We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting and Informative ”
Review of Capricorn Caves

Capricorn Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.19*
and up
Capricorn Caves Fossil Tour
Ranked #2 of 42 things to do in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Capricorn Caves offers a range of tours so there is sure be one to suit everybody's needs. The Cathedral Cave tour is the most popular, departing hourly, with wheelchair access and amazing natural acoustics in the Cathedral Chamber. Travel back in time on the new fossil tour where thousands upon thousands of fossils from tiny creatures to extinct giant beasts have been found by palaeontologists. Discover the secrets entombed in these caves over millions of years with our expert palaeo guides and hold real fossil treasures from our prehistoric past. This tour departs 3 times a day. Wanting to get off the beaten track? Try the adventure caving tour where you climbing, crawl and squeeze your way through the cave with the light of a torch till your surface on the cave ridge with 360 degree views. The tour can be adjusted to suit all age brackets and needs with family and adult only options available.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Emily our guide was amazing. Her knowledge of this beautiful area was extraordinary. Her delivery was full of fun and kept us captivated during our tour. The caves are awesome and should be on everyone’s bucket list.

Thank Brant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thanks Brant D! Our staff are really passionate & we are so glad that your guide Emily lived up to her normal high standard! The Caves certainly are a bucket list experience, one that you can tick off now =) although you could always come back for an adventure tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cathedral tour"
in 40 reviews
"adventure caving"
in 22 reviews
"hour tour"
in 19 reviews
"summer solstice"
in 17 reviews
"cave system"
in 17 reviews
"above ground"
in 16 reviews
"zig zag"
in 14 reviews
"great tour"
in 20 reviews
"wheelchair access"
in 12 reviews
"airlie beach"
in 7 reviews
"tour group"
in 6 reviews
"enthusiastic guide"
in 6 reviews
"natural wonder"
in 5 reviews
"easy walk"
in 6 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 6 reviews
"road trip"
in 7 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 5 reviews
Filter

43 - 47 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2018

We had the best time touring The Caves! Our tour guide Emily was wonderful, very knowledgeable and entertaining.... the Caves themselves were magical and such and adventure !!! I would highly recommend this fantastic experience.

Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thanks Katie K for your review! So glad you enjoyed your tour & will pass on your kind words to Emily =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

The place was easy to find and nicely laid out. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our tour guide Lynda was wonderful and had excellent knowledge of the caves, the occupants ‘bats etc’. The highlight was the Cathedral cave when the music was played and the lights were out, followed by a small light show. We even caught a rare glimpse of a python in the caves. It was also nice and cool as it was over 35C outside.

Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thanks Derek B for your review! The caves are a constant 24 degrees and you are right, its a great way to escape the outside heat! Its wonderful you got to experience seeing the wildlife in the caves also & that you enjoyed your tour with Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

What a great way to spend a rainy day! Exploring the Capricorn Caves. My brother was visiting from the Gold Coast and we are locals. This was our first visit so we embarked on the Cathedral tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. What a great history the caves have. There are a number of other tours which look much more adventurous so we cannot wait to get back to the caves to try out the adventure caving and high ropes course. We highly recommend the caves and its a great attraction whether sunny or rainy.

Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you Natalie C for your review! So glad you & your family enjoyed your tour! we would love to see you back on a family adventure tour =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Great cave tour - make sure you ask for Katherine as a tour guide.

Katherine was highly knowledgeable and entertaining. She tailored the extent and depth of information to the audience, and provided us with interesting insights in relation to the Capricorn Caves. We could have easily spent another hour or two with Katherine.

Highly recommend dropping by and going on one of the tours of the Capricorn Caves.

Thank DatLoongJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capcaves, Manager at Capricorn Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review! I will personally be passing on your wonderful feedback to Katherine as I am sure she would appreciate & love to hear it. She is indeed a wonderful guide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capricorn Caves also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to Capricorn Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing