We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising - a rip off ”
Review of Shoredrive Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shoredrive Motel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

False advertising . The motel is definitly NOT modern , very old poorly maintained facilities similar to a caravan park but air cond does not cool so hot room , mattresses on beds sunken .Worse of all , manager took out all the nights accomodation as soon as I arrived so when I said that we would like to move as not what it advertises on the. Internet , he said I would still lose 2 nights accomodation ! On comparing price with the casino rooms that were 5 star they were only $20 more a night ! Would not recommend this unless looking for 1-2 star accomodation
Worse Motel in Townsville

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Liplab D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoredrive M, Manager at Shoredrive Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Good Morning,
I think we should now get some facts straight.
1. You booked with Booking.com 3 weeks prior to your date of arrival. You had until 2 days prior to cancel your booking without any financial penalty. This is CLEARLy stated on your booking form.
2. You arrived at 3pm date of booking, on a weekend where we had been booked out for 2 weeks due to the Townsville Triathlon. You stated on arrival that you had double booked a second Motel.
3. As the majority of Motel operators, we charge the full stay and provide a receipt of this on arrival.
4. We turned away many people prior to your stay as we were fully booked.
5. As explained to you, the online booking commission for your stay charged to us was a non refundable $75.
6. So in fact, after first nights stay and commission, your further 3 night cancellation cost you $50, remember $250 of your $500 booking was refunded.
To sum up, sour grapes from a person who double booked and clearly doesn't accept responsibility for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Super spot down at the lagoon end of The Strand in Townsville.
Directly opposite a patrolled beach with man made lagoon just 50m away.
Owners are incredibly friendly and accommodating, rooms clean and comfortable

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank clinton25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoredrive M, Manager at Shoredrive Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Good Morning !
Thank so much for you review of your stay at the Shoredrive Motel.
We are very lucky to be in such a good spot, and we hope to see you at the Shoredrive the next time you are in Townsville,
Warm regards,
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Booked this room at short notice due to travelling home from Cape York because of family illness.
The room was spotlessly clean, bathroom was large and very clean with nice fluffy towels, large TV, comfy bed, free wifi.
The manager greeted us in the car park on our arrival and was very accommodating and helpful in finding us a parking spot for our camper trailer.
Nice places to eat within a couple of minutes walk.
Very happy with our stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Premium Queen Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nursenancy1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoredrive M, Manager at Shoredrive Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Good Morning !
We are glad to enjoyed your stay with us and we wish you safe travelling !
Regards, Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We paid waaaaay to much for this motel which what makes it worse. Only accommodation let in Townsville for the V8 weekend and it was terrible.
Felt very unsafe with door handles being loose and dodgy and leaving our stuff there all day. Room was very outdated and felt dirty.
Great location but still not worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

This motel has been half renovated.
We were given an "un-renovated" room.
It was disgusting outside. Rat poo meet us at the front door. Door knob loose.
Inside was stepping back into the 70's. Paint peeling, old aircon rattling. Seen better bathrooms in truck stops.
Felt very unsafe, particularly with kids.
Perfect scene for a prospective police raid. Lol.
Checked out after finding better suitable accomodation.
This was the only accomodation available at time of booking due to v8 races in Townsville.
I will say however management was very understanding and refunded money. We never requested it.
Ring motel directly to ensure renovated room. Better still stay elsewhere as there is better accomodation out there.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bustingpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
2.8 km away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
533 reviews
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#21 of 41 in Townsville
96 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
220 reviews
2.4 km away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#15 of 41 in Townsville
607 reviews
2.4 km away
Clarion Hotel Townsville
Clarion Hotel Townsville
#14 of 41 in Townsville
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoredrive Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoredrive Motel

Address: 117 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: S$103 - S$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoredrive Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoredrive Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing