We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and comfortable”
Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stay at the Sebel Suites in Brisbane on a regular basis. Reception is getting better at recognising me, which I appreciate, but they are always courteous and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and the room-service good (with fairly regular changes to the menu). Most rooms have a balcony, but not all. The main problem I have found is that in the basic (non-suite) room, the TV is above the desk, which makes it difficult to work and watch TV. The beds and room lighting are good, but not great. One disappointment: the balconies have no outdoor furniture.

Room Tip: There is construction going on towards the north and the east, with tall buildings all around. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTravelers-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear OzTravelers-2010, many thanks for your kind review and for your loyalty. We particularly appreciate feedback from our regular guests as they know us well enough to notice small changes - either things we have improved or areas requiring focus. Some of our regulars even know our staff better than we do! Our studio rooms only comprise 24% of the total, with the remainder being one bedroom apartment-style suites, that feature a private balcony and more relaxed television viewing position in a separate lounge. We acknowledge your comment regarding balcony furniture, however we have also balanced this against potential risks which have been identified at other high-rise buildings. Unfortunately, this has led our decision not to include exterior furnishings at this stage, although we agree that our balconies are a fabulous location from which to survey Brisbane, Queensland's River City. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    410
    135
    24
    13
See reviews for
208
301
68
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I was disappointed with two issues in regard to my recent stay. Positives first, the checkin desk staff were pleasant, efficient and helpful. Also the room was quite nice. That is where it ended. I was made to feel embarrassed in the restaurant when dining at breakfast. I did mention specifically that I hadn't eaten there before, however I obviously misunderstood the ordering system (either order or buffet - not both). I was humiliated when I went to the buffet as well as ordering from the menu. This was despite my booking covering breakfast (whatever I want - my company is happy to pay). I did ask the waitperson to check my booking but by then it was too late. Also, very disappointed with housekeeping services. I unfortunately left approx $60 of new toiletries in my bathroom when I checked out. One item was in a sealed box never opened. When I checked next day, it was reported that "housekeeping didn't report anything left in the room". I would have expected the items to be held for me to retrieve. I understand people leaving things behind is difficult to manage, however these items were obviously not rubbish. I won't stay again unless I have no other option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlasteredDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear PlasteredDuck, Thank you for providing us with this valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear that our team at Reception were helpful and that you also found your room to be pleasant. With regard to confusion over breakfast ordering, we are very sorry to have caused you any embarrassment. As a result, we have reminded our restaurant staff to ensure they fully explain the buffet concept to all diners to avoid a recurrence. We have re-checked all lost property and regrettably cannot locate any items which match the description of your toiletries. If you would be so kind as to make contact with me, we would naturally be happy to reimburse you to the value of $60 so you can replace this personal item. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We chose this for its location and price. We were not disappointed. While the room has been refurbished, Some parts retain their retro styling like the bathroom, but you don't spend much time there so it doesn't really matter.
Views were amazing from the room we had, I can recommend the hotel for anyone wanting centrally located base to explore the city from.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sr1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Sr1992, Many thanks for your feedback following your recent visit. We are delighted to hear that you found our central Brisbane location favourable and we look forward to seeing you again on a future occasion. We have refurbished our studios and suites within the last few years, with the exception of our bathrooms. However, we are planning to update the bathroom area later this year, which we are sure will look great when completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Booked in for Christmas night through wotif.com.au it was a mystery hotel and we were not told which hotel it would be until payment, which was fine as the star rating was good so we felt confident we were in for a great night, NOT SO. Our overnight room only rate was $157.00 for two people and I paid an EXTRA $100.00 for our two daughters to join us & $28.00 for parking, still fine at this point, arrive at the Sebal at about 3.30-4.00pm all excited and happy, book in, go up to room, disappointment sets in bigtime, tired looking room & decor, discover we have paid $100.00 for our 2 daughters (aged 25 & 15) to sleep together on a dinghy old pull-out sofa bed which was uncomfortable to sit on (let alone try & sleep on) with bits of something (hard plastic??)sticking in to the back of my leg when I sat down, we had a tiny balcony which was ok but not a single chair (plastic or otherwise) to sit on while on the balcony. Had never been to the Sebal before and safe to say we will never be going again and will be recommending against this hotel to anyone who will listen. We do not blame wotif for this experience as we use them regularly and have never been let down like this before, spent two nights down at the Mantra at Kingscliffe two weeks after Christmas for our anniversary, booked through wotif.com paid $105.00 per night which included breakfast for two both mornings, a buy one get one free drink voucher & parking and it was a magic time in a stunning room with spa bath, balcony with two chairs and two sun lounges. Spent a night at the Grand Chancellor Brisbane on Saturday night the 21st of January 2012 and it was just gorgeous, great discounted rate, brekky for two, a two for one drink voucher & parking, (this was not booked through wotif.com).

Room Tip: avoid the Sebal at all costs and it will cost you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear bjwill, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. Our pricing and bedding arrangements are displayed on our own website and those of our booking partners, such as Wotif.com, however we are sorry to hear that this visit did not meet your expectations in terms of value. We encourage travellers to consider all factors when selecting a hotel - including facilities, service, location, price and travel dates. Please feel free to contact me personally when you are next travelling to Brisbane and I will make every effort to ensure you receive excellent value, based on these considerations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights in January 2012, and through a combination of small irritations and one major service disaster, had one of the most disappointing hotel experiences I've ever encountered.
I chose the Sebel because it was well-located, was four-star rated, and because I wanted a serviced apartment where I could cook if I chose. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment with balcony. The room itself was spacious, if a little tired-looking (I was on the ninth floor and there was no view to speak of, the bathroom was fairly ordinary and the kitchen was not as new or as well-equipped as other serviced apartments I've stayed in). However, over the next few days there were a number of minor irritations which, in combination, began to have a real impact on my enjoyment of my stay.
For example, when I got to the room the compendium was missing, so the only way I could read about the hotel's services was to go through them on the television, which was extremely laborious. It was not until I was half-way through cooking my evening meal that night that I discovered the kitchen had no frying pan, so I was forced to finish cooking using a saucepan. There was no coffee plunger in the room, and when I asked for one downstairs I was told that one was not available (unlike other serviced apartments I've stayed in). No newspaper was delivered on the first two mornings I stayed, despite a number of requests to reception. The airconditioning was broken in the room I was originally allocated (although it appeared to be working initially), so after a couple of sleepless nights I was forced to move rooms.
As I say, all fairly minor things in isolation, but in combination they began to make what should have been an enjoyable stay into a fairly ordinary one. However, the worst was yet to come.
On the second-last night I was due to stay at the Sebel, I arrived back to the room at around 5pm to find that my room had not been serviced that day. I called reception and was told that someone would be there in half an hour. I waited half an hour, but no-one arrived, so I went to the pool hoping they could service my room while I was out. When I got back to the room, the cleaner was there, and as I was due to head out for dinner that night, he suggested he come back in half an hour. I agreed, went out, and thought no more about it.
When I got back to my room that night, however, I discovered that the cleaner never apparently went back to the room - the kitchen had been 'cleaned', but the bathroom had not been serviced (there were still towels on the floor), and neither had the bedroom (the bed remained unmade). The bin from the kitchen sat in the corridor and there were plastic bags left on the kitchen bench. This was annoying, but it was not until I went to make myself a cup of tea that I discovered in the course of 'cleaning' the kitchen, he had also removed ALL of the groceries and other provisions I had purchased to have during my stay - breakfast provisions (bread, marmalade, fruit etc), coffee, tea, margarine, cheese - even half a bottle of wine I had left from the night before.
I was shocked, and felt quite violated by what he had done. I went around the apartment and discovered he had also thrown out some brochures I had collected during my stay, and some information about my flight home at the end of the week (fortunately, he had left my clothes and toiletries!). I immediately called reception, and the duty manager was quite apologetic, offering me a complimentary breakfast for the next morning and promising me he would look into it and have someone get back to me.
The next morning, after breakfast I did indeed receive a call from reception - not to apologise for what had happened the night before, or explain how it had happened, but to ask me when I would be checking out that day, notwithstanding that I was not in fact due to check-out until the following day (I had arranged to stay an extra night when I checked in, and had been told this was not a problem and had all been arranged). This was the last straw for me, and had it not been 36 degrees in Brisbane that day I would have checked out and gone to another hotel. As it was, I explained again what had happened with my things, and was told by reception that she would speak to the manager to see what they could do for me.
By now, I had had such a poor experience that the only way they could have made it up to me would have been to make the final night's stay complimentary. As it was, when I got back to my room that afternoon there was a card from the manager, apologising for the service I had experienced, together with two complimentary beers which he hoped "I would enjoy together with my last night at the Sebel". And when I went to check-out, I was indeed told that there was no more to pay (I had pre-paid the first five nights so it should only have been the extra night to pay). However, when I queried whether this meant the extra night was being made complimentary, the person at reception told me it was a mistake, and that I did in fact have to pay for the final night! Talk about adding insult to injury!
All in all, I was glad to leave and promised myself that I would never return. There are plenty of other decent serviced apartments in Brisbane. If an organisation like the Sebel that holds itself out as offering four-star service cannot recognise the seriousness of an incident like that which happened to me (or thinks it can be placated with a complimentary breakfast and a couple of beers), then I suggest you stay somewhere else. In future, I certainly will.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Stephen R

We very much appreciate your detailed feedback following your stay with us, however we are naturally very disappointed that our normally high service and satisfaction levels were clearly not on display for you on this occasion. Please accept my apologies and assurance that we will investigate the details of your commentary with a view to preventing any recurrence. I will be in contact with you shortly to arrange an appropriate gesture to compensate for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 km away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.4 km away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
0.3 km away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#13 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: Cnr Albert and Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price range (per night): $141 - $341
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing