We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn(Townsville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Raintree Motel(Townsville)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$111
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Motel(North Ward)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$81
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Motel(Townsville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$81
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Crest Motel(Townsville)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventurers Resort(Townsville)
US$39
US$34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel(Townsville)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$27
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Aitkenvale Motel(Townsville)
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
18
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbillabong sanctuarybruce highwaycomfortable roomair conpetsstopoverkettlenoise
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We stayed in one of the family rooms (2 adults and 2 adult children) and it was just what we needed. On the edge of town with pleasant surroundings the room was spacious and well kept. Noise from the Bruce Highway could occasionally be heard as trucks break to enter Townsville but still not a real bother. Owners and staff were friendly and fun. Only drawback was weak wifi at the far end of the building where we were located and we had to sit outside to connect. Might ask for a room closer to the office. Overall though a very good value and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Closer to office for better wifi
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HardtoPlease85741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This motel is situated close to the Bruce Highway so it is very easily accessed if you are driving. It is clean and tidy and very friendly and helpful staff made a stopover on our way to Airlie Beach a pleasant stay. If you wish to visit Billabong Sanctuary it is only five minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

I looked up a pet friendly motel for a trip to see my friends in Townsville and found the sunbird motel but when i get there at 2am the woman that came to reception was extremely rude and turned me away as they apparently only have one room that allows pets and were unable to help me out. I was treated as though i was a homeless piece of s*** and ended up having to drive back about 50km backwards to find a rest stop to be able to sleep the night and then went to the great 4 they were extremely nice and helpfull. So do yourself a favor and do not go there as you will be treated badly and they are NOT pet friendly at all.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank The Kiwi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird M, Owner at Sunbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hi, I am sorry you felt mistreated however in my defence you arrived at the motel at 2am in the morning with no prior warning and all lights including signage were switched off. We do have designated rooms with tile flooring for pets however on the night of your late arrival were not available. I apologise for not having the room you required however if you had telephoned me when you looked up the motel's details, I would have advised you of the situation which would have save your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We were kindly given a lift back to the motel when we were stranded in town at night. Hospitality that is well above and beyond what would normally be expected for a motel. Rooms were very clean and neat, definitely would select this location again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird M, Owner at Sunbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks Alice. Glad you both enjoyed the Festival and staying at the motel. It was a pleasure meeting you both. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Sunbird Motel hosts, Jake and Lindy, were exceptionally friendly and welcoming to us and our two little doggies, during our recent short visit to Townsville!

The accommodation was clean, comfortable and affordable, with large grassed areas for the pets to use. Also, Lindy very kindly gave us a homegrown paw paw from the motel's 20-acre property. We brought the paw paw home with us and thoroughly enjoyed eating it! The paw paw had ripened nicely and had a deep, rich colour and was oh so sweet, too!

Of utmost importance to us was that our pets were so readily and warmly welcomed, and accepted inside the rooms as part of our family, which they definitely are!

For those people, like us, who travel with their much-loved pets and are looking for a warm welcome inside for their pets when visiting Townsville, Sunbird Motel is the place to be!

Thank you very much, Jake and Lindy! We look forward to our next stay at your wonderful Sunbird Motel!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 9 and 10, at the far end, as suggested in an earlier review, and were close to a large grassed area for our dogs.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbird M, Owner at Sunbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hello Joan,
It was a pleasure having you, your family and beloved dogs stay with us. Look forward to seeing you all again.
Kind regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews