We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$279
View deal
Booking.com
US$277
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$237
View deal
Hotels.comUS$279
PricelineUS$279
Trip.comUS$344
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
205
122
82
75
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
205
122
82
75
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south end guided snorkel tour desk sea life seafood buffet island resort swim up bar jetski tour lunch options kids activities kids eat free beautiful island school holidays king room resort staff stand up paddle boarding the great barrier reef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2021

Overall, underwhelming for the price. The resort does not have a sand beach around it which I feel takes away some of the magic of an island experience. I was put off paddling because of the coral bed in the water and on the beach.
The marine lagoons are definitely the highlight as are the marine scientists and staff who take great care of animals and grounds, as well as providing great education to guests. The snorkelling experience with the fish and sting rays was the highlight of the trip. Wonderful to experience wildlife literally living on the island around you whilst you wander through the resort.
Food and beverage was overpriced but the buffet and food quality was very good.
Lack of staffing meant that service in the main restaurant was lacking and tables left unkept. This was definitely the low light given food and beverage is such a huge part of the experience.
Reception staff and Cruising staff excellent as were housekeeping staff. All staff very friendly and accommodating.
Rooms could have been serviced better given the price of them. Towels only replaced if they were left on the floor for example.
It is a place to stay for just a couple of nights in my opinion, as part of a broader island hopping experience. Highlight and point of difference is the marine lagoon.
Rooms and F&B overpriced.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey_theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Dear tracey_theresa,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay with us, and we regret to know that you were disappointed with your stay experience.

Your kind compliments of our staff members are very much appreciated and will serve as encouragement for them to continue delivering memorable guest experiences.

Your concerns and comments are very well-noted and we will look to take necessary actions.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality and live up to your expectations in the future.


Kind Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

Had a great time as a day visitor. Loved the living reef. Was wonderful to watch the rays and fish in the living reef, and had a delicious lunch at Inkstone. It was particularly cool to see the wildlife: Goannas, kangaroos and birds. Highly recommend a visit!

Room tip: Day trips not available during school holidays.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Jac3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Dear Jac3131,


Thank you for sharing the wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

We always strive to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience, and we are delighted to know that we were successful in achieving the same.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay, particularly the lunch at Inkstone and our Underwater Observatory.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again soon!


Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2021

We spent a week at Daydream Island during the school holidays. We were really disappointed to see the bad media reports that came out after we had booked. However, we had a fantastic time at the resort. Most facilities are new and everything is in great condition; staff are super friendly and helpful. The resort activities are fantastic. The kids loved the stingray splash, snorkelling in the living reef and the fish feeding. The sparkling kayak tour was lovely also. Make sure to catch a sunset with some bubbles at Lovers Cove. The live music was just beautiful. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MatthiasZ233
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear MatthiasZ233,

It is motivating to receive such invaluable comments from our guests and especially when we were able to go beyond and live up to their expectations.

I truly appreciate your kind words about our services, associates, and overall the beautiful Island experience you had with your family at Daydream Island. It was a delight to know your kids loved the stingray splash, snorkeling at our Living Reef.

The team at Daydream looks forward to welcoming you back.


Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 7 days, wish we a bit researched further, would have only stayed a few nights and stayed elsewhere for the remainder. As we entered out rooms it was very underwhelming, did not look like the photos considering we paid almost $550 a night, although the view of the water and the wide life was lovely. There isn’t much of a range of food to choose from the 3 different restaurants, would recommend filling up on breakfast as it is free and the food and beverages are very expensive. Didn’t swim in the pools or spa once as they were freezing, no heating at all, which was disappointing. The kids staying at the resort chose to swim in the spa as it was slightly warmer then the pools. The staircase near our apartment hadn’t been cleaned the entire week of our stay, it become very dirty with a lot of faeces. There is no ventilation in the bathroom, not surprised there is a big mould issue within the resort once I researched further. The mini bar only got stocked the second or third day of our stay, and room service to clean and restock towels etc missed our room for 2 days in a row. The tv constantly had issues with the sound, would need to restart and unplug a few times to get it working again, along with the temperate settings on the AC. We booked dinner on our last night at infinity, turned up at 5pm for an early beverage, had to order a drink from downstairs, waited around to realise it was not opening that night, other guests also had a booking and were disappointed, seems to be poor management and lack of staff. The majority of the staff were quite lovely and friendly. I would highly recommend the sailing day tour ‘Camira’, probably the highlight of our holiday, along with the jet ski tour. Nice holiday to relax, enjoy the views and the wild life, however need to be prepared to spend quite a bit for food and beverages, we ended up cruising back to Airlie to get snacks and drinks. Overall a nice holiday, however unfortunately not worth the money paid for the accommodation.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear Megan W,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

Glad to know that you enjoyed the view of the water and the wide life of the island.

Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention. We will address the above points you raised with the concerned departments and review our procedures to take corrective measures.


Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2021 via mobile

We were in a “two” island day trip and disembarked here as a first stop. There less than a handful of activities (fish feeding, watching underwater fish) and both were pathetic. The boat crew hardly gave any instructions and generally lackadaisical about guests.

There is a lounge and a extremely priced bar that does not offer any food until midday!!

The cruise people give you two hours and you don’t have activities that requires past 20 min.

If you take this tour for whatever reason, better off going straight to Hamilton island and save yourself some time.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank teshil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear teshil,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

We regret to know that your experience was not what you had expected. We try to maintain the highest standards of service and value what we can learn from our guests’ feedback.

Your concerns and comments are very well-noted and we will look to take necessary actions.

Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention.


Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews