We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We really enjoyed the underground experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Desert Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed the underground experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We enjoyed the novelty of our underground room. It was not dusty, musty or claustrophobic at all. We slept well on the decent, king-sized bed. All staff were courteous and attentive. This hotel has a restaurant , cafe and shops. The oysters at the restaurant were fresh! (How do they do it?) The cafe served really hot, strong coffee.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escape42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    94
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
38
107
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
232 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed here 7 years ago, and got the same room this time. The hotel is in need of some TLC and maintenence NOW. We noticed a big difference to last time. The pot plants and garden is dying ( and they have had a lot of rain recently !) the rock walls and ceilings need sealing - little bits of rocks would fall down on to the bed. Our room was hot - no need for air-conditioning underground - but we had to have the wall fan on 24/7 just to keep it at about 25 - 26 C - it should not have been this hot here. Staff all asian/indian - no locals like last time. Definitely not value for money here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

This was to be our second visiti to this hotel. We should have stayed elsewhere & kept our memories of this hotel as happy ones.
The staff seem to be over worked & very unhappy in their work place, the swimming pool was green (but only in the deep end, as I was told by staff). The beds are ok, but the bathrooms need work. The carpets need a good clean & we were told on check-in that their is bug spray is in the cupboard, as they have a bug problem!!!! We finished the can on the first night & restocked at the supermarket the next day, we found that if you rolled a towel & placed it in front of the door that it seemed to help!
For the money there are better places to stay in Coober Pedy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coober Pedy hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

Very clean. Staff very friendly. Great information on the area. For what it is and where it is, it is highly overpriced. it's not like it's a 5 star hotel in Sydney or melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Holdenmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Our recent trip to Coober Pedy was fantastic, especially our accommodation at Desert Cave. From the time of making the reservation to the moment we left, the staff got everything right and were courteous, friendly and organised. We loved that.
We also thoroughly enjoyed staying underground and it was a fantastic bonus that we were actually assured of that room when we booked.
We were amazed by the cleanliness when we arrived and throughout our stay and what an effort that must be in the outback.
We feel very confident to recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.0 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.0 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.5 km away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.0 km away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Cave Hotel

Property: Desert Cave Hotel
Address: Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price range (per night): $168 - $275
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Cave Hotel is the world's only underground international hotel. We're located at Coober Pedy, which since 1915 has lured those who seek the elusive opal, found in this vast outback semi-desert area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Cave Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing