We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
travelup.com
FindHotel
Official Hotel
Agoda.com
Destinia.com
getaroom.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
208
125
88
79
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
208
125
88
79
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south end island resort guided snorkel tour desk seafood buffet sea life swim up bar jetski tour lunch options kids activities kids eat free school holidays resort staff king room beautiful resort stand up paddle boarding relaxing holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

Island beautiful. Service ok. Rooms ok. Food bad!

The island was beautiful unfortunately the resort itself was not so great. The bathroom was dated, dirty and not to the standard of a luxury island resort. Everything in the room felt cheap. The bed was hard, the sheets where poor quality. The pillow was lumpy. I felt like I was staying in a renovated best western motor in. Some of the staff were great. I experienced the best service at the Inkstone Restaurant. The staff were welcoming and friendly. A big thank you to the service staff there they really made it feel like we were actually in a luxury resort and gave the kind of service you would expect. Everywhere else in the resort did not live up to there standard. A staff member actually told us about how management was not great and that we could look up a current affair episode on how badly the resort was run. I would recommend to do this before you book.

The food was terrible and over priced. It was sad because this trip was a special occasion for us and we had no choice but to eat bad overpriced food. For example at Inkstone on the menu the steak was described as European imported quality!! What!! We live in Australia why would we want imported steak. When we asked the server she said that it but the case and that the steak is infact Australian... The steak came out and was under cooked, tasted watery and was served with pub style chips. Something you'd expect at a pub for $25 on a steak might not for $41 on an island resort at a "fancy" restaurant.. we still have no idea where the steak was from!

Some highlights the aquarium is beautiful and a really nice place for the kids to hangout. The living reef was perfect for kids to see the ocean life. Foyer area is large, with activities and nicely designed. The pool was clean and inviting.

I could go on about the bad stuff but I will leave the review there. We were so looking forward to our resort holiday and we tried to enjoy it and put on a brave face but it was a huge let down especially with what we paid. We left feeling ripped off. This was supposed to be a once in a lifetime holiday and we felt robbed of that.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AlpineLadyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear jok189,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback both positive and constructive on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

All guest feedback is extremely valuable, and I will look into your feedback on our facilities and service with the relevant departments for improvement. If you wish to discuss your concerns please feel free to send us an e-mail at feedback@daydreamisland.com.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your time at our Living Reef and the pool area.

We hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you back for a wonderful experience.


Thank you,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

Not happy with food quality especially dinner jn all restaurants.
Had problems with reception and reservations to update and change my bookings, made me miss half a day in arguments.
Spa with cold water , freezing.
Service was good from staff in restaurants.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 426cherifm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear 426cherifm,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay with us, and we regret to know that you were disappointed with your overall stay experience.

Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention. We will address the above points you raised with the concerned departments and review our procedures to ensure this does not happen in the future.

Your kind compliments of our restaurant associates are very much appreciated and will serve as encouragement for them to continue delivering memorable guest experiences.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality and live up to your expectations in the future.


Thank you,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

The room we stayed in was nice and big (King room). However, the shower wasn’t very good, bed was hard and uncomfortable and when they cleaned the room they did half the job.

Most staff were very friendly, however their training wasn’t up to standard. A lot of the time they were confused about their tasks. They regularly forgot things when ordering food and service was overall poor (5-10 minute waits for a drink at a bar with no line). Instead of stopping to clean the bar and serve, some staff glanced at you and continued cleaning. I was pretty amazed. It was a very quiet time at the resort, so I’d hate to be here when it was really busy.

Graze breakfast was not the best. Dinner at Infinity and Ink Stone were better, but again.. not great. Tonic Bar is a joke! Kids running around everywhere, and a staff member even coordinated a paper airplane throwing competition with the kids during lunch and drinks. A few hit us and really annoyed us. It’s great fun for the kids, but don’t do it in a bar.
If you want time without kids do not stay here! There are no adult only areas, kids even order at bars here.

Overall, this resort is not a 4.5 star. I have no idea how it can claim it is. It’s 3 star at best with 4.5 star prices. For what you get, I won’t be returning. We’re both pretty disappointed with our trip. We expected a lot more for the money we paid.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Sam H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We regret to know that your experience was not what you had expected. We try to maintain the highest standards of service and value what we can learn from our guests’ feedback.

Your concerns and comments are very well noted and will look into the same to take necessary actions.



Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

My partner and I booked daydream island even after reading some negative reviews. We thought people could possibly be exaggerating however they were 100% correct in a lot of cases. The island itself is beautiful with awesome views and beautiful crystal blue water. The wallabies on the island are great fun and let you get rather close to them and the living reef animals are stunning although the exhibit is too small for the amount of species living within it. The rooms are standard. The beds are very hard and the shower drain was clogged. We thought housekeeping would fix it the next day however we came back and the shower hadn’t been cleaned even after the room was serviced so my partner had to clean the drain out. The rooms overall are okay but they could use a face lift. The bar areas have a lot of potential however we found that there is no areas that are adults only. The tonic bar is constantly full of kids running around and screaming which I thought was very inappropriate. Having lunch and a drink one afternoon when a paper plane competition started. Our relaxing afternoon turned in to getting hit left right and centre with paper planes. Normally children are not a problem for us but when you need a break and they’re allowed everywhere it makes it hard. The food at Inkstone is good aswell as Infinity however the Graze buffet is a let down. It’s very standard food and quite overpriced for the options that are available. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly while the rest of the staff seemed to have no training whatsoever. The bartenders at all venues seem to be more interested in having a conversation amongst themselves rather then serving guests. We noticed a few times people get up and leave due to their order not being taken for 20 minutes. If it was high season or busy I could understand waiting a while but it’s very quite at the moment and they still can’t manage. A lot of the hospitality staff towards the north end of the island are very nice however need a lot more training. In our 5 day stay, we only had 1 meal that we thoroughly enjoyed and that was at Inkstone. I also looked into getting a massage and it is so overpriced. $175 for an hour, No thank you!

Overall, I wouldn’t recommend Daydream island to anyone who’s looking for a kid free holiday. It would be good for families. Daydream island has so much potential and we were quite dissatisfied as this was our first holiday since Covid hit and we were really looking forward to it.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank toneya_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2021

Dear toneya_8,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

I wish to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and for the experience you encountered during your recent stay with us.

We believe we can only improve by listening to our guests and I have personally discussed your review with the entire management team and assure you of all the corrective measures to be taken.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality and live up to your expectations in the future.


Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2021

Beautiful island.
Enjoyed a lovely weekend away.

The included kayaking/activities were fun.
Had a great time snorkelling at Lovers Cove and chatting to a fellow South Australian - (he played some great tunes on the speaker)

Will definitely be coming back :)

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank amysadventures89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2021

Dear amysadventures89,

Thank you for sharing the wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

We always strive to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience, and we are delighted to know that we were successful in achieving the same.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay, particularly the activities at South End and the snorkelling experience at Lovers Cove.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again soon!


Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews