We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service, dated rooms with average bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Ranked #32 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We really enjoyed the location, right on top of Brisbane's Central Station. The early check in was greatly appreciated at 8.30am. The breakfast buffet was nice with a very good spread. The room itself was very nice, though you could see it was pretty dated. This was both good, with windows that could open, and bad, with a very old bathroom. The showerhead couldn't move, it wasn't a rain shower or a body shower, just a plain shower/bath combo like in an apartment.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Waylon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Bonjour Waylon K,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. We truly appreciate all feedback as it serves as a welcome reminder that there is always room for improvement.
We currently have several renovation projects that will be underway within the next 18 months, including lift upgrades and the refurbishment of the restaurant. Whilst we don’t have any plans for room renovations in the foreseeable future, your suggestions will be taken into consideration once we are ready to make these changes.
I am glad to hear your stay was otherwise enjoyable, and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 4,275 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I only wish I had taken photos of their food . Prawns were to die for. Not in to buffet, but there was 7 of us. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves and like me....feel like a little pig....beautiful arrangement of food. Drinks were topped up and plates were cleared. If going to Brissy its a MUST.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Got2try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Bonjour Got2try,

It's great to hear you and your group had such a wonderful experience in our Thyme2 buffet restaurant. It's only going to get bigger and better as we get closer to Christmas, and we have some exciting changes coming early next year. Keep an eye out for them! We have plenty of photos on our Instagram and Facebook pages for you to share with your friends and family until you have the chance to come back and take some photos of your own! Don't forget to tag us as well.
We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I can’t help feeling that the standard has slipped at the Sofitel Brisbane. We had a late arrival after a lengthy flight, of which the hotel was aware, only to find our room in darkness and the air conditioning set to an icy temperature (the gauge said 15 degrees but it felt even colder). The entrance to the hotel was dimly lit at 12.30am with no staff to assist with our suitcases from the taxi, surprising from a 5 Star hotel with 24 hour reception. We were told that late check out may be possible (nice) but that we should call reception in the morning to confirm- with our late check in, it would have been nice if this was automatically confirmed rather than left up to us to chase up later.

We enjoyed a cup of coffee in the room before retiring but we were surprised that there are no complimentary biscuits to accompany the coffee. Many 3 and 4 Star hotels offer such treats, rather than (or in addition to) expecting guests to buy products from the mini bar.

Noise was an issue in the room- plumbing from the adjoining room could be heard on several occasions. But worse was the 7am room service guy knocking and talking loudly in the hallway while delivering breakfast to a nearby room.

All in all we were not impressed with our latest stay at Sofitel and will be looking to stay elsewhere for our next Brisbane visit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank nicenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Hadn't stayed here for about 6 months having made a point of trying some new places on my last couple of visits due to my previous experiences here, overall the stay was pleasant enough but standards have certainly slipped.

Internet is actually usable now! Used to have atrocious internet but the promised upgrade seems to have been delivered as no issues whatsoever this time around.

Received a voucher for 2 welcome drinks but was treated quite rudely by the barman when redeeming, and denied a G&T (which he had already poured) despite this being the only drink I've ever ordered with the vouchers on my visits 4-6 times a year.

Treatment for platinum members has reduced, with the welcome gift a bottle of water and a small boxed pastry. This has noticeably declined over the past 12 months to the point where the welcome gifts at some Novotels and a Mercure have been better! The guest relations call a day or prior to checkin to confirm the booking and any special requirements which was a nice touch, has also ceased.

The executive lounge breakfast has improved with the addition of eggs to order, however the canapes selection at night has reduced with the hot food replaced by a small plate served to your table. The hot food is generally better than what was previously in the buffet though. Breakfast time I ended up with a table full of used crockery over 1/2 hour not cleared.

The club floor room was great and had no issues here, everything was functional and clean, and the rooms are very well appointed.

After years of consistently great stays here its a bit more hit and miss now. They still do most things right but I miss the old levels of service. Usually spend a week in Brisbane around xmas time with the family at this hotel (my other stays are work) and we have made other arrangements this year due to this.

Room Tip: high floor city side offers nice views over Anzac Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eggie168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Bonjour eggie168,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback following your most recent stay with us. Firstly, I want to thank you for your loyalty to Accor Hotels, and as a Platinum member your feedback is incredibly important to us.
I'm sorry we were unable to meet the expectations you have from previous stays with us. Consistent service is a standard we expect of all our ambassadors, and it's very disappointing that we have failed to deliver on this occasion.
I have shared your feedback with the relevant department heads to address within their teams and take the appropriate action. As the changes to the Club Lounge are quite recent, all suggestions are taken into consideration moving forward.
Our Guest Relations Executives are always happy to discuss feedback in further detail, and I encourage you to speak with one of them on (07) 3835 3535 or H5992-GR1@sofitel.com.
We would like nothing more than to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Well.. what can I say.. I am a lucky ADV+ member to get a free night at the best hotel in Brisbane!!
I had things to do elsewhere in Qld....but my return flight to Perth was from Brisbane...late in the day..so I was granted a 3 pm check out from a luxury27 floor room..with gracious conduct by all staff..WHAT AN EXPERIENCE...dinner..mmmmm; brekky.. I could not eat all that on offer....an experience not to be forgotten!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Bonjour Harry L,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review following your recent stay with us. We're very lucky to have you as part of our Accor Plus family, and your loyalty is truly appreciated. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our facilities so much, and that our ambassadors were able to help you get the rest you needed before a long flight!
Thanks again, and I hope we can meet on your next retreat.

Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 170 in Brisbane
2,520 reviews
0.2 km away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
0.6 km away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#28 of 170 in Brisbane
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 170 in Brisbane
1,225 reviews
0.8 km away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#34 of 170 in Brisbane
3,054 reviews
1.4 km away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#10 of 170 in Brisbane
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Address: 249 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $185 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel's reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 elegantly appointed rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing