We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Street Backpackers
Ranked #113 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

For what you pay this hostel can't be beat. Staff is awesome and helpful as well as providing breakfast in a city where every meal is going to be expensive. Tuesday's they serve a better breakfast and Wednesday they serve a good pasta for dinner. Right in the middle of the city, great location, coffee and tea included in payment. Wifi is below average and as a personal preference I won't be staying in a 16 bed dorm anymore.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank jordanhazard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

When I lived in Melbourne I stayed here twice, first time when I arrived and second time when I left. Both times I had a good experience, it's a hostel where you can really make friends, the facilities are quite good and the staff is really relaxing, they're always willing to help you

Room Tip: The best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paulo_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

The hostel is near to Southern Cross Station. Once we arrived at the station by Skybus, we only take less than 5 minutes to reach there. We had a very small double room. Breakfast is simple. Tram stations and Coles Supermarket is less than 5 minutes walk from the hostel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TheYogaStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

I found this a very comfortable stay. The breakfast and tea/coffee was a pleasant bonus. I had a very comfortable bed (innerspring mattress and good linen) and my roommates were considerate and quiet (I have previously stayed at backpackers where my roommates suitcases seem to have exploded and I had to go hiking to get to a bed...).

Very convenient location near southern cross station, recommend "Kinfolk" cafe nearby for a good coffee.

Room Tip: If you have a heavy bag, leave it in the luggage storage room and take a backpack with overnight nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cb_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

I'll start with the good points- the free pasta night and pancakes on Sunday are great. There's free cereal and toast every morning. They provide free tea and coffee. The wifi was good most of the time I used it. The location is really good. That's where the good points end- the cleanliness of the hostel was not great, particularly the bathrooms. Under my bed was filthy, probably hasn't been swept/hoovered in months. I was on the top floor in a 6 bed dorm, there was a type of partition wall in the room which completely blocked the sunlight coming in so the room was in constant darkness. There was a constant noise in the room like a fan/ airconditioning even at night. The ceiling in the bathroom looked like it was ready to fall in at any time. There were 2 Asian girls in the room on longterm stay- they always came in late at night and turned on the big bedroom light (by the end I think they did it because they knew it annoyed people in the room). There is no lift and the staff offer no help if you seem to be struggling with bags. On my floor it said there was a lounge/tv room but there was none. The common area is small and fills up quickly in the evening, they staff play loud music constantly which just adds unnecessary noise to the place when it's busy. You can get far better for the same price in the city.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank MissAJ1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#118 of 156 in Melbourne
492 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 156 in Melbourne
425 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#35 of 156 in Melbourne
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 156 in Melbourne
821 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Street Backpackers

Address: 197-199 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $34 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — King Street Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your King Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Street Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing