We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$119
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$199
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$73
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$164
US$137
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$133
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
448
723
251
58
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
723
251
58
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hourblue mangoihg memberhourly shuttleshuttle servicethe hotel offerstown centreocean viewclose to the airportminute walkking bedquiet locationhotel restaurantbuffet breakfaststayed here for nightsbarrier reefan upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We stayed for two nights. Memorable check-in experience as Matt was extremely pleasant and information. The metaphor used for using the swipe card is "dunkin' cookies into milk with the green side facing down." The ocean-view room is spacious and clean. The wait staff at the Blue Mango Cafe are friendly and the food was better than the average hotel food. Also had a memorable but unpleasant check-out experience as Dickie was not helpful or courteous. He had a notable whinge about the hotel being short staffed as he had to drive the shuttle bus to the city and also man the reception that day. All in all though, good experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms away from the lifts are quieter
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason8881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Cairns_HS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear jason8881,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all your feedback and Mark always provides a memorable check-in. This feedback will be passed onto him. I sincerely apologise for your check-out experience, this will be followed up with the team member involved, this is not our usual departure experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nick Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We have been staying here for four nights due to a last minute change of plans after our flight to the Whitsundays was cancelled. Mark on reception checked us in and was extremely helpful, we were also upgraded to a sea view room which made the stay even more special. All of the staff we have met are really friendly and the rooms are lovely. Nice and spacious and very clean. The pool and bar facilities are also very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Cairns. I would like to thank Mark for all of your help through our stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rj146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Cairns_HS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Rj146,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us.

Thank you for all your feedback and we will pass your comments onto Mark.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nick Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful location, service and view from the hotel. Upon check in we were greeted by Tim, who was so friendly and upgraded us to an ocean front room! We were so grateful and the room was perfect for us. The bed was so comfortable and had everything we needed. The room is a little tired but extremely comfortable and it had a balcony and beautiful view over the water and tropical trees! The location is perfect as it is away from the noise and busyness of the Cairns esplanade area, although still on the Esplanade, and was RELAXING. It only took us 15 mins to walk along the esplanade into the central area, and was a really nice walk. Or there is a hotel shuttle bus on the hour. We sat down at the pool and restaurant area and it had a very nice atmosphere, with free cold water which was very refreshing and welcomed! We loved our stay here and feel disheartened and surprised when we read any negative reviews - especially due to location! If you want away from the hustle and bustle of the central area, but don't want to be too far from the action, then this place is perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zozocash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Cairns_HS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Zozocash,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all your feedback and especially your recognition of Tim. This will be passed onto him. I agree our location is perfect for a relaxing getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nick Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for four nights last week during out trip to Cairns. The staff there is very accommodating and helpful and the hotel location is pretty good. It is outside the main area of the city which is good and bad. There is a hotel shuttle which runs every hour from 10am-10pm. I do wish the shuttle had started running a little earlier since a lot of the tours go out of the main city before that. You can walk into the main city however it is probably about a 25 min walk and is tough in the sun and heat. The hotel bar and restaurant are nice and had good service. Very convenient for a quick drink or dinner. The complimentary hotel breakfast was really good with lots of options. My only complaint would be the shower. My husband and I are very tall and had some trouble fitting into it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Cairns_HS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Danielle K,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all your feedback and your recognition of the team and the service they provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nick Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The rooms at this hotel are generous in size and have all the basic amenities/facilities required of a hotel.

The hotel also has plenty of car parking spaces, swimming pool and on site restuarant which has a reasonable selection of foods on the menu.
However I would heavily suggest walking down the esplinade and eating from one of the many restaurants.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Cairns_HS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Dear alex c,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us.

Thank you for all your feedback and appreciate your suggestions. Our new menus were launched on the 27th March and provide even more offerings to guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Matt Rippin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews