We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Port Douglas”
Review of Melaleuca

Melaleuca
Ranked #4 of 86 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 December 2020

Everything is excellent here.

The staff are friendly and know what they are doing.

The food is exciting and lives up to it's glowing reputation. The whole Barramundi is a true highlight - amongst many.

Melaleuca deserves it's top spot and we will definitely revisit this restaurant with great expectations.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank YeeHaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2020 via mobile

We had done our research along with word-of-mouth recommendations...and left extremely happy with everything. It was a very special birthday celebration and the entire staff, food, ambiance & surrounds made it truly a memorable experience. From the crispy shrimp, ceviche and oysters, to the pan-seared barra and Moreton Bay Bugs...with room left for the lighter tropical dessert plate...a birthday to remember!

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank Jacques-SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020

Lovely atmosphere and very friendly staff who were very accommodating of dietary requirements - the chef even came out personally to check on us.

We both ordered the Eye Filet which was perfectly done according to our tastes. The accompanying potato, jus, sauce and garnish were full of flavour and complemented the steak perfectly. We also ordered home made chips that stood out as an epic side dish!

Would definitely visit again!

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank ConradT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2020

Being a local to Port Douglas & having a store in town, I had heard that food at Melaleuca was good, but I didn't expect it to be THIS good though!

We were greeted by absolutely lovely & warm staff (South American girl I think was the accent) and started off with beautiful & different cocktails that they had put their own spin on - coconut rimmed martini anyone?!

For starters we shared oysters Kilpatrick, now I see myself as a bit of an oyster connoisseur and have tried oysters all over the world - and I can easily say that these were the BEST Kilpatrick oysters I have ever had - hands down just unbelievable!

For mains we had the duck (just melted in my mouth) & the Morten Bay bugs which had lychee asa tropical influence to it and complimented it to a tee.

After espresso martinis, we didn't feel like a dessert but we couldn't go past in seeing what the Chef had planned on a standard cheesecake...and again we were totally impressed. He had deconstructed the cheesecake and then added extra little goodies within so we could pick & choose what we were wanting in each delectable mouthful!

Can not recommend this restaurant enough, from the ambience, to the perfect tone of tunes, the warm & considerate staff, the obviously very talented chef's & the exquisite yet original meals... we are just so lucky to have it in our little tropical oasis and I can't wait to tell the travellers visiting our region about this hidden little GEM!

Bravo to you Melaleuca team!

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Hollywoodchooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020 via mobile

Had a lovely dinner out at Melaleuca. The waiter who served us (lovely man with an Irish accent) was always super polite and accommodating and helped us with a few suggestions with the menu. He was always checking in without being pushy. The food was outstanding. Would suggest splurging out on the Morton Bugs main which I found delicious with the blend of coconut and lychee. Hubby had the Eye Fillet and polished the plate so he was very happy with it. We also had the pork belly entree which was again really delicious. The Korean influence works so well with their dishes and makes the food extremely delicious. Would recommend for a special night out when in Port Douglas.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank Trytnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melaleuca also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Melaleuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.