We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Bridestowe Lavender Estate

The lavender was out of season, but looking over the grounds was still nice enough. The visitors... read more

Reviewed 27 July 2021
CodyMav
,
Gold Coast, Australia
Highly recommended

Crossing the river at Batman bridge, and driving for miles, past countless road-kill, through back... read more

Reviewed 3 June 2021
normanp311
,
Australia
Read all 564 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tasmania
from US$25.14
More Info
from US$581.50
More Info
from US$30.48
More Info
from US$109.41
More Info
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
164
196
97
42
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
196
97
42
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavender ice cream full bloom rows and rows flowering season gift store beautiful sight scones guided tour free entry hand cream morning tea purple field farm harvesting soaps launceston
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2019 via mobile

If you are a lavender fan this is the place you must definitely visit. During the blooming season you get to see the whole fields of purple lavender and there is also lavender ice cream and lavender related souvenirs to buy home.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank abbyx2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2019

We spent three+ weeks in Australia, including one week in Tasmania.
Our experience was amazing throughout with the exception of the Bridestowe Lavender Estate. A genuine tourist trap. We were charged $10 each just to visit their gift shop.
We told them that we only wanted to visit their gift shop and obtain some of their lavender ice cream. Was told we would see blooming lavender. Not. What was left of the blossoms were colorless and were being cut. The lavender ice cream, while a beautiful color, lacked any flavor.
Lavender fields in Norfolk England are free to visit and their ice cream is superb.
Avoid Bridestowe Lavender Estate in Tasmania.

Date of experience: January 2019
16  Thank DavidandDenise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2019

Part of our experience was the drive through beautiful countryside from the other side of Launceston. The estate is always busy, but we had time for both morning tea (lavender scones) and lunch at the very attractive cafe and there was plenty of room. A short tour of the farm and processing plant is offered.
The gift shop has a great variety of lavender themed items on sale.

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank Ozziegiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2019

Did a tour of Tasmania at the beginning of the year, the guide was very good and informative. The range of products was well laid out and covered from hand cream, bug spray, Icecream, room freshener, perfume , pillows,cushions and a variety of other products. Well worth a visit for the whole family.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank howllew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2019

Travelling in February and not purple blooms in sight however we were taken through to - is it a refinery?- where the lavender stalks were being pressed in large stainless steel vats. Its a laborious task to get such a small amount of 100% lavender oil. The process and the history is quite a story. Up to the shop where we enjoyed the lavender ice-cream and purchased some body lotion (lavender of course). There are quite a lot of products available for purchase including lavender scented cuddly teddies to sleep with. Interesting.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews