We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$262
View deal
Hotels.com
US$262
View deal
Destinia.com
US$221
View deal
Booking.comUS$262
PricelineUS$262
Official HotelUS$282
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
205
122
81
75
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
205
122
81
75
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south end guided snorkel tour desk seafood buffet sea life island resort swim up bar jetski tour lunch options kids activities kids eat free beautiful island school holidays king room resort staff stand up paddle boarding the great barrier reef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2021

We had a week there to escape the Melbourne winter (we missed the lockdown by two days).

It was excellent. We did all the free water sports, the boat tour out to the reef, the catamaran tour out to the nearby islands, the jetski tour and the guided snorkel in their aquarium and would recommend all of them.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear Peter S,

It is motivating to receive such invaluable comments from our guests, especially when we deliver beyond and live up to their expectations.

Glad to note that you enjoyed our water sports, the catamaran tour out to the nearby islands, and overall a perfect escape from Melbourne winter at Daydream Island.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.


Kind regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021 via mobile

Please if you are reading the negative reviews on here, IGNORE THEM! Our 5 day holiday was the best! From the moment we arrived to when we left, we experienced nothing but 5 star service, food snd entertainment! Our room was an Ground Floor Ocean View Room, it was a large room, great King bed, and large ground floor balcony to soak up the sun and the view. Clean tidy and exceptionally maintained. We loved Lovers Cove not only for the beautiful sunset and being entertained by a musician, the snorkelling in this area is a real buzz as well. Also if you can do the Rainforest Walk. Housekeeping staff were friendly and accommodating, as were Reception, Porters and Tour Desk. We can thoroughly recommend the JetSki Tour and a MUST DO is the Helicopter Champagne Tour to Whitehaven, our pilot, Zane was amazing Congratulations Daydream, you exceeded our expectations and everyone else we met while being there
We will be back, but want to book a longer trip

Room tip: Feel free to message me for any further tips
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rudes666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Dear Rudes666,

Thank you for taking the time to share the wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

It is motivating to receive such invaluable comments from our guests and especially when we were able to go beyond and live up to their expectations.

I truly appreciate your kind words about our services, facilities, and overall a great holiday experience you had at Daydream Island. It was a delight to know you enjoyed the rainforest walk and time at our Lovers Cove.

The team at Daydream looks forward to welcoming you back.


Kind regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

I won’t lie we were a little nervous after reading the reviews - had we of read them first we might not of booked…but I can confidently say they are potentially all a bit dramatic!

Yes the resort is understaffed and it is frustrating that the restaurants aren’t all open but it is obvious they are suffering staffing issues post covid. We had a few housekeeping issues but were all sorted.

The good stuff. Rooms are great, good size, modern and family friendly - I recommend the poolside rooms. The food is good, potentially a little pricey but you expect that and there could be more variety but what is available is a good standard.

The pools are amazing and the Living Reef magical! The staff at the tour desk are really helpful and knowledgeable.

If you are looking for a laid back relaxing holidays where you don’t have to be frantic and just chill Daydream Island is for you!

Room tip: If you want to go to Infinity book well in advance
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hol_and_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Dear hol_and_b,


Thank you for choosing Daydream Island, and appreciate you taking out time to review us.

Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and we strive to ensure our guests leave feeling better than when they arrived.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us; particularly the pool and Living Reef.

Your kind compliments for our tour desk team are very much appreciated and will surely serve as an encouragement to continue delivering memorable guest experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.


Kind regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021

Overall, underwhelming for the price. The resort does not have a sand beach around it which I feel takes away some of the magic of an island experience. I was put off paddling because of the coral bed in the water and on the beach.
The marine lagoons are definitely the highlight as are the marine scientists and staff who take great care of animals and grounds, as well as providing great education to guests. The snorkelling experience with the fish and sting rays was the highlight of the trip. Wonderful to experience wildlife literally living on the island around you whilst you wander through the resort.
Food and beverage was overpriced but the buffet and food quality was very good.
Lack of staffing meant that service in the main restaurant was lacking and tables left unkept. This was definitely the low light given food and beverage is such a huge part of the experience.
Reception staff and Cruising staff excellent as were housekeeping staff. All staff very friendly and accommodating.
Rooms could have been serviced better given the price of them. Towels only replaced if they were left on the floor for example.
It is a place to stay for just a couple of nights in my opinion, as part of a broader island hopping experience. Highlight and point of difference is the marine lagoon.
Rooms and F&B overpriced.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey_theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Dear tracey_theresa,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay with us, and we regret to know that you were disappointed with your stay experience.

Your kind compliments of our staff members are very much appreciated and will serve as encouragement for them to continue delivering memorable guest experiences.

Your concerns and comments are very well-noted and we will look to take necessary actions.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality and live up to your expectations in the future.


Kind Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

Had a great time as a day visitor. Loved the living reef. Was wonderful to watch the rays and fish in the living reef, and had a delicious lunch at Inkstone. It was particularly cool to see the wildlife: Goannas, kangaroos and birds. Highly recommend a visit!

Room tip: Day trips not available during school holidays.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Jac3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Dear Jac3131,


Thank you for sharing the wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

We always strive to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience, and we are delighted to know that we were successful in achieving the same.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay, particularly the lunch at Inkstone and our Underwater Observatory.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again soon!


Regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews