We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Poor air conditioning & silly policy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leederville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor air conditioning & silly policy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Room and staff were pretty good and location great. Air conditioning only works with key in (pretty common). However, room was too hot when we checked in and took 4 hours to cool down. When we left during day, we left key in to keep room cool. Staff removed key, leaving room too hot on our return. Stood by their policy to remove keys when room not occupied and offered to move us to another room with same policy! I get conservation but the air conditioning system simply isn't up to it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmagperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    601
    122
    31
    13
See reviews for
180
511
102
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
665 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I've stayed at Crowne Plaza Adelaide on several occasions, and my most recent stay was as enjoyable as ever.

This hotel is located in an amazing part of the city and is central to most major attractions. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and the rooms spacious and comfortable.

My only critical comment relates to the hotel's restaurant Red Salt. This is the second time I have eaten there for dinner and both times I have been surprised by the fact that the menu is not particularly over burdened by choice. This time the food was not particularly up to scratch either - particularly considering the price.

Breakfast on the other hand has always been generous and lovely (although still quite pricey)

All in all, I'd certainly recommen Crowne Plaza if you are in Adelaide

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza for my fiances birthday. We've stayed there before and it was fantastic which is why we returned, and we were not disappointed. From the moment you pull up the service is impeccable. The guy at valet made us feel very welcome and was cracking jokes with us. When i booked i vaguely remember mentioning we were staying for my partners birthday. During check-in the girl wished him happy birthday. We had our room upgraded to a balcony and received late check out too. She kindly made a dinner reservation for us too. She must have passed on that it was his birthday because when we arrived in the restaurant, Red Salt, they also wished him happy birthday. The food was to die for and our dessert came out with happy 30th birthday written in chocolate on the edge of the plate. He looked at me and said "did you organise this?" I hadn't, It's the finer details like these that makes the Crowne Plaza so special. The whole stay was wonderful i wish i could stay here every weekend. We will most definitely be back for my birthday.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe and got up graded to a room with a balcony overlooking Hindmarsh Square, we loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missaj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Dont expect a five star hotel here.

Location is excellent near to everything. Bit of a problem at checkin. when Arriving from a long flight from London I realised my australian credit card and money was in a purse at the bottom of my hand luggage.The girl would not let me go to my room and then come back down again with the credit card. As I had prepaid for the room and as a middle aged woman dont think I look like the sort of person to trash a room or drink the bar dry I was a bit astounded. I then had to unload all my personal effects onto the reception counter in order to find the credit card.I was not impressed!!

The room was fine but not large.If my husband had been with me I would have only had about 6inches between the bed and the chair beside it, not sure how I was supposed to get out of the bed. I had no bath and the room was overlooking a carpark.The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

Staff were friendly and service good , especially for adelaide where service can be poor.

Would stay again but only if on special, wouldnt pay full price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayloverAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the crowne plaza on Feb 20 in a king dlxe room.The room was very clean and bathroom fantastic.Staff were always polite and helpful.Valet parking was easy and the buffet breakfast was a delight.
Great location for shopping in rundle mall,2 min walk and 5 min walk to great restaurants and cinemas in rundle street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftyplus50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 59 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.1 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.9 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#9 of 59 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.7 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.9 km away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 59 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Property: Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $128 - $443
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing