We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$322
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pacific Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$187
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveller rating
384
567
189
53
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
567
189
53
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationan ocean view suitemuddy's playgroundsmall kitchenetteesplanade boardwalkshort walkwithin walking distancerestaurants and shopsstay there againseparate bedroomeasy walkcontinental breakfastreception staffpleasant staynice poolshort staycentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,209 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2017

We stayed at this hotel as we were doing 3 days of excursions, the staff were really helpful the location was really good as it was close to everything. The room was very clean and a good size. Would recommend a stay here.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cks009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikaCairnsPlaza, Front Office Receptionist at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Cks009, thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Cairns Plaza Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

I chose this hotel for our single night in Cairns before a morning flight based upon tripadvisor reviews. The price was reasonable and the location was great to spend time in the highly acclaimed waterfront promenade and see the lagoon, promenade market and night market. It was also handy to the airport. The room was simple with an adequate and useful kitchenette. We appreciated the 4 single bed layout and beds were comfy and clean. You can definitely see the age of the hotel around the wooden edges of doors and baseboards but it feels fresh and clean. It’s nice to have ocean views. The shower drain was clogged and we arrived to a wet towel on the floor in our room (odd) and a shampoo and pen randomly on the floor in the hall - weird but not necessarily the fault of any staff. The pool was nice for a late evening dip. The staff were friendly and helpful but more city and business like and less personable and approachable than the amazing Queensland hospitality we experienced throughout the rest of our vacation in the area - maybe only notable as we encountered so many outstanding tourist service people in Port Douglas and Cape Tribulation.

Room Tip: Nice to have a view.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michellesU2028KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikaCairnsPlaza, Front Office Receptionist at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear michellesU2028KY, thank you for sharing your 4 star review, we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay in one of our studios. Apologies for the shower drain being clogged, we value our guests' feedback and I have passed your comments to the relevant department. We hope you enjoyed your time in Cairns and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Estamos alojados 5 noches (13-12-17 al 18-12-17) en Cairns Plaza Hotel.
Solicitamos desayuno gluten free. La segunda mañana, nos avisan que nos daban las últimas tostadas sin gluten. Tercero y cuarto día no habían tostadas sin gluten, y tampoco congee (arroz en la olla). Hicimos el reclamo al chef manager, se disculpó pero no ofreció otra alternativa. Nos quedamos sin desayunar. Esperamos poder desayunar mañana.
Y si bien el wifi es gratis en todo el hotel, cuando funciona, es muy lento.

-----

We are staying in Cairns Plaza Hotel for five nights (from13.12.17 to 18.12.17). We required gluten free toast. The second morning we had breakfast, the waitress told us that she was giving us the last slices of gluten free bread. The following two mornings they didn't have neither bread nor congee (rice) to eat. Therefore, we made the claim to the chef manager who apologized, but did not offer any other solution. So there were two morning without having any breakfast. Hopefully, we will be able to have breakfast tomorrow.

By the way, you have WiFi everywhere in the hostel. If it is able to work, is really slow.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricialbueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikaCairnsPlaza, Front Desk Receptionist at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Patricialbueno, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is disappointing to hear you expectations were not met on this occasion, we do value our guests' feedback and I have passed your comments to the relevant department. We hope you enjoyed your time in the tropics and the rest of your travels in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

I don't recall the last time I left a 3* rating, and that's because I try to do proper research before I stay/eat anywhere. However, I regret that there were a couple of issues with our stay at the Cairns Plaza.

Before I say anything else, the staff at the Cairns plaza were friendly, helpful and did their utmost to mitigate the issues we experienced. Furthermore, the price we paid was very reasonable for a stunning ocean view on the Cairns Esplanade.

However, if we pay for a kitchenette/suite, I would want to be able to prepare food there. However, when we checked in, the first thing we were greeted by was a roach on our kitchen area.

The staff moved us to another suite immediately, in which we also found a number of roach traps, and then finally we were moved to a lovely suite on the top floor, but unfortunately there were a couple of roaches we found there too.

I've been told that it's just the normal thing in Cairns and I accept I may just be overreacting, but despite the brilliant efforts of the staff at the Cairns Plaza, I was deeply disappointed by that part of the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikaCairnsPlaza, Front Desk Receptionist at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Jason S, Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your stay with us. Unfortunately, given the nature of our environment and tropical surroundings cockroaches are very common in Far North Queensland, and even though we have our building regularly checked by Pest Control, this time of the year - with the wet season approaching - it is a constant battle.

We are delighted to hear you thought we were friendly and helpful and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

This is certainly no five-star hotel but it is a five star location right on the beach front in Cairns. For the price it is absolutely outstanding. Rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable. Staff very helpful. Can’t give it a great recommendation then the fact that I would stay there again if I return to Cairns

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikaCairnsPlaza, Front Office Receptionist at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Roger G, that is absolutely right - we are very pleased to hear you'd stay again, we couldn't have asked for a better comment! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews