We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Good hotel and location but rooms a little small otherwise a great place to stay..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PudgyWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    532
    116
    25
    10
See reviews for
109
514
89
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Nice art, food good, room okay, neighborhood so so

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We usually stay at Henry Jones or at Sullivan's Cove apartments, so were disappointed they were both booked out on our recent visit to Hobart. We were very pleasantly surprised by Hotel Collins - very central and a short walk down to the waterfront and Salamanca Place. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with everything you might want, including a reasonably priced mini-bar. We didn't use the kitchen, but you could easily sort out your own food.
The car parking is extra - around the corner in a multi-storey car park, but there is a corridor that provides a short cut to the Hotel - we didn't find it a problem at all and the maximum charge is $15 a day, less over the weekend - you do have to pay every time you exit the car park. (an hourly rate) This wouldn't put us off staying here again though...
Complimentary internet in the business lounge and free wi-fi in the cafe - you get a voucher for an hours usage from reception. The staff are excellent - friendly, helpful and efficient.
The breakfast was extra, but good value, in our opinion...and decent coffee.
All in all, we'd recommend this hotel and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evansbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We originally were wanting to stay at the Mantra in Sandy Bay, however by the time we were ready to book it was no longer available. We then found the Hotel Collins, to be honest I think this hotel is an absolute credit to Hobart.

We stayed in room 1002 which was a 1 bedroom apartment on the 10th floor. The apartment had a nicely laid out self contained kitchen with everything you'd need. This room has beautiful 180 degree views. from the sitting area we could see the mountains and from our bedroom windows we could see the Derwent River. However being on a lower level you may not have a view at all as there is a building next door. (obviously it's a city, so something I wouldnt complain about).

The Hotel Collins also has complimentary broadband in all rooms.

The room was immaculate. The bathroom was spotless and the overall presentation of the hotel showed exceptional housekeeping standards throughout. The staff were extremely helpful with all our needs throughout our stay.

The one piece of advise i'd leave people with is that the laundry room located on level 1 isn't very well ventilated, you're clothes will barely day so i'd suggest staying there and waiting with the door open so you're clothes will dry. This isn't a complaint, just a piece of helpful advise i'd leave for people.

Thank you Hotel Collins for an exceptional stay in Hobart.

Room Tip: If available, rooms on level 10 would have the best view. Rooms on the lower levels still have plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elantraelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Ideal for a short visit to Hobart. Location is convenient, walking distance to Salamanca and the wharf to Mona and close to many different restaurants and cafes. Short driving distance from Cascade brewery and the airport. No parking at the hotel but they have an arrangement with a parking lot next door to the hotel. Parking not that expensive (at least not on the weekend) – make sure the hotel validates the parking ticket and the parking lot only accept cash. Found the hotel staff very helpful. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bondigirl-sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 km away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): $144 - $354
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing