We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expactations”

Harold's Seafood on the Strand
Ranked #35 of 37 Quick Bites in Townsville
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: Harold's Seafood has operated for 20 years on The Strand, looking out to the aqua Coral Sea and Magnetic Island. We specialise in traditional fish and chips, local delicacy barramundi, freshly shucked oysters and local King prawns. Alfresco dining or take away, the sea views are amazing. Breakfast Lunch and Dinner 7 days every week of the year - excluding Christmas Day only.
Reviewed 16 August 2018

This place was recommenden in your tavel guide, but we where not very impressed. Service was very slow and terrible inept. They didn't understand our order and the cashier got our order wrong 5 times.
When we finally got our barramundi and whitefish, the batter and crust was done well but the portion was very small for the price we paid. Fish quality was average but deepfried almost anything is edible. Chips where alright but below the high quality of chips we came to love in Australia.
Very small pack of sauce included, barely a bite! Everything else is an overpriced extra.
Even when mentioning we where dining in, we only got our food packed in paper and only after two requests metal cutlery was given to us (we hate plastic cutlery!).
No recommendation!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paspy7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2018

Don't waste your time waiting to place an order. Twenty minutes to place an order and we were only third in line. Look elsewhere for fish and chips.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Tried an oyster and it was so good but very disappointed in the fish. Ordered battered flat head and it was heavily crumbed. Took it back inside the shop to be told “no that’s battered” though it was nothing like the battered fish my friend got.
Wasn’t nice and the chips ordinary.
Would go back and just get oysters next time as they were huge!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank AnneM823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Ordered fish,chips & burgers......absolutely disgusting....extremely disappointing considering the reputation of this place over the years.
Burger had two pieces of salad,meat was undercooked & everything had no taste.
Won't be going back anytime soon.

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank LGP68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

After checking this site, I was a bit worried about sending partner down for takeaway. Went on their website to check the menu and while I got a great write up about their food etc, no menu. Couldn’t check what they had nor prices. Partner went with our order which was: Fish cocktails, calamari, prawn cutlets, scallops and small chips. Well apparently the computer couldn’t comprehend “fish cocktails” so instead of 4 F/c we got 2 deep fried dumplings. Scallops also seemed to have upset the computer because we got 2 fish cakes instead. The prawn cutlet should have been thrown back into the sea as miniscule as it was. 4 calamari rings and a small chips came to just over $30. I can tell you our local in Western Sydney I can get the right order for just over $20. Sorry guys, you might be lucky but I won’t recommend this place.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harold's Seafood on the Strand also viewed

 
North Ward, Townsville
 
North Ward, Townsville
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Harold's Seafood on the Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing