We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The personal, friendly service will see us return for sure.”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #20 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Well situated, clean, very affordable and comfortable family accomodation. A nice quiet complex with a great pool area for relaxing and unwinding. With all the amenities you could need close by, including a 24hour medical practice and chemist, we thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay. A short stroll away from the Esplanade and Muddies kids playground and only about a 15-20 min stroll from the marina, lagoon and main shopping district. The personal friendly service was fantastic. Linda and Kevin were very friendly, welcoming and helpful people. During one conversation, I mentioned my hubby and boys all shared an interest in aircraft. The following day, Kevin called the room to let us know there was a plane performing aerobatics over the esplanade if we wanted to head out the front of the complex to take a look. This is the kind of service missing from most places these days and I was most impressed that he would recall our conversaiton and think to let us know. We will definitely be back on our next visit to Cairns, no point trying elsewhere, this place was great.

Room Tip: upstairs bedrooms in the townhouse is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorrinaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 290 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

Had a wonderful stay, upgraded to a townhouse and had lots of space. Excellent all round .Kevin and Sally were so helpful and thanks for recommending Michaelmas Cay for our trip to the Great Barrier Reef.Wish we had more time in Cairns.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galway69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Idealy situated, a short stroll to town yet a very quiet location. The accomodation was very spacious and clean, we couldn't find fault with any thing. The staff were very friendly and helpfull, would definitely use this place again!! Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaz1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We loved the space in the two bedroomed apartment, a great kitchen, diner area and lounge. Bedrooms had lots of wardrode space and comfortable beds. The kitchen was well stocked with essential equipment for cooking and the welcome packs of basics such as coffee, teabags, washing powder etc was great to get us started before we were able to shop at the supermarket. There is a small 24 hour Woolworths nearby but Coles and a big Woolies is a 15-20 mins walk - as is the nearest Bottle-o - perfect if you have a car but not so good on foot if you have heavy bags of shopping to carry.
Lounge and balcony overlooked the pool which was lovely - and quiet during our stay - perfect for a lazy sunny afternoon or early evening - pool opens at 6 am until 10pm !.

for an evening meal out we took Kevin's recommendation to go to the Cock and Bull further up the Grafton Road - good food and reasonably priced. Walking down into the mainstream of Cairns nightlife, restaurants and pubs took around 10 mins or so which was fine - lots of choice and well worth a walk on the Espanade especially around sunset.
Kevin and Linda really helpful - got good advice on the best day trips around the area.

Overall a great stay and would definitely go back there if we ever find ourselves in Cairns again. We were really pleased with our choice - had done some research beforehand and found the Getaway via Tripadvisor so for us it really worked - thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottmTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Love it - great facilities, location and all you need including kitchen gear for everything you'd like to prepare! Kevin & Linda great hosts. Defintely back here next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjen1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.4 km away
Piermonde Apartments
Piermonde Apartments
#13 of 85 in Cairns
207 reviews
0.5 km away
Vision Cairns Esplanade
Vision Cairns Esplanade
#14 of 85 in Cairns
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#22 of 85 in Cairns
160 reviews
0.4 km away
Waters Edge Apartments
Waters Edge Apartments
#17 of 85 in Cairns
144 reviews
1 km away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $184 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Getaway On Grafton Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing