We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Harbour Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We recently had some business to attend to in Cairns and chose the Holiday Inn on the Esplanade. It is a quieter location with lovely views of Trinity Inlet from the ocean view wing. Our Executive room was on the 7th floor, and extremely spacious as I believe it was part of a family suite with adjoining rooms. The patio was large with table and chairs plus two sun loungers. As it was pretty humid we did not spend too much time outdoors although my partner enjoyed lovely walks along the Esplanade into Cairns and back. The Esplanade is so well cared for, lovely trees and excellent pathways and boardwalk. A great mixture of people from families to ardent exercise folk. The Holiday used to be the Mercure and was formerly located at the site which now houses the Doubletree Hotel. It is an older building and a bit tired in parts but it looked like restoration was taking place. Just little things like the soiled carpet outside of the tiny lifts. We had a room service dinner, the food quality was excellent, my feeling is that $5.00 per tray is a bit steep, but as I said the quality of the food was great. We did not have breakfast, the Buffet was too expensive, we are not cheap,
but there is better value elsewhere.
Staff were attentive, friendly and did their job well, we would recommend this hotel as it
is a lovely location and there is a bit of a (flat) walk to the city centre but Holiday Inn provides a shuttle...

Room Tip: Ocean view higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allan_don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Cairns_HS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear allan_don,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this delightful review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all your feedback, and I agree the executive rooms on the 7th Floor have views of Trinity bay that are second to none. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the pricing of F&B offering, this has been passed onto the F&B Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nick Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 122 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

We stayed for two nights. Memorable check-in experience as Matt was extremely pleasant and information. The metaphor used for using the swipe card is "dunkin' cookies into milk with the green side facing down." The ocean-view room is spacious and clean. The wait staff at the Blue Mango Cafe are friendly and the food was better than the average hotel food. Also had a memorable but unpleasant check-out experience as Dickie was not helpful or courteous. He had a notable whinge about the hotel being short staffed as he had to drive the shuttle bus to the city and also man the reception that day. All in all though, good experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms away from the lifts are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason8881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Cairns_HS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear jason8881,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all your feedback and Mark always provides a memorable check-in. This feedback will be passed onto him. I sincerely apologise for your check-out experience, this will be followed up with the team member involved, this is not our usual departure experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nick Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We have been staying here for four nights due to a last minute change of plans after our flight to the Whitsundays was cancelled. Mark on reception checked us in and was extremely helpful, we were also upgraded to a sea view room which made the stay even more special. All of the staff we have met are really friendly and the rooms are lovely. Nice and spacious and very clean. The pool and bar facilities are also very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Cairns. I would like to thank Mark for all of your help through our stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rj146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Cairns_HS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Rj146,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us.

Thank you for all your feedback and we will pass your comments onto Mark.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nick Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful location, service and view from the hotel. Upon check in we were greeted by Tim, who was so friendly and upgraded us to an ocean front room! We were so grateful and the room was perfect for us. The bed was so comfortable and had everything we needed. The room is a little tired but extremely comfortable and it had a balcony and beautiful view over the water and tropical trees! The location is perfect as it is away from the noise and busyness of the Cairns esplanade area, although still on the Esplanade, and was RELAXING. It only took us 15 mins to walk along the esplanade into the central area, and was a really nice walk. Or there is a hotel shuttle bus on the hour. We sat down at the pool and restaurant area and it had a very nice atmosphere, with free cold water which was very refreshing and welcomed! We loved our stay here and feel disheartened and surprised when we read any negative reviews - especially due to location! If you want away from the hustle and bustle of the central area, but don't want to be too far from the action, then this place is perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zozocash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Cairns_HS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Zozocash,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all your feedback and especially your recognition of Tim. This will be passed onto him. I agree our location is perfect for a relaxing getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nick Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for four nights last week during out trip to Cairns. The staff there is very accommodating and helpful and the hotel location is pretty good. It is outside the main area of the city which is good and bad. There is a hotel shuttle which runs every hour from 10am-10pm. I do wish the shuttle had started running a little earlier since a lot of the tours go out of the main city before that. You can walk into the main city however it is probably about a 25 min walk and is tough in the sun and heat. The hotel bar and restaurant are nice and had good service. Very convenient for a quick drink or dinner. The complimentary hotel breakfast was really good with lots of options. My only complaint would be the shower. My husband and I are very tall and had some trouble fitting into it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Cairns_HS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Danielle K,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all your feedback and your recognition of the team and the service they provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nick Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
2.1 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
2.1 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $131 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing