We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom
from US$157.60
More Info
from US$157.60
More Info
Reviews (1,954)
Filter reviews
1,760 results
Traveller rating
1,463
203
57
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,463
203
57
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the great barrier reef fish upolu cay glass bottom boat fruit scuba diving sailing boat cheese and crackers day trip these guys prawns sand island plenty of food crew members life ring food was great reef sharks
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 1,760 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Friendly, funny, super helpful crew who did everything to make your day as great as possible, excellent and plenty of food provided all day long, group size is not too big, plenty of time for snorkelling, diving etc at 2 beautiful reef spots (6 hours in total at the reef)

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Manager at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Lisa, what lovely words, thank you kindly for sharing your experience and taking your time to write this review. It sounds like you had a fantastic day on the reef. We are proud to offer 6 hours of reef time during our day cruise and only just over an hour of travelling time to get to the reef and back. With all this time there is guaranteed no stress to see the reef.
We also provide food on the boat, with all the time snorkeling and diving you will need lots of energy, so on top of a light breakfast while boarding we also provide lunch and plenty of afternoon snacks.

Thank you again for taking your time to write this review and we hope you had a fantastic time in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

At the end of 10 days in Australia, our group decided unanimously that our excursion experience on Ocean Freedom was the highlight of our trip! One in our group could not swim, had a fear of water, yet, she listened to the expert crew...and low and behold went snorkeling both in the morning and afternoon dive. Can’t say enough about the professionalism of all staff. Particularly, Dave with 18 years experience. We motored for 2 hours out of Cairns to the Great Barrier Reef in the Coral sea. We had the option of snorkeling or scuba diving. Wow, swimming with Nemo, brightly colored starfish, sea turtles and the intrinsic beauty of live coral reefs...amazing!!
Don’t hesitate, definitely enjoy one of the truly world wonders.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Duckmaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Manager at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

What a wonderful review, thank you for taking your time to share your experience. It sounds like you had a great time out with the crew, especially Dave (who is called the Oracle for all his knowledge). We will make sure to pass on your kind words to him.
Fantastic to hear that everyone in your group enjoyed their day, our crew specializes in taking first time snorkellers and offer personal in-water crew assistance for those less experienced, so it is nice to hear that your group took up the offer and had a fantastic day.
Thank you again for taking your time and please come and say hello should you ever find yourself back in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing day on the boat and with the crew of Ocean Freedom!
The crew was well known and explained everything so good! I felt safe during my snorkeling trip and they were with us all the time and showed us the good spots with the cool stuff to see!

Definitely will come back and do it again! Amazing experience and by the way awesome food aswell!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Manager at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Cheers Julia for sharing your experience, sounds like you had a blast on the boat! Great to hear that the crew take care of everyone, they all are handpicked for their passion for customer care and their knowledge about the reef. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food as well, we have a wide array of food to cater for many different tastes.

We are looking forward to seeing you again on your return to Cairns, maybe on our sister vessel Ocean Free? :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

If you get a chance to go to the reef, make sure to go with the Ocean group. It will be one of the best experiences your of life. All the other reviews are spot on when they speak of outstanding crew, food, ratio of crew per passenger, amenities. Its all of that and more. The max quota of 75 person is absolutely wonderful as you get to experience the reef in a relaxed way with room to move. It really makes you feel like the day is yours. The snorkeling/dive experience will be unforgettable and you will be taken care of.
We went out on Anzac Day earlier this year and we were incredibly lucky to have a chance to swim with False Killer Whales. Besides this being a once in a lifetime experience for all the passengers and crew, I loved the fact that the captain was so very excited - he was shouting out to all snorkelers, to make sure nobody missed out on seeing these amazing mammals. Was absolutely fantastic!!!
I could go on about this group for a while... :) but I would highly recommend choosing to go out with the Ocean group. You will not regret it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Leena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Manager at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

What a fantastic experience, swimming with false killer whales. The crew has been reminiscing about this day, it was one of their favorite days as well, such a wonderful experience. Our skipper must have been thrilled, too. If there is an amazing animal (so pretty much any animal), we are trying to give every customer the chance to see it if the circumstances permit. We are approaching whale season now as well, so hopefully people travelling within the next couple of months will be lucky and be able to see some humpback whales on our way out to the reef, maybe even Migaloo the white humpback whale?
Thank you for sharing your experience on the boat, it is fantastic to hear that you found that everything our company stands for is what a day on the boat is like for real. Our crew is specially trained in customer service, the food we have is a wide array to suit different tastes, and our boat is not filled to the max, but we capped our numbers to ensure enough space for everyone to move around.
We hope should you ever find yourself in Cairns that you will come out with us again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Had a perfect day on a full day trip to the Great Barrier Reef. The staff was awesome and made you feel at ease if you were a novice and made accommodations for everyone based on experience level. Feed you throughout the day and simply made it fun. Also a great company to go with because it’s not going to be oversold and full of people. They have limits, I saw some other boats over crowded.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Manager at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

G'day Tom, thank you for this lovely review! Due to our high crew to passenger ratios, we can take our time chatting to all of our guests to make sure we understand their experience level before we help they get ready to snorkel and dive, so that we can assist those who need it, and just give tips and advice to those more confident. Our crew are all hand picked to ensure we maintain what we call our "freedom family" feel, as they all get along so well and love their jobs, creating a great atmosphere on board. We never fill our boats to full capacity, as we like our guests to have enough room for total relaxation! Thanks again, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews