We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple But Tasty Lunch”
Review of Salt House

Salt House
Ranked #70 of 667 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$36
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated at Marina Point, next to the Cairns Yacht Club facilities, Salt House is a unique dining, bar and entertainment venue offering a panoramic view of the ocean, marina and city on the waterfront in Cairns.
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Having just arrived in Cairns a couple of hours earlier, I decided to have a simple lunch. The lunch special at Salt House was just perfect. I had the fish and chips, along with a local beer. The portion was fairly large and tasty. For $20, the price was cheap for a restaurant by the water in a tourist city.

One complaint though. My wife ordered a lemon, lime & bitter with her lunch special but it tasted like water. I mentioned this to the staff upon paying for the meal and he apologised.

Thank ng_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi ng_ryan,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry about your wife's drink, had we known earlier we could have replaced it for her, but I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018

Saltie is consistently good, I've had breakfast, lunch, dinner, bar snack and sometimes just drinks here. In fact I've tried everything from dinner in the private room, through all the menu to the excellent bar burgers and now the great pizzeria and tapas area. I've eaten alone, with friends, with family, work colleagues and for business! Drinks are great, food is awesome although a bit more variation on the main restaurant menu would be nice considering they have excellent chefs. Staff are nice but very hit and miss with friendliness particularly at the main bar. Great place, keep it up guys and girls!

Thank a_damn_fine_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi a_damn_fine_wine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's great to hear that you enjoy our venue so much! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Live music. Location is great.. Service is excellent .. The food is pretty average.. For a $70 dinner for a steak and 2 glassess of fine you woud expect a nice dnner.I had steak in Watergate Port Douglas the night before.. Cannot compare ...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank atefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi atefc,

Thank you for your review. Sorry your meal was not as you expected, but we're glad to hear that you enjoyed our bar area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Food is average and the staff are rude young girls that are just way too busy to smile or to help you out, also very rude phone manner. Such a shame really. As a local I would be embarrassed to bring my friends and family here.

1  Thank ERYNZ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi ERYNZ M,

Thank you for your review, if you could please email me at restmanager@salthouse.com so I can hear more of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

We had the lunch special which was very reasonably priced. The fish was way too salty and tasted aged ? Pulled pork was delicious. Drink prices not too bad.
For the price is was good but not great.

Thank Ngaireandjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi Ngaireandjer,

Thanks for the review, sorry the coral trout was not to your liking but I am glad to hear that the rest of your experience was good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt House also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Salt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing