We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here! ”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #19 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Me and my friends stayed at the getaway on Grafton and the end of April 2017. Rooms were great, clean and tidy, beds were comfortable and is in a great location to head into cairns centre by walking. And Kev is an absolute legend! Couldn't recommend this hotel enough!
Thank you getaway on Grafton!
From the WA girls :)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank TayWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hey Girls! Thanks for the great review!
Kev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed here for just under a week, travelling from Darwin NT. Cairns itself is amazing and surprisingly busier than we expected it to be given that it is the wet season. We expected it to be quiet like Darwin in the wet season but it wasn't really! The hotel was ok. We weren't blown away by it, but it did the job. I did feel it may have been a bit over priced. We stayed in a 2 storey townhouse. Here is a bit of a break down...

Pros:
- Great swimming pool and spa. Lovely.
- Our unit was well equipped with cooking utensils, crockery etc.
- Very spacious and roomy unit. Having the bedrooms upstairs was great for us as it meant we could put our 1 year old to bed and not bother him with watching TV, having drinks, playing board games etc. Unit would be ideal for a family or two couples travelling together as there were 2 bathrooms.
- Well located away from bustle town centre but still close to walk. Not far from the Esplanade and Muddys Playground. We did have a hire car which helped us when we were hot or couldn't be bothered walking 15 min to town.
- Friendly greeting on check in which was appreciated.

Cons:
- Our room was in the worst spot in the whole complex. It was on the boundary of the property which is shared by THE WORST, most disgusting run down backpackers hostel I have ever seen. We were constantly putting up with their noise at all hours. I would HATE to have that room in the dry season when the backpackers was actually full/busy. Thank god our toddler is a heavy sleeper is all I can say.
- Room was also right above the bins. SO GROSS. Every morning when my husband went on to the balcony for a coffee he had to look at the bins and whenever they were opened the smell just wafted up. Was not impressed. Also when the garbage truck came we were all woken by the bins being rattled down onto the road then being emptied at like 6.30/7am. I don't know why this bothered us so much but it really was annoying given the cost of the room!
- The kettle and toaster were SO OLD. The toaster didn't cook properly. I mean those types of things are cheap enough to replace so I have no idea why the appliances in the room were so ancient.
- The dishwasher STANK. It was so gross. Every time we opened it the smell of old food filled the kitchen. It was so bad that we just hand washed our dishes. I only used it when we checked out and put our dishes in there (as requested by management). It clearly needed a filter to be cleaned out. Also I didn't use the dishwasher because there were no instructions. The dishwasher itself had all the functions either rubbed off of the front, or they were just never there so I have no idea what dial/button did what or what cycle it was meant to be on. It was so confusing.
- They need to update the folders in the room about the hotel facilities and hire items. It stated in the book in the room that it was $10 to hire a high chair from them during the stay. My husband went to enquire and they were going to charge him $40!! He questioned it so they only charged him $20. Couldnt even honour the $10!! It states in their book $10 for duration of stay. Update the information folks; it is misleading.

We had a great holiday in Cairns even if our accommodation did not live up to our expectations. I actually had two places on my shortlist when I was booking our holiday and spent the first half of our trip kind of regretting not booking the other place (which was actually cheaper but still had exactly the same facilities). When we do visit Cairns again (which is guaranteed; we loved it so much), I will try the other hotel for a comparison because this just didn't sweep us of our feet! Plus I just cant handle the thought of being put back in a room bordering the Backpackers hostel again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LouiseMaxiMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Hi Louise, thank you for your reveiw and we are pleased you enjoyed Cairns
At check-in we inform guests that we are available to deal with any issues that may arise during their stay. The majority of the issues you raise are minor and could easily be rectified if you bothered to contact us. If you have a toaster that isn't working correctly and we are made aware of it, we will attend the room,check it, and if necessary replace it.
The dishwashers are put through a full wash cycle when the apartments are cleaned to ensure they function correctly. If, however, if they are not used regularly as with any dishwasher, and we suggest daily, they will become smelly as they are sealed and warm inside. Simply run through another cycle will alleviate this
In the cupboard under the sink, where the cleaning supplies are kept, is a full instruction sheet with diagrams of how to use the dishwasher. I'm not sure how you didn't see this, but again, contacting us would have solved this
We are onsite managers and are very particular with noise after 10pm, regardless of whether it is within the complex, next door or indeed from the street. We have had very little complaint about the backpackers next door for several years, since they established an entertainment area on the far side of their property with a sound proof roof. I keep regular contact with the manager of this business and generally get a good response if noise becomes an issue. If I was made aware of your issue, I would have addressed it promptly and monitored it in the following nights
Unfortunately complexes such as ours have large rubbish skips and they have to be on the street side of the building to allow access for emptying. They are emptied every second day and cleaned regularly and I have contacted the contractors several times to ensure the rubbish trucks don't come too early, as we are a holiday complex and they can be very noisy. Unfortunately, these trucks are required to be clear of the city area prior to 8am so a later visit is restricted by this.
Our website states cots are $10.00 per night or $40.00 per stay, and high chairs are $10.00 per night or $20.00 per stay. We will ensure this is reflected in the room compendiums.
We do our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and address any issues they may raise promptly and check to ensure our resolution is satisfactory. We are extremely disappointed when guests choose to say nothing about easily rectified issues, and then have a whinge once departed.
Kind regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights at the beginning of our Australian trip. We had a great big two floor apartment at the back of the complex, overlooking the car park. We had no issues whatsoever, the rooms were comfortable and all of the kitchen appliances worked. The washer and dryer were godsends as we had already been on the road in another country previously. The walk into town wasn't too bad, and the owners were really helpful in getting us a taxi when we couldn't be bothered walking. All in all, a nice big space to spread out in. Thanks!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hey Christy, thanks for the lovely comments, it was a pleasure to meet you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a deluxe 2 bedroom apartment. For the price I definitely will not be back. Apartment was clean. However, appliances were all in poor condition, kettle was disgusting, dishwasher did not work anywhere near properly. Washing machine temperamental etc. Furniture in unit was very dated and average looking. Unit needs lots of small fixture repairs which make it look shoddy such as broken toilet seat, towel rail, ensuite door which is falling off the hinges. Sliding door to patio didn't lock. Light bulbs blown etc . The apartment had a lovely view of the car park and the front building . If you are staying with small children the location is not convenient to walk to the city centre. Plus no elevators so if you got a top floor unit would not be awesome especially with little children. Next time will pay the bit extra to stay somewhere newer and closer to the CBD.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank bandoftravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

We are sorry for your experience, however you were advised we were available to tend to any maintenance issues, we had no communication from you during your stay to rectify your concerns. Dishwasher, washing machine etc was all checked and no problems with them. Sometimes using different appliances can be confusing. Instructions are provided in the apartment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in early January as a family group of 3 adults. The 2 bedroom townhouse apartment was excellent for us. The beds were very comfortable and the apartment had plenty of space. The swimming pool was really nice on those hot humid days. It was situated close to the city centre and within walking distance to many restaurants.I would recommend this apartment complex to anyone.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank cpdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thanks! Yeah the Townhouses are spacious!, our pool is not the largest around but at 13mtr it is very comfy for lolling around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
6.2 km away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.4 km away
Piermonde Apartments
Piermonde Apartments
#11 of 83 in Cairns
200 reviews
1.0 km away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $178 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Getaway On Grafton Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing