We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good holiday Stay (with Good kitchen!)”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #20 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

My family and I stayed at the place for 5 nights few days ago and it became my favorite stay when travelling around Australia! The rooms were big and clean, and what surprised us was that the kitchen was fully equipped with wide range of equipment! If you like cooking, you would probably love the kitchen! Moreover, the beds and bed linens were clean that gave us good sleep. The rooms were big enough for a family to have heir own spaces to relax. The location was OK that not far from the Cairns central costs you a 15 minute walk, not far from airport too! Staff were nice and good service.

Room Tip: you might have a chance for a room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KammyWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Wow, thanks Kammy! it is always nice meeting lovely visitors like yourself too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

We had a fantastic stay at Getaway on Grafton in the number 2 apartment, one of the two storey apartments. The beds were very comfy, the kitchen has everything that you need and we were impressed that both bedrooms had an en suite, which was most convenient. Everything was very neat and tidy. It is conveniently located close to town which is only a short walk away and close to Muddy's playground, which my daughter loved. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our DVD player wasn't working and we let them know and it had been fixed by the time we got home that day. We were very impressed. We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks Getaway on Grafton!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thanks!, always a pleasure assisting friendly guests. I noted you stayed in #2, thanks for your comments here, this is next the Backpackers and guest who haven't stayed are often wary about this location, don't be, we have not had issues with them for several years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We had room 10 at getaway on Grafton. It was an awesome 2 storey apartment. Very comfy beds! Nice and handy to town and great secure parking. Negatives? The WiFi was terrible, only half decent next to the pool. It did not work in the apartment at all. Also why is the spa not heated? Seems pointless having it. Will consider returning on next visit. Reception staff friendly and helpful

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank naths1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hi, thanks for your feedback, glad you enjoyed the spacious Townhouse.

WIFI? We do offer it for free for all guest on multiple devices and maybe there were too many on? We never promise to stream movies etc, it is provided to get your email, check FB, skype etc , if you get more it is usually a bonus.
You say you were near the pool? this is VERY unusual that the wifi didn't work so well in your apartment
Most apartments can get it, maybe not in the rooms the furthest away from the pool /carpark area, as all the signals are provided between the two buildings ( carpark and pool ), please let us know next time, maybe it just needed a reset?

Heated Spa in the tropics - not the most desirable? Sorry, maybe it should be called the bubble spa, the pool is heated to 30 during the winter months and generally the tropical weather takes care of it when it goes above 30 during the summer.
The spa uses water from the pool and therefore is the same temperature.
Thanks for your comments :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Me and my friends stayed at the getaway on Grafton and the end of April 2017. Rooms were great, clean and tidy, beds were comfortable and is in a great location to head into cairns centre by walking. And Kev is an absolute legend! Couldn't recommend this hotel enough!
Thank you getaway on Grafton!
From the WA girls :)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank TayWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hey Girls! Thanks for the great review!
Kev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed here for just under a week, travelling from Darwin NT. Cairns itself is amazing and surprisingly busier than we expected it to be given that it is the wet season. We expected it to be quiet like Darwin in the wet season but it wasn't really! The hotel was ok. We weren't blown away by it, but it did the job. I did feel it may have been a bit over priced. We stayed in a 2 storey townhouse. Here is a bit of a break down...

Pros:
- Great swimming pool and spa. Lovely.
- Our unit was well equipped with cooking utensils, crockery etc.
- Very spacious and roomy unit. Having the bedrooms upstairs was great for us as it meant we could put our 1 year old to bed and not bother him with watching TV, having drinks, playing board games etc. Unit would be ideal for a family or two couples travelling together as there were 2 bathrooms.
- Well located away from bustle town centre but still close to walk. Not far from the Esplanade and Muddys Playground. We did have a hire car which helped us when we were hot or couldn't be bothered walking 15 min to town.
- Friendly greeting on check in which was appreciated.

Cons:
- Our room was in the worst spot in the whole complex. It was on the boundary of the property which is shared by THE WORST, most disgusting run down backpackers hostel I have ever seen. We were constantly putting up with their noise at all hours. I would HATE to have that room in the dry season when the backpackers was actually full/busy. Thank god our toddler is a heavy sleeper is all I can say.
- Room was also right above the bins. SO GROSS. Every morning when my husband went on to the balcony for a coffee he had to look at the bins and whenever they were opened the smell just wafted up. Was not impressed. Also when the garbage truck came we were all woken by the bins being rattled down onto the road then being emptied at like 6.30/7am. I don't know why this bothered us so much but it really was annoying given the cost of the room!
- The kettle and toaster were SO OLD. The toaster didn't cook properly. I mean those types of things are cheap enough to replace so I have no idea why the appliances in the room were so ancient.
- The dishwasher STANK. It was so gross. Every time we opened it the smell of old food filled the kitchen. It was so bad that we just hand washed our dishes. I only used it when we checked out and put our dishes in there (as requested by management). It clearly needed a filter to be cleaned out. Also I didn't use the dishwasher because there were no instructions. The dishwasher itself had all the functions either rubbed off of the front, or they were just never there so I have no idea what dial/button did what or what cycle it was meant to be on. It was so confusing.
- They need to update the folders in the room about the hotel facilities and hire items. It stated in the book in the room that it was $10 to hire a high chair from them during the stay. My husband went to enquire and they were going to charge him $40!! He questioned it so they only charged him $20. Couldnt even honour the $10!! It states in their book $10 for duration of stay. Update the information folks; it is misleading.

We had a great holiday in Cairns even if our accommodation did not live up to our expectations. I actually had two places on my shortlist when I was booking our holiday and spent the first half of our trip kind of regretting not booking the other place (which was actually cheaper but still had exactly the same facilities). When we do visit Cairns again (which is guaranteed; we loved it so much), I will try the other hotel for a comparison because this just didn't sweep us of our feet! Plus I just cant handle the thought of being put back in a room bordering the Backpackers hostel again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LouiseMaxiMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Hi Louise, thank you for your reveiw and we are pleased you enjoyed Cairns
At check-in we inform guests that we are available to deal with any issues that may arise during their stay. The majority of the issues you raise are minor and could easily be rectified if you bothered to contact us. If you have a toaster that isn't working correctly and we are made aware of it, we will attend the room,check it, and if necessary replace it.
The dishwashers are put through a full wash cycle when the apartments are cleaned to ensure they function correctly. If, however, if they are not used regularly as with any dishwasher, and we suggest daily, they will become smelly as they are sealed and warm inside. Simply run through another cycle will alleviate this
In the cupboard under the sink, where the cleaning supplies are kept, is a full instruction sheet with diagrams of how to use the dishwasher. I'm not sure how you didn't see this, but again, contacting us would have solved this
We are onsite managers and are very particular with noise after 10pm, regardless of whether it is within the complex, next door or indeed from the street. We have had very little complaint about the backpackers next door for several years, since they established an entertainment area on the far side of their property with a sound proof roof. I keep regular contact with the manager of this business and generally get a good response if noise becomes an issue. If I was made aware of your issue, I would have addressed it promptly and monitored it in the following nights
Unfortunately complexes such as ours have large rubbish skips and they have to be on the street side of the building to allow access for emptying. They are emptied every second day and cleaned regularly and I have contacted the contractors several times to ensure the rubbish trucks don't come too early, as we are a holiday complex and they can be very noisy. Unfortunately, these trucks are required to be clear of the city area prior to 8am so a later visit is restricted by this.
Our website states cots are $10.00 per night or $40.00 per stay, and high chairs are $10.00 per night or $20.00 per stay. We will ensure this is reflected in the room compendiums.
We do our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and address any issues they may raise promptly and check to ensure our resolution is satisfactory. We are extremely disappointed when guests choose to say nothing about easily rectified issues, and then have a whinge once departed.
Kind regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
6.2 km away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.4 km away
Piermonde Apartments
Piermonde Apartments
#10 of 83 in Cairns
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $176 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Getaway On Grafton Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing