrived I was greeted and the lady who checked me in was friendly and gave advice on what attractions were around the hotel and general hotel info. Every staff member I encountered was always friendly and said hi.
The hotel is pretty good too, The room was a good size, modern and clean with a view over the gardens. The beds were comfy and wi-fi is available at a cost.
The buffet breakfast was also great with a good variety of options.
I was here for a conference and was also impressed with the conference room and professionalism of the staff.
Overall, I would definitely stay here again, good service and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_WLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent review with us!

I will be sure to share your feedback with our team members – they all work so hard to ensure everyone one of our guests is treated like royalty.

From September 1st, we have also removed all charges for WiFi. WiFi is now free, with no download limits and no speed restrictions for all guests of the hotel – just one more reason to make Royal on the Park your home away from home.

Kind Regards,

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    457
    143
    30
    20
See reviews for
248
452
76
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
killarney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Our family spent two nights at Royal on the Park overlooking the Botanical gardens. The location is very convenient with the Queen St Mall within walking distance and all forms of public transport such as bus station and train station handy too. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and I found their service to be second to none. The rooms are very clean and tidy with my only one fault being the tv's were a little touchy, with the remote being a little hard to get to work.We didn't dine in the Walnut restaurant as we had a small child with us but there are hundreds of different eateries all within walking distance.The look of the Royal is very elegant and the foyer and restaurant are just beautiful. I would definitely stay at the Royal again simply because of the wonderful staff members. My husband couldn't believe that we couldn't hear any traffic noise at night time, the rooms are very soundproof so this is also a great feature

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent comments with us!

It was great for us to learn that our hotel exceeded your expectations. We are also pleased to advise that we are currently reviewing our in room movie system and we do hope to roll out a new, state of the art digital entertainment option to all rooms before the end of 2012. This will also accommodate the replacement of all TV remotes in the hotel.

I was pleased to see that your husband’s rest was not interrupted by any noise, just this year we concluded the installation of 12mm secondary glazing into all guests rooms to protect the tranquility of our hotel rooms.

Kind Regards,

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Just spent 3 nights at Royal on the Park with my 18 year old daugther and had a great time. Lovely room overlooking the Gardens, great location, short walk into the city centre. Front Desk staff were very helpful and friendly, we could not fault the hotel and would definetly return and recommend to friends travelling to Brisbane. We had the buffet breakfast on our last morning and it was an awesome breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarkule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback!

I am pleased to read that our hotel lived up to your expectations in every way. Our team certainly does ensure that ‘Service comes first’ and hopefully after your experience with us this time, we will be your hotel of choice for all your future visits to our Beautiful City.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back

Regards,


Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

I know the hotel has been "refurbished" but the corridors haven't, and mainly resemble a hostel not hotel. Everything except the location and breakfast is pretty much average. Except for the disabled parking! That's ridiculous, there's no facility, parking being at the far end of the hotel block, and up/down quite steep ramps.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review

I was pleased to see that you found our location good, however there certainly are aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations – and I do offer my sincere apology for this.
With regards to our refurbishments, majority of our refurbishment program is completed. However with Brisbane accommodation demand so high, it’s sometimes difficult for us to get the time to complete all our renovation wishes at once. This was the reason for the corridors to look incomplete as our team was carrying out some refurbishment work during your stay.

I am also surprised that parking was not available in front of the entrance. I do apologize for this as we do offer valet parking and this is very reasonably priced at $30.00, comparing to other Brisbane hotels.

If you do wish to discuss any other aspects of your stay, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly on 07 3221 3411.

Thank you once again for your stay with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Thank you again

Kind Regards


Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUEENSLAND
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Well this was our 5th trip back to the Royal on the Park and it only seems to bet better and better. The service and friendliness of all staff members, from reception, Walnut Restaurant and housekeeping is outstanding. The Breakfast is wonderful as well. Thanks guys, you make it worth the money. We only comet down every couple of years and make a weekend of it, but this Hotel is so close to the Queen Street Mall, some great coffee shops and eateries are nearby and its just a short walk to the Casino and Southbank, not to mentioned lovely botanical gardens across the road. Thanks again for a great stay Royal on the Park, we will be back.

Room Tip: We always upgrade to a Park View Room, it overlooks Botanical Gardens, rooms are really very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for your stay with us at Royal on the Park.

I was so pleased to read that you couldn’t rate us high enough. I will be sure to pass on my personal thanks to our teams on your behalf for achieving our mission of ”Where service comes first”.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 km away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
977 reviews
0.2 km away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
928 reviews
0.2 km away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#63 of 157 in Brisbane
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
610 reviews
0.2 km away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,533 reviews
0.6 km away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: 152 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price range (per night): $76 - $338
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing