We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and prices”

Charlie's Cafe & Bar
Ranked #129 of 426 Restaurants in Surfers Paradise
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Iconic Surfers Paradise restaurant open till late. Varied menu of delicious food ranging from Breakfast to Pastas/ pizzas, steaks, burgers; seafood and a lot more. Great selection of wines, beers and cocktails. Fantastic ambience and a great position to while away the hours.
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Easy to find when it's next to Starbucks, great drink selection and reasonable food selection. Menu items a tad pricey though it's the location that's the winner here.

Only Downside is you have to pay at the counter / not full table service.

Thank AussieAceCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlies_ADMIN, Manager at Charlie's Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for visiting Charlies and also thank you for the review. We have been a full table service restaurant for over 40 years. The Company had to convert to a partial table service. Hope you visit us again whenever you are in the area. Thanks again for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

My partner has already reviewed however she was far too generous giving two stars. She thinks no one takes note of 1 star thinking readers just think the reviewer is being vindictive. BUT.... the coffee here was quite simply crap. A Late that was half froth ... both mine and my partners so not just am error on one cup. See photo. Not only that ... a surcharge on eftpos ???? Not credit card but eftpos? Anyway, if you are searching for a decent coffee try elsewhere. I think even the Starbucks nearby would have been better.

Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlies_ADMIN, Public Relations Manager at Charlie's Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hi Paul
Thank you fior your review and apologies for your coffee. We have traced back and severely reprimanded the Barista for the quality of coffee served. As for a surcharge on eftpos ......we are checking into this as our system would not allow it.
Also as for trying to ruin our business by suggesting customer go elsewhere is a futile effort as one day of sunshine doesn’t make a Summer. We have been around longer than anyone else and will still be there whilst others sadly disappear. We are constantly trying to better ourselves and what you should have done is to see the manager and have your Coffee and eftpos issues sorted on the spot.
Thank you for visiting Charlies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Called in for a coffee only as the breakfast menu was way overpriced - $20 for avo on toast!! Latte was way too bitter and more than half froth - we ordered a latte not a capuccino! My daughters banana milkshake had way too much banana flavouring and was way too sweet. There are so many better places in Surfers.

Thank zekezane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Nice to just pull up as you walk along and grab a menu and order, fast and busy night being a weekend, got what we asked and ordered along with a drink and enjoyed the surrounds watching passing trade as we ate, good meal service with a smile.

Thank Bevan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

As it was very late and we were going to a formal dinner later, we just wanted a small quick tasty lunch and having visited Charlies several times before thought a light fish lunch was in order.
We ordered the fish lunch on the boards for $13.50 each and asked could we not have batter on the fish but have it grilled.
We thought the serves were large and the fish delicious, but when we were charged the full price of $59.80 for two of us with no drinks included we queried the charge. After discussion with the manager we were told we could not have a refund and if we went back on Saturday we would be given a free bottle of wine! We did not return.
So be wary if you want to change anything on the Specials Boards. The food is delicious, but the management don't seem to care whether you return or not! Very disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frosty737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlies_ADMIN, Public Relations Manager at Charlie's Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear guest
Thank you for visiting Charlies.
I am sorry that you were disappointed but a Soecial on the board is exactly what it is. It is at a price for a reason. There are No changes allowed as it is a special.
Ofcourse we do care whether you return or not. Contarary to people belief, majority of our customers are regular locals and not tourists.
Grilled Barramundi on the menu and barramundi with chips and salad on special are two totally different dishes.. we did the right thing and charged you correctly. The offer of a free bottle of wine by the manager was indeed a very generous offer when it was no fault of ours.
I do however apologies to you for any confusion and disappointment that we may have caused you.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's Cafe & Bar also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Charlie's Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing