We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RACV City Club
Nearby Hotels
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$91
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$252
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
172
72
17
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
72
17
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe members dining roombilliard roomrooms are largemelbourne cityhome away from homegreat facilitiesbuffet breakfastcentral locationpillow menubourke streetcar parkingwe've stayedfantastic hoteltram stopcomfortable bedsking bedretreat
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I went here with a fairly large group of friends for a birthday dinner recently as the guest of a member. With the dress code and exclusivity I was expecting great things food wise, and on that basis I ordered a medium rare steak. My steak was I well over cooked and I would normally send it back but as it was good quality it was still edible, the accompanying just was also overdone and non-descript flavour wise. The accompanying veges were very good though. Others ordered burgers and seemed pleased with the size and quality of the meals. The atmosphere also seems very shopping mall and not very exclusive. I wasn’t super impressed so won’t be back as I can get the same meal without all the fuss at many a good pub elsewhere about town.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank carnegiegirlcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at RACV City Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hello carnegiegirlcp and thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to hear the experience in our Bistro did not meet your expectations, but I am pleased the food was enjoyable, and I hope your friend's birthday was great fun.

Our Bistro is intended for casual family dining and perhaps our elegant Member's Dining Room would have better met your expectations of the City Club and we do hope you have the opportunity to return and experience it.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will return to the Club again.

Sincerely
Caroline King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

We have recently joined the RACV Club.
Our first stay was fabulous, Melbourne Cup week and only the King suite left in the whole Club. We were impressed with the suite as it was spacious, bathrooms were lovely and most of all, very comfortable beds.
We have since stayed in the Corner King and the Retreat Premium King room. All very nice rooms, great showers (water pressure), very comfortable beds, air conditioning that worked well on the very hot days. We love the spacious rooms and most of all, thanks to the housekeeping staff, all the rooms we stayed in were clean.
We enjoyed the breakfast at the bistro... a good choice of good quality food.
All the staff were friendly. We will definitely stay at the RACV City Club again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank brettnjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at RACV City Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hello brettnjess and thank you for posting your lovely, and comprehensive, review.

We are delighted to have you as Club Members and we look forward to welcoming you for years to come. As you are discovering, there is much to enjoy at the Club.

Your membership offers a range of privileges, services, offers and benefits, and the chance to become involved in a variety of member interest groups, events and activities. We hope you will regularly check our website and Highlights magazine to make the most of these benefits at both our City and Country Club locations.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Caroline King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

I attended a business dinner at the RACV in Melbourne city. The food was very good, the wait staff were accommodating and friendly. The rooms comfortable, layout for the function worked well and had modern equipment. Good place for a business function.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Woodyinpymble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at RACV City Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Hello Woodyinpymble and thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review about your recent stay at the RACV City Club.

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and were able to experience a number of our facilities during your stay.

Your kind words are appreciated and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely
Caroline King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Beautiful rooms, great environment, comfy beds, friendly staff, great food. It is also right in the heart of Melbourne, with the tram stop outside the door. I am really pleased I stayed here with family.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsOz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at RACV City Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hello TravelsOz82 and thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope there will be many more family trips for you to the City Club.

As you say, with the Bourke St Trams on our doorstep, the Club is a fantastic spot to stay for easy access to shopping and enjoying Melbourne's holiday festivities.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Sincerely
Caroline King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Easy Lunch in the city... head to the Racv Club, so handy to Southern Cross Station. Several Lounge areas, tech areas and then dining choices are on the first floor. We looked at the Dining Room, but, chose the Buffet. Open light, casual, no fuss atmosphere. It’s not an extensive variety, but for the price is excellent. Soup, Cold Cuts, Roasts, Fish, Lasagne, Vegies etc. Desserts and soft serve delicious, and endless coffee, tea. Bar service is available too. . Definitely will be returning... the Buffet is “ Cafe “ style...If you’re after Restaurant, go to the Diningroom. I believe there is a Seafood Buffet on Sunday’s, check their website. Highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank ChezmossAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at RACV City Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear ChezmossAustralia
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind words following your recent visit to the RACV City Club.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the Club Conservatory and agree the buffet is another one of the many benefits of Club Membership. You are right we do have an excellent Seafood Buffet on Sunday's.
Please do come back and visit us soon.
Kind wishes
Caroline King
General Manager - RACV Club


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews