We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$275
View deal
Hotels.com
US$275
View deal
Official Hotel
US$178
View deal
Booking.comUS$275
FindHotelUS$271
Trip.comUS$276
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
205
121
81
75
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
205
121
81
75
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south end guided snorkel tour desk seafood buffet sea life island resort swim up bar jetski tour lunch options kids activities kids eat free beautiful island school holidays king room resort staff stand up paddle boarding the great barrier reef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2021 via mobile

Jet skiing was an absolutely amazing experience not only were we shown how to safely operate but also given opertunities to enjoy the scenery and learn the history of the area. The tour guide was fantastic and super keen to show us a good time. Cant wait ro do it again soon. Would recommend this to anyone experienced or not.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Patrickdaydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Dear Patrickdaydream,

Thank you for sharing wonderful feedback on your recent experience at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

We always strive to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience, and we are delighted to know that we were successful in achieving the same.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your visit, particularly the Jet Ski experience, and happy to note that our associates were able to assist you.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again soon!


Kind regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2021

We stayed for 8 nights mid August. The resort was nice and we were grateful to get to be away on a holiday and most of the staff were great. We did however leave feeling disappointed and despite contacting management about this, didn’t get a response.

* coffee machine at buffet breakfast broke and we were told we’d have to buy them from the bar instead. Even at half price, this is not reasonable as it wasn’t our fault the machines were broken and unlimited coffee was included with the breakfast.
* the buffet dinner wasn’t open at all during our stay which meant we were craving vegetables at the half way point of our stay. And the budget got rather blown!
* most of the buffet breakfast staff were super lazy and seemed really bored. We appreciate there sometimes can reasons for this, however they didn’t even rush to shoo the birds away when they were eating from the buffet or egg stations. Easy way to lose appetite. Also the food was often cold.

We’ve travelled a lot overseas and thought we’d support Australian domestic travel, but it further highlighted why we love going overseas so much. But… perhaps Hamilton Island or Airlie Beach would be better. More food options, a convenience store …

For the positives (which earned the two stars)
* Lovers Cove was beautiful. Thank you to Eliza for the great tunes which set the best vibe
* Bruno, Meg and Raphaela in F&B made our stay so much more enjoyable and they did their best to do what they could to improve things for us
* INFINITY!!!! My absolute highlight. The duck was amazing, deserts amazing, it was just amazing!!

If you do end up going there or have a trip planned;
* the bingo is free - give it a go even though it says there is a charge
* the alcohol is super overpriced at a non BYO resort - just saying!!
* no coat hangers in any of the rooms (we stayed in two rooms)
* sit away from the water at the breakfast and enjoy less bird disturbance
* take a water bottle and have the bar fill it for you - there are no water filters anywhere
* take advantage of the free water sports, they are great
* take your own snacks (chips, chocolate etc)
* head to the fish feeding at 10am, watch the fish in the downstairs aquarium, both are free and awesome
* and finally, don’t stay too long. 9 days was way too much for us

We rarely have negative things to say about holidays, hotels or resorts and we’ve stayed at hundreds. But we didn’t want you to feel the same way so thought we’d better be honest. Hopefully though, you enjoy it more then we did, it even better, management listen to our feedback.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank MoniqueA1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2021

Dear MoniqueA1508,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay, and appreciate you taking out time to review us.

Delighted to note that you're enjoyed your experience at Infinity restaurant and Lovers Cove. Your kind compliments of our associates are very much appreciated and will serve as encouragement for them to continue delivering memorable guest experiences. We will share your valuable feedback with Bruno, Meg, and Raphaela.

All guest feedback is extremely valuable, and I will look into your feedback on our facilities and service with the relevant departments for improvement. If you wish to discuss your concerns please feel free to send us an e-mail at feedback@daydreamisland.com.

We hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you back for a wonderful experience.


Kind regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2021

Amazing stay at Daydream Island resort. Beautiful location, perfect for relaxing with plenty of activities on offer. Loved the water sports, our paddle board instructor was super helpful teaching us how to paddle board for the first time & was one of many super friendly staff.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Canitravelyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2021

Dear Canitravelyet,

Thank you for taking the time to share the wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

It is motivating to receive such invaluable comments from our guests and especially when we were able to go beyond and live up to their expectations.

I truly appreciate your kind words about our facilities and the overall relaxing holiday experience you had at Daydream Island. It was a delight to know you enjoyed our water sports and the paddleboard experience for the first time.

The team at Daydream looks forward to welcoming you back.


Kind regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Not a luxury stay as advertised - in fact nothing is as advertised. From the second you arrive to when you leave this is extremely underwhelming.

There’s some immediate actions the resort could take to massively improve its winter and year round setup.

Visit the nearby similarly priced resorts - its night and day.
This place should not of reopened.

Heat the pools - there’s no beach and for half the year on such a tiny island there’s nothing to do if you can’t use the pool.

Add some typical essentials to the store by reception with tampons, painkillers / sun cream - I mean seriously !?

Fire everyone who has anything to do with that breakfast!!! Everything had been out for hours was over cooked or in the case of the bread was completely stale. Only one coffee machine is on and even it doesn’t do a great job. I could of thrown a sausage across the room and it would of bounced back.

For dinner with the limited options A The two menus are really tired for the two available restaurants - in particular the Asian themed restaurant is just totally out of place with its decor - ie dirty carpet. The staff in the restaurants were super nice though.

Room cleaning forgot to replace shampoo and gave two body washes and then forgot to put a replacement bag in the bin / left the bin half out in the room 0_o

The kayaks and hobie craft are located at the end of a short walk - totally separate from the rest of the resort. They are in what I’d describe as a broken sad times 90s resort love child that is extremely depressing to walk through.

Bizarrely while unheated both pool areas are supervised by life guards who are bored to tears as no ones getting into those pools. Even the jacuzzi is lukewarm …

Ordered a coffee in the tonic bar - red haired girl wandered around - cleaned some random counters when I asked why it was taking so long she said she would make it now - I said don’t bother I’ll have a refund as I needed to catch the ferry shorty she couldn’t refund and said I’d need to go to reception - she never apologized and they were not busy petty as this is I went to reception only to be told it wasn’t possible and it needed to be refunded by the first girl that sent me away - Fml guys. I wasn’t worth 30mins of my life and off I went to the ferry no coffee and 10 bucks gone lol ?

Fire alarm went off first night at midnight - went wandering only to find a panicked staff member trying to figure out why it went off - turned out to be a false alarm…

The resorts website banner picture is from before the cyclone and masquerades as sandy beached resort - this is just misleading. It’s all hard on your feet coral.

This resorts only saving grace is that it’s serviced by ocean rafting and cruise whitsundays so you can see the attractions of the area as the resort itself is unfortunately very poor. If you have to - only stay 1 night - which leads me to the cost of ferry return for two people - 160 dollars for 2 people return to Hamilton - it’s a 20min transfer.

Room tip: Bring anything you might need as there are no tiny essentials store in the resort And only stay for one night if at all
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank 935brendanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Dear 935brendanl,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay with us, and we regret to know that you were disappointed with your stay experience.

Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention. We will address the above points you raised with the concerned departments and review our procedures to ensure this does not happen in the future. If you wish to discuss your concerns with us please feel free to send us an e-mail at feedback@daydreamisland.com.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality and live up to your expectations in the future.


Kind regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

I must admit after reading the reviews I was hesitant to book a holiday here, however we were pleasantly surprised and in a big way! We were greeted off the ferry with a warm smile and beautiful shell necklaces which was a nice touch. We then approached the check in desk and were again greeted with nothing but friendly staff. We had a small wait for our room as we arrived a little early, so we explored the island. My 9 year old loved the underwater observatory. The island was clean and well maintained. We were upgraded to a harbour view room which was amazing. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The best part was our view! In the afternoons we had kangaroos and cockatoos right outside our room. The food was great. We mostly had the takeaway options. Breakfast was enjoyable with loads of variety. Lovers cove is a gorgeous little spot. It wasn’t overly busy during our stay but we liked it that way. All of the staff were fantastic, we even had staff members happy to have a chat after they had finished work for the day. Just as we were getting ready to leave the island we met the beautiful Jemimah who offered us a little impromptu tour of the island on the back of the buggy. This was a fantastic way to end our little getaway. We can’t wait to go back!
Well done team Daydream!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 853sarahjayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Dear 853sarahjayner,


Thank you for taking the time to share the wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef.

It is motivating to receive such invaluable comments from our guests, especially when we could go beyond and live up to their expectations.

I truly appreciate your kind words about our services, facilities, and overall relaxing experience you had at Daydream Island. It was a delight to know that you enjoyed the breakfast at Graze restaurant and our Lovers Cove is most of our guest's favorite spot. Happy to note that your 9-year-old enjoyed our Underwater Observatory,

Your kind compliments of our associates are very much appreciated and will serve as encouragement for them to continue delivering memorable guest experiences.

The team at Daydream looks forward to welcoming you back.


Kind regards,

Dilip Madhok
Chief Operating Officer
Daydream and South Molle Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews