We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunbird Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Stuart Hotel(Townsville)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coolabah Motel(Townsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
18
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbillabong sanctuarybruce highwaycomfortable roomair conpetsstopoverkettlenoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This motel is situated close to the Bruce Highway so it is very easily accessed if you are driving. It is clean and tidy and very friendly and helpful staff made a stopover on our way to Airlie Beach a pleasant stay. If you wish to visit Billabong Sanctuary it is only five minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

I looked up a pet friendly motel for a trip to see my friends in Townsville and found the sunbird motel but when i get there at 2am the woman that came to reception was extremely rude and turned me away as they apparently only have one room that allows pets and were unable to help me out. I was treated as though i was a homeless piece of s*** and ended up having to drive back about 50km backwards to find a rest stop to be able to sleep the night and then went to the great 4 they were extremely nice and helpfull. So do yourself a favor and do not go there as you will be treated badly and they are NOT pet friendly at all.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank The Kiwi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird M, Owner at Sunbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hi, I am sorry you felt mistreated however in my defence you arrived at the motel at 2am in the morning with no prior warning and all lights including signage were switched off. We do have designated rooms with tile flooring for pets however on the night of your late arrival were not available. I apologise for not having the room you required however if you had telephoned me when you looked up the motel's details, I would have advised you of the situation which would have save your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We were kindly given a lift back to the motel when we were stranded in town at night. Hospitality that is well above and beyond what would normally be expected for a motel. Rooms were very clean and neat, definitely would select this location again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird M, Owner at Sunbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks Alice. Glad you both enjoyed the Festival and staying at the motel. It was a pleasure meeting you both. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Sunbird Motel hosts, Jake and Lindy, were exceptionally friendly and welcoming to us and our two little doggies, during our recent short visit to Townsville!

The accommodation was clean, comfortable and affordable, with large grassed areas for the pets to use. Also, Lindy very kindly gave us a homegrown paw paw from the motel's 20-acre property. We brought the paw paw home with us and thoroughly enjoyed eating it! The paw paw had ripened nicely and had a deep, rich colour and was oh so sweet, too!

Of utmost importance to us was that our pets were so readily and warmly welcomed, and accepted inside the rooms as part of our family, which they definitely are!

For those people, like us, who travel with their much-loved pets and are looking for a warm welcome inside for their pets when visiting Townsville, Sunbird Motel is the place to be!

Thank you very much, Jake and Lindy! We look forward to our next stay at your wonderful Sunbird Motel!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 9 and 10, at the far end, as suggested in an earlier review, and were close to a large grassed area for our dogs.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird M, Owner at Sunbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hello Joan,
It was a pleasure having you, your family and beloved dogs stay with us. Look forward to seeing you all again.
Kind regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Exceptionally friendly and welcoming owners even offered to drive us to and from the airport because we had a dog with us! We stayed for two nights, one either side of a trip to NSW. Having the dog in the room raised no problems. The room was clean and well-presented, and the owners also offered us cooked meals. Great pet-friendly budget accommodation just outside Townsville. We will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelsmith2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews