We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only Paradise in Australia's dreamland”
Review of Qualia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qualia Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Hamilton Island is another world buzzing with Buggys, yet once the grandeur gates of Qualia open, you enter ecstasy. This place is like no other.
Reception greets you with a magical sea backdrop, a fabulous glass of French bubbly and you are told to sit, lift nothing and do nothing but be pampered. And that we did for 3 days.
We booked the Leeward Pavillion, which was beautiful, however did request to change rooms to get a pavillion with a pool (Windward Pavillion). Bite the bullet, upgrade and you get so much more bang for your buck in difference. Larger rooms, fabulous pool/ entertaining area. So so luxurious.
Enjoy the facilities, it was hard for us to leave the resort. Breakfast - amazing! Share a cheese platter at the Main poolside dining area, another view not to be missed. And have a go at Sailing, you will be looked after. Quite a thrill.
But do enjoy the ride. We loved the world of buggys. If you forget to charge overnight, fear nothing, its like you have little martians who come around at all times of the day to ensure you are charged.
Only downside - Crazily expensive. If you want a Burger / BLT by poolside, be prepared to depart with $50. I was embarrassed as an Aussie at these rates. Overseas guests were speaking very negatively of this.
I loved the place, but because of the ridiculous prices, it will be hard to get me back. Once in a lifetime experience though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domes36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,188 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

This was my second stay at Qualia and decided to try the Beach House for 3 nights. The room defiantly was amazing with a full sized pool plus guest house! Sadly the weather was pouring rain for our entire stay so we didn’t get to use the pool. The staff are amazing and the dinning experience was brilliant! I am looking forward to my next stay (fingers cross the weather will be better)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at Qualia for four nights on our 30th Anniversary trip in January. The resort is wonderful with beautiful grounds, stunning rooms, attentive and friendly service, and on an island with plenty to do.

The rooms (really private pavilions) were huge and very luxurious and comfortable. Perfect for a romantic getaway--plunge pool, private daybed, chaise lounges in the sun, absolutely top shelf all the way.

The food prices are high, but there are alternatives in town which is a short ride on the provided golf cart. Nowhere is cheap, but we enjoyed the food and the island was very easy to get around on and explore.

We were fortunate to have wonderful weather and used it to go to the barrier reef for snorkeling, to take the speedboat to Whitehaven Beach (gorgeous and virtually empty), to go to the Hamilton Island Golf Club (stunning holes), to hike to the top of Passage Peak (great hiking trails on the island), go to the main pool, use our plunge pool and basically be outside the whole day.

The Whitsundays are beautiful--it reminded me of the Cairibbean if you took 95% of the people and all the buildings away--gorgeous beaches, stunning warm emerald water, the photos on the website don't do it justice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPS500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed three night in a Windward Pavillion and our expectations were met in every way.

After staying at some of the most amazing resorts around the world it's about time Australia had a resort that competes agains the best.
Our room was 120sqm, had a great a view and was very private. Whilst the service is just ok the staff were always very pleasant and perhaps our expectation was as high as some other travelers.

Now for the best bit, I will return to Qualia again soon but not for the great accommodation, the helicopter flights, the beautiful sunset cruise, great day spa what will bring me back is the SENSATIONAL FOOD prepared by the Qualia team headed up by
Jane.

Our package included all Dinners and I was a little concerned I may be bored with the same food however a different menu was provided each night and the farewell lobster dish created for us was one of the best meals ever.

We have booked to return again soon and are also excited about attending again in November for the Great Barrier Reef Feast with Dan Hunter from Royal Mail.

Thanks Qualia for a truly great resort.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnno1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Firstly, credit where I believe credit is due - the location is stunning and the resort is beautiful and we did have a couple of lovely staff members during our stay, sadly however, that is where the good news ends. My husband and I went to Qualia for a 5 day break in May 2010 before our second baby was due in late June. We desperately wanted it to be amazing as it is a great location for a brief 'parents only' trip which we would have loved to do a couple of times a year. We will not be returning to Qualia again. Below is an exert of the email we sent to Qualia management outlining our various 'issues.' ....

Among a general lack of enthusiasm and unhelpfulness, we would like to highlight these incidents in particular:

1. Upon arrival to our first room, we were shocked at the lack of cleanliness, to the point where we questioned whether the room had been cleaned at all. There were dirty tissues on the outdoor furniture, jam smeared over the balcony hand rails, decking and outdoor table and the daybed cover was filthy and stained. Inside, the bathroom floor had not been swept or mopped and there were bits of tissue on the floor. When housekeeping arrived to rectify the situation even they commented on the state of the room.

2. We understand these things can happen from time to time in any business however the manner in which it was handled in our case was disappointing. After these understandably disappointing first impressions, we called guest services to request a room change. After having to call a second time, we were informed by Sam (the manager on duty) that there was nothing that could be done and we'd have to wait until tomorrow to move rooms. This was all handled in a rather offhand manner over the phone when face to face contact seemed more appropriate. After no further contact we approached guest services around midday the next morning to enquire on whether we would be getting a new room, at which point we were handed a key and a map and told our luggage would be transferred. Again, we feel it would have been more appropriate for a staff member, in person, to accompany us to the room to ensure it was satisfactory. The new room was everything we expected of qualia, absolutely stunning. However, 3 hours and two phone calls later our luggage had still not been transferred!

3. At dinner that night, we requested to view your prominently displayed cellar in order to clarify some of the french vintages available. We were told by a waitress that your 'sommelier' would show us through. After having interested sommeliers show us through some of France's best caves and Asia's premier cellars, we were amazed by his condescending, unhelpful and obnoxious manner, that unfortunately lingered throughout the rest of our stay. We were intending to purchase a white burgundy however after this treatment we went with a much less expensive alternative.

4. Communication appears to be a major problem at qualia. After receiving no communication regarding departure the evening before our check out (and in fact having been invited for cocktails on the helipad the evening after our scheduled departure), we called and were told the shuttle departure time for the airport. The next morning while checking out, we were asked if we were departing early as apparently we were booked to stay another night! ......

After being contacted by management rather swiftly we were promised that Qualia would rectify the situation (I'm not sure how given that by this stage we were already home in Melbourne) however, that was the last we ever heard of them. I'm also tired of hearing the same 'transient staffing' problem for Queensland island resorts by way of excuse. We stayed at Lizard Island a number of years ago (far more remote) and the staff were wonderful, attentive yet discret and unobtrusive.

Clearly this was a memorable (for all the wrong reasons!) stay as we were at Qualia in May 2010 and it is still irking me enough to write a review some 10 months later! Hopefully this was just our expereience and if you do decide to go to Qualia your '$1600 a night experience' will be well worth it, however.... buyer be warned!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MrsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
2 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
1.9 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,522 reviews
11 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
593 reviews
26.2 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
25.1 km away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qualia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualia Resort

Address: 20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $1,117 - $2,068 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Qualia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Whitsundays, qualia puts the wonders of the Great Barrier Reef right on your doorstep. Its sun-drenched northern aspect provides the ideal location to appreciate the passing beauty of each day, surrounding guests with some of the most stunning and spectacular waters to be found anywhere in the world. What’s more, with a direct flight taking only 2-3 hours from international gateway cities on Australia’s east coast, qualia truly is a world-class destination without the journey.qualia offers a choice of 60 individual pavilions, each with breathtaking views. There are spacious one-bedroom freestanding pavilions (Windward and Leeward) that provide an indulgentspace to relax in and unwind, with either a sundeck or private infinity edge plunge pool. Or, there’s the uncompromising luxury and privacy of the Beach House with its own guest pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qualia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qualia Hamilton Island
Qualia Hotel Hamilton Island
Qualia Resort Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing