We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
208
125
88
79
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
208
125
88
79
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south end island resort guided snorkel tour desk seafood buffet sea life swim up bar jetski tour lunch options kids activities kids eat free school holidays resort staff king room beautiful resort stand up paddle boarding relaxing holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 7 days, wish we a bit researched further, would have only stayed a few nights and stayed elsewhere for the remainder. As we entered out rooms it was very underwhelming, did not look like the photos considering we paid almost $550 a night, although the view of the water and the wide life was lovely. There isn’t much of a range of food to choose from the 3 different restaurants, would recommend filling up on breakfast as it is free and the food and beverages are very expensive. Didn’t swim in the pools or spa once as they were freezing, no heating at all, which was disappointing. The kids staying at the resort chose to swim in the spa as it was slightly warmer then the pools. The staircase near our apartment hadn’t been cleaned the entire week of our stay, it become very dirty with a lot of faeces. There is no ventilation in the bathroom, not surprised there is a big mould issue within the resort once I researched further. The mini bar only got stocked the second or third day of our stay, and room service to clean and restock towels etc missed our room for 2 days in a row. The tv constantly had issues with the sound, would need to restart and unplug a few times to get it working again, along with the temperate settings on the AC. We booked dinner on our last night at infinity, turned up at 5pm for an early beverage, had to order a drink from downstairs, waited around to realise it was not opening that night, other guests also had a booking and were disappointed, seems to be poor management and lack of staff. The majority of the staff were quite lovely and friendly. I would highly recommend the sailing day tour ‘Camira’, probably the highlight of our holiday, along with the jet ski tour. Nice holiday to relax, enjoy the views and the wild life, however need to be prepared to spend quite a bit for food and beverages, we ended up cruising back to Airlie to get snacks and drinks. Overall a nice holiday, however unfortunately not worth the money paid for the accommodation.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear Megan W,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

Glad to know that you enjoyed the view of the water and the wide life of the island.

Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention. We will address the above points you raised with the concerned departments and review our procedures to take corrective measures.


Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2021 via mobile

We were in a “two” island day trip and disembarked here as a first stop. There less than a handful of activities (fish feeding, watching underwater fish) and both were pathetic. The boat crew hardly gave any instructions and generally lackadaisical about guests.

There is a lounge and a extremely priced bar that does not offer any food until midday!!

The cruise people give you two hours and you don’t have activities that requires past 20 min.

If you take this tour for whatever reason, better off going straight to Hamilton island and save yourself some time.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank teshil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear teshil,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

We regret to know that your experience was not what you had expected. We try to maintain the highest standards of service and value what we can learn from our guests’ feedback.

Your concerns and comments are very well-noted and we will look to take necessary actions.

Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention.


Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

Island beautiful. Service ok. Rooms ok. Food bad!

The island was beautiful unfortunately the resort itself was not so great. The bathroom was dated, dirty and not to the standard of a luxury island resort. Everything in the room felt cheap. The bed was hard, the sheets where poor quality. The pillow was lumpy. I felt like I was staying in a renovated best western motor in. Some of the staff were great. I experienced the best service at the Inkstone Restaurant. The staff were welcoming and friendly. A big thank you to the service staff there they really made it feel like we were actually in a luxury resort and gave the kind of service you would expect. Everywhere else in the resort did not live up to there standard. A staff member actually told us about how management was not great and that we could look up a current affair episode on how badly the resort was run. I would recommend to do this before you book.

The food was terrible and over priced. It was sad because this trip was a special occasion for us and we had no choice but to eat bad overpriced food. For example at Inkstone on the menu the steak was described as European imported quality!! What!! We live in Australia why would we want imported steak. When we asked the server she said that it but the case and that the steak is infact Australian... The steak came out and was under cooked, tasted watery and was served with pub style chips. Something you'd expect at a pub for $25 on a steak might not for $41 on an island resort at a "fancy" restaurant.. we still have no idea where the steak was from!

Some highlights the aquarium is beautiful and a really nice place for the kids to hangout. The living reef was perfect for kids to see the ocean life. Foyer area is large, with activities and nicely designed. The pool was clean and inviting.

I could go on about the bad stuff but I will leave the review there. We were so looking forward to our resort holiday and we tried to enjoy it and put on a brave face but it was a huge let down especially with what we paid. We left feeling ripped off. This was supposed to be a once in a lifetime holiday and we felt robbed of that.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AlpineLadyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear jok189,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback both positive and constructive on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

All guest feedback is extremely valuable, and I will look into your feedback on our facilities and service with the relevant departments for improvement. If you wish to discuss your concerns please feel free to send us an e-mail at feedback@daydreamisland.com.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your time at our Living Reef and the pool area.

We hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you back for a wonderful experience.


Thank you,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

Not happy with food quality especially dinner jn all restaurants.
Had problems with reception and reservations to update and change my bookings, made me miss half a day in arguments.
Spa with cold water , freezing.
Service was good from staff in restaurants.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 426cherifm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear 426cherifm,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay with us, and we regret to know that you were disappointed with your overall stay experience.

Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention. We will address the above points you raised with the concerned departments and review our procedures to ensure this does not happen in the future.

Your kind compliments of our restaurant associates are very much appreciated and will serve as encouragement for them to continue delivering memorable guest experiences.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality and live up to your expectations in the future.


Thank you,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

The room we stayed in was nice and big (King room). However, the shower wasn’t very good, bed was hard and uncomfortable and when they cleaned the room they did half the job.

Most staff were very friendly, however their training wasn’t up to standard. A lot of the time they were confused about their tasks. They regularly forgot things when ordering food and service was overall poor (5-10 minute waits for a drink at a bar with no line). Instead of stopping to clean the bar and serve, some staff glanced at you and continued cleaning. I was pretty amazed. It was a very quiet time at the resort, so I’d hate to be here when it was really busy.

Graze breakfast was not the best. Dinner at Infinity and Ink Stone were better, but again.. not great. Tonic Bar is a joke! Kids running around everywhere, and a staff member even coordinated a paper airplane throwing competition with the kids during lunch and drinks. A few hit us and really annoyed us. It’s great fun for the kids, but don’t do it in a bar.
If you want time without kids do not stay here! There are no adult only areas, kids even order at bars here.

Overall, this resort is not a 4.5 star. I have no idea how it can claim it is. It’s 3 star at best with 4.5 star prices. For what you get, I won’t be returning. We’re both pretty disappointed with our trip. We expected a lot more for the money we paid.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Sam H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We regret to know that your experience was not what you had expected. We try to maintain the highest standards of service and value what we can learn from our guests’ feedback.

Your concerns and comments are very well noted and will look into the same to take necessary actions.



Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews