We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Cave Hotel(Coober Pedy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Opal Inn(Coober Pedy)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
386
255
32
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
255
32
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground experiencegreat sunsetsunrise and sunsetunique experiencedegree viewstaying undergroundunderground motelin townbucket listconstant temperaturefamily roomstay there againa great place to stayjohns pizzaunderground livinggreat spotcooper pedy
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

On arrival the helpful chap at Reception greeted us and showed us to our room. There was a lovely view over the town as the Lookout Cave Underground Motel is built into the hill...we had a very quiet and comfortable room . Quite a fascinating experience, as we were shown the machinery that is used to tunnel into the hill to expand the underground rooms. Our host also suggested where we could find something to eat...Johns pizza was our choice and it was delicious! A very unique experience in an unusual town that has Opal shops galore. Would recommend this hotel when visiting Coober Pedy.

Room Tip: All rooms are underground....temperature is constant.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank janmO9956SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The top of the hill looks like nothing. In fact, most of Coober Pedy looks like the land that time forgot. Buried beneath the hill, the Lookout Cave Underground Motel is a unique space. As the name suggests, it's underground, so your room is carved out of the rock. The bed is extremely comfortable, and while the space is simple, we found we had all that we needed, including free wifi. The only thing we did notice is that throughout the night you could hear what almost sounded like dripping. Then we realised, it's little pieces of the rocky roof flaking off! A little unnerving, but apparently nothing to worry about! We really love the atmosphere here, and you get a brilliant view of both sunrise and sunset from the top of the hill that this hotel is under. Just take care, the route up the side of the hill is steep and rough to say the least.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank darksbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely underground hotel up on the hill, you can climb on the rooftop to watch the sunset. Take a bottle of champagne and some nibbles. The rooms are lovely and spacious bathroom is a bit small but nice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Loved staying underground.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CMN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

I can see why this is rated number one in Coober Pedy, it is simply fantastic.
It’s a novelty as it’s built into the side of a hill, so the rooms are underground.
However what truly makes this hotel #1 is the cleanliness and the staff.
As we live in the outback, there is nothing worse than dirty rooms. This hotel was extremely clean, from the car park, to the reception and the rooms.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is very reasonably priced.
To top it off there is a nice lookout on top of the hotel with 360 degree views of Coober Pedy.
Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank nztraveller134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean with an amazing "cave flair" with comfortable temperature and a great view from the top of the hotel. Would definitly stay there again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gati123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews