We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chateau Beachside(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Q1 Resort and Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Legends Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
US$424
US$386
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,512)
Filter reviews
3,512 results
Traveller rating
1,060
1,397
663
229
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,060
1,397
663
229
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe gold coastroom servicebuffet breakfastper daypool areaocean viewshort staygreat place to staywould stay againpublic transporttram stopcavill avenueoutriggerbalconysurfersconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 3,512 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Ordinary. Don't bother. I have stayed at other mantras and they have been positive and pleasant. This one is not to the same standard as the other Mantras I have stayed at. Understaffed at reception, it took a long time to check in and check out due to queues, extra charges eg parking and coffee at breakfast. Most places now, even cheap places, have a grind the beans on demand coffee machine that adds hot milk at the press of a button. Sure, not barista, but not a brewed coffee pot. Overalll, this is not a place I will be in a hurry to go back to. I travel a lot for work and have stayed at Mantra before on numerous occasions. When I booked it ticked the right boxes for location and a last minute pricing as it was a last minute decision, this one did not rate on my list of a "must come back." It does nothing for the Mantra name, only disappoints.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sdhfjkeox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMJaime, Front Office Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi sdhfjkeox,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback from your stay and I do apologize that you were disappointed as we don't wish for any of guests to feel this way.

Kind regards
Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

The customer service desk was not welcoming and no smile when walking in. The concierge service was as bad and no value for money at the breakfast. Can stay in a better place at similar price in Gold Coast

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 731ankitj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMJaime, Front Office Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi ankitj,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback from your stay. I will ensure that it is followed up for improvement.
I'm disappointed that you felt there was no customer service as that is not what we aim to deliver, so will ensure that it is addressed.

Kind regards,

Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

We did an impromptu Gold Coast visit and booked into Mantra on View for the first time. This property is in a great location, very close to the beach (we had amazing ocean views from our room), super-close to the tram and bus stop and a quick walk to the action of Cavill Avenue. The location, friendliness of reception staff and cleanliness of room on check-in cannot be faulted. Our room was cleaned daily, however the housekeeping standard left a little to be desired. On the first day our rubbish bag was removed from bin, but left sitting on our bench; floors also didn't seem to have been vacuumed (but I don't vacuum my floors daily at home, either, so wasn't too stressed). I was a little concerned that even though we hung our towels on the rails for use the next morning, they were replaced - whilst fresh towels are great each day, it is a luxury we did not require and the environment did not need. We had a twin room and there was plenty of room to move about; our toiletries and tea/coffee were replenished as required. The beds were comfortable, but the linen on one of the beds was a little tired/stained and did not tuck in well under the mattress, so as soon as it was lain upon, the bottom sheet became untucked and the bed beneath the sheet was exposed - this continued to happen throughout the night; it may be that the sheet had not been set on the bed properly and it could have been rectified it the bed was remade, but we didn't try it, and instead put up with the problem for our 3 night stay (it was a teenager's bed, so he didn't complain greatly). I can say a lot of good things about this property, but there are sadly a couple of negatives. One was the fact that the concierge desk was never manned when we came downstairs or through the lobby. At times I had a quick question to ask about a theme park or public transport - sure, there is a sign advising there is a machine where we can purchase theme park tickets, etc - but that was not what I wanted, i wanted to speak face to face to a staff member, who was never there. Very disappointing for a hotel of this size. Additionally, we had the buffet breakfast once and found it to be rather lacklustre - the number of choices was not huge, the fried eggs were pre-cooked and sitting cold on a plate, and even the small pancakes were thick and cold, not light and fluffy. The juice was thick and sweet. The bircher muesli was terribly thick and gluggy, not fresh and moist like most I have eaten before. Would I stay here again - most definitely - but would not choose the breakfast option. Would I recommend the property to family and friends - most definitely - but once again would warn them to steer clear of breakfast, to ask questions at a tourist information centre rather than rely on concierge - and to keep an eye on whether their room was cleaned appropriately. Thank you for a pretty great stay, despite the few minor negatives we have listed (which did not impact our stay).

Room Tip: Ocean View room is fabulous, with views across to the canals in one direction and the beach in the other
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank monkelpunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMJaime, Front Office Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi Monkelpunkel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such a detailed and informative review from your stay. We do appreciate it, and I have passed the feedback onto departments for review of services to ensure that we look at ways to improve areas for future guests.
Without feedback such as yours we are unable to do things like this , so thank you.
I'm please to see that you di have a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

I hope we can welcome you back again one day soon,

Kind regards
Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Air conditioning was always on sleep. Had to sleep with door open. Was extremely noisy as a result and had limited sleep. Exhaust fan always on and noisy. Never removed rubbish from our room which built up allot over the days. No spare towels. Rooms looks pretty worn out with curtains being moth eaten, paint peeling off, waterleaks, looked like a budget motel. Won't stay at a mantra in the Gold Coast again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMJaime, Front Office Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hi Paul A,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience with us here during your time with us. It doesn't look like we were given the opportunity to fix some of these issues for you, which if we had been given the opportunity to do so we would have done so. I do apologize that you had such a negative experience and I would like to discuss that further with me if you like via my email, Jaime.dieckmann@mantra.com.au as I would like to follow up further around this.

Look forward hearing from you,
Kind regards

Jaime
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

The staff at Mantra on View were friendly and courteous. The room was a little out dated but comfortable and clean on arrival. The beds were comfortable and the food was wonderful. Housekeeping was done daily, although they did not vacuum, but I would still recommend this hotel for a great little getaway

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 909tarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMJaime, Front Office Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Tarao,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

Its pleasing to see that you had such a great stay with us and thank you for your rating.

I hope that we can welcome you back to us again one day soon.

Kind regards
Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews