We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
gold coast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“birthday weekend”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I couldn't fault this hotel. We were on the 27th floor with elandra room benifits. Our view was fabulous and snacks and drinks in elandra room were fantastic. Staff are friendly and go out of there way to help you. I have already booked again to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. The pools and spa are beautiful and the beach is across the road. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goldcoastqueenie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Happy Birthday! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the resort and look forward to welcoming you back soon to celebrate your 40th wedding anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    600
    171
    61
    50
See reviews for
849
647
50
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This Gold Coast stalwart has been refurbished to a comfortable but not quite luxurious standard. The rooms were light and bright and very comfortable. We had interconnecting rooms and had plenty of space for four. The balconies are a bit dangerous with children so they were not used.

The service was fine (the concierge was great) except for the procedure at breakfast in Citrique restaurant. The line-up, the questioning about what you were going to eat and seating procedure was unfriendly and time consuming especially since we had opted to include breakfast in our stay. I did not appreciate the attitude and the time I had to stand in line with two hungry children.

The pool area is good for kids though you have to be careful not to lose sight of them as the area is large and has lots of places for little ones to explore. The outdoor furniture is getting a bit tired and could do with replacing. Our older son loved the waterslide.

The Japanese restaurant was fun and they were very accommodating with our children. The spa is more like a hair salon than day spa so lacked that special luxurious feeling. Overall the hotel is a good option for a short stay with young children.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at the resort during your recent stay with your family.

I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and felt the resort was a good option for families with children.

However I am disappointed that the quality of service you experienced at Citrique during your visit was not to the standard which you as our valued guests are entitled to, nor that to which we aspire to.

Please be assured we value feedback provided by our guests, as this helps us to continually improve our service and offerings and we will be addressing your concerns with the restaurant accordingly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions and I have to say it is on a slippery slope downhill. The buffet used to rank as one of Australia’s best however it is now over crowded with an under staffed omelette station.
Make sure not to ask for a 6 pack delivered to your room after 11pm, as they will likely deny you. In saying this the pool area is a great place to hang out and we still have it on our list of places to stay when in the GC.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel is about a block from the beach, but really an excellent choice for so many reasons I think. First off rooms were wonderfully maintained, nice view from my 18th floor room with ocean view and looked right down into the pool. Did the buffet a couple of times, great selection -although a bit pricey. Its a very very nice resort.

This was the first time I ever saw a hotel pool with fish in it. They have about 400 tropical fish who mainly stay in the reef (about 10-12 feet down) and occasionally venture out with the bathers in the pool. Around 10 every morning they fed the fish (and you can help) and the fish come up to the surface to feed. Kids and adults all helped in the feeding and with an easy mask you can get a quasi-reef experience right in the hotel pool.

Nice clean spa and easy valet parking makes this a completely excellent choice. Families, couples, schoolies, business travelers-its all good.

Room Tip: high floor. if you go north/east side of the hotel you get a beach view, south side would have a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your great experience at the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on this site, and found more of a 4 than a 5 star hotel. The rooms were very small - much too small for a family of more than 2, the bathroom was very dirty and old, and the pool service attendants were nowhere to be seen when we needed refreshments.We ended up leaving the hotel more than once during our 3 day stay for meals, as the main restaurant at the Marriott was terribly overpriced and the food very ordinary (we ate here just once, not again).

This hotel has a few wow factors, such as the lagoon pool, but beyond that it's certainly not up to the standard of a 5-star hotel. We felt ripped off by the price for a less than deluxe hotel, and cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xiexie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa.

I am disappointed to hear that you did not feel the resort offered a 5 star experience. We certainly pride ourselves on providing a superior level of service and 5 star facilities for our guests' enjoyment and have discussed your feedback internally with the various departments to ensure that your comments are addressed accordingly.

Unfortunately the configuration of our hotel rooms only accommodate up to two adults and two children under 12 years of age however interconnecting rooms are available for larger families requiring additional bedding.

I apologise for the disappointment caused to you and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in our resort should you choose to visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.2 km away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,119 reviews
0.5 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
413 reviews
3.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
1.7 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): $217 - $549
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing